We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got an excellent rate for this hotel.
1. The rooms are small, but you're only in the room to sleep, so we didn't really care. Breakfast is minimal but also didn't care as we aren't much breakfast people. Internet was spotty, had to use it right by the window.
2. Lots of parking and free!
3. Location a BLOCK away from Heavenly, so we just walked to ski lift every morning. And a block away from the casinos/stateline, so no problem going out to party!
4. Always clean and service was good.

We plan on someday moving to Tahoe, we will use this hotel as a base until we find an apartment. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CaptKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Blue Jay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went there we reserved a room the same day morning we got to the hotel and it looks under construction and also we didn't got a confirmation number so we cancel it, right the next day they charge us. We been calling them since then and no anwers also via email and they have not call us back.. They are good to take money but no good to call back or respond to our emails.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Pros: 1. Location- as others have mentioned, this property is very close walking distance to the casinos, the gondola, and the lake. 2. Separate fridge/ freezer- dorm sized fridge, but w/ a separate door for the freezer, so your items will stay frozen. Microwave is attached to the unit. 3. Real art- not a big selling point for everyone, but my room had a limited edition (numbered) print, which shows attention to detail.

Cons: 1. (At least my room) really needed an overhead light operated from a switch. My room was dark when first returning in the evening, and the closest lamp was not on the switch, meaning walking across a dark room. Maybe this is not an issue in all rooms though. 2. Office isn't always unlocked (but they can be reached via doorbell or phone).

Bottom line: There are about 30 hotels w/in 3 blocks. If this property is lower priced than others on one of the hotel aggregation sites, book it. Housekeeping was good, parking not a problem, and you might be able to get a good late check-out if no one is in your room the next night. Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This lodge came up on my phone at a very reasonable rate for 1 night. The front desk staff was quick with check in and very friendly. He suggested some great local activities as this was my first trip to Tahoe. My room was great when I walked in. New carpet, new bedspread, clean bathroom. I liked it so much I actually stayed a second night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank local41155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's a typical motel except that the service is pathetic, the wifi does not work and the staff is hardly pleasant. The rooms were functional and strictly okay. When we asked for the Wifi to be fixed we were told that there was a problem and a technician had been called who was working on it. Except the same excuse was dished out for 2 days. Must've been a pretty slow technician or they just generally dont have wifi service in the rooms. STAY AWAY

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank rajat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ande9418, Manager at Blue Jay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Its So Not True we have had many Guest Staying with us only you seems to have problem....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well , This was a quick trip to South Lake Tahoe , so much to see so i didnt have much time in the room , however the room was soo basic and old , they have a free parking lot and the room was oldy and needs renovation . i would recommend it for those who wanna spend only 1 night with a few hours in room , the price vs value was not really good, paid like 180 usd .
The place is close to the gambling and Gondola if that is your destination . ( 10 mins walk )
The Breakfast was soooooo simple , some milk , tea and basic bakery ( 1 piece ) :)

But again u r not here for luxury , its just meeting requirements and needs of the place .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0OkieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels and motels in South Lake Tahoe, so I have something to compare this motel with.
What's good about this one: outstanding location:1min from Harvey's casino,5 min from Heavenly Village,5 min from the lake. (Walking !). It's clean and very well organized:you'll have a refrigerator, coffeemaker and a toaster oven. It's very good to have all these, providing that within 7min of walking distance you'll find a good supermarket Raley's. Also they serve good breakfast: cereal,oatmeal,pastry,fruit,juice,coffee. The rooms are small,but being at Tahoe you don't spend much time in the room.
Finally, the price is great. We were staying for $60 total on Friday, high season.
Strongly recommend for all ages , to those who love fun and love south Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelerscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#54 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#22 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 4133 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $47 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing