We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fab Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can only say some people must have the standards of HRH The Queen! This hotel was in the most beautiful location within walking distance of the ski lifts and some lovely eateries. The couple who run it were more than helpful with suggestions of where to visit, eat and things to do. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I didn't make breakfast BUT that was my choice. I would definetly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    47
    17
    26
See reviews for
40
47
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't know where the other reviewers stayed, but it was not this hotel! This place has never been anything but clean in all my visits over the years. Rooms are good sized, lots with beautiful wood beamed ceilings, huge closets and clean bathrooms. This will always be my choice of place to stay when at the Lake! It is within walking distance of the strip. It was quiet at night and peaceful. I always ask for room 104! Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

booked this motel with my family on a last min thing we arrived for newyears eve but was shocked
when we got there as we were expecting something a little better we walked in to the room and it smelt of dampness and looked uncomftable so we all checked straight back out but still had to pay the ful cost for 5 mins stay we headed back to the pepermill in reno to see the newyear in which was were we were staing any way but thought it would be nice to stay in heavenly the blue jay was the only place that had availabilty now i know why dont stay there is you like your comfort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got an excellent rate for this hotel.
1. The rooms are small, but you're only in the room to sleep, so we didn't really care. Breakfast is minimal but also didn't care as we aren't much breakfast people. Internet was spotty, had to use it right by the window.
2. Lots of parking and free!
3. Location a BLOCK away from Heavenly, so we just walked to ski lift every morning. And a block away from the casinos/stateline, so no problem going out to party!
4. Always clean and service was good.

We plan on someday moving to Tahoe, we will use this hotel as a base until we find an apartment. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Been here for little less than 3 weeks.I have been very happy with my room and service.For the price the hotel is excellent value.The room is very clean and kept clean throughout my stay.Bed is super comfy and pillows great.wifi works most of the time. you can park out the front of your room,great because dont have to carry boards etc too far. Never heard any noise even on the weekends. great stay thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zicatela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went there we reserved a room the same day morning we got to the hotel and it looks under construction and also we didn't got a confirmation number so we cancel it, right the next day they charge us. We been calling them since then and no anwers also via email and they have not call us back.. They are good to take money but no good to call back or respond to our emails.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Pros: 1. Location- as others have mentioned, this property is very close walking distance to the casinos, the gondola, and the lake. 2. Separate fridge/ freezer- dorm sized fridge, but w/ a separate door for the freezer, so your items will stay frozen. Microwave is attached to the unit. 3. Real art- not a big selling point for everyone, but my room had a limited edition (numbered) print, which shows attention to detail.

Cons: 1. (At least my room) really needed an overhead light operated from a switch. My room was dark when first returning in the evening, and the closest lamp was not on the switch, meaning walking across a dark room. Maybe this is not an issue in all rooms though. 2. Office isn't always unlocked (but they can be reached via doorbell or phone).

Bottom line: There are about 30 hotels w/in 3 blocks. If this property is lower priced than others on one of the hotel aggregation sites, book it. Housekeeping was good, parking not a problem, and you might be able to get a good late check-out if no one is in your room the next night. Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#57 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#39 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#29 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#51 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing