We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Pros: 1. Location- as others have mentioned, this property is very close walking distance to the casinos, the gondola, and the lake. 2. Separate fridge/ freezer- dorm sized fridge, but w/ a separate door for the freezer, so your items will stay frozen. Microwave is attached to the unit. 3. Real art- not a big selling point for everyone, but my room had a limited edition (numbered) print, which shows attention to detail.

Cons: 1. (At least my room) really needed an overhead light operated from a switch. My room was dark when first returning in the evening, and the closest lamp was not on the switch, meaning walking across a dark room. Maybe this is not an issue in all rooms though. 2. Office isn't always unlocked (but they can be reached via doorbell or phone).

Bottom line: There are about 30 hotels w/in 3 blocks. If this property is lower priced than others on one of the hotel aggregation sites, book it. Housekeeping was good, parking not a problem, and you might be able to get a good late check-out if no one is in your room the next night. Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    56
    25
    30
See reviews for
47
63
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Harmony, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This lodge came up on my phone at a very reasonable rate for 1 night. The front desk staff was quick with check in and very friendly. He suggested some great local activities as this was my first trip to Tahoe. My room was great when I walked in. New carpet, new bedspread, clean bathroom. I liked it so much I actually stayed a second night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank local41155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's a typical motel except that the service is pathetic, the wifi does not work and the staff is hardly pleasant. The rooms were functional and strictly okay. When we asked for the Wifi to be fixed we were told that there was a problem and a technician had been called who was working on it. Except the same excuse was dished out for 2 days. Must've been a pretty slow technician or they just generally dont have wifi service in the rooms. STAY AWAY

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rajat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ande9418, Manager at Blue Jay Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Its So Not True we have had many Guest Staying with us only you seems to have problem....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Cairo
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well , This was a quick trip to South Lake Tahoe , so much to see so i didnt have much time in the room , however the room was soo basic and old , they have a free parking lot and the room was oldy and needs renovation . i would recommend it for those who wanna spend only 1 night with a few hours in room , the price vs value was not really good, paid like 180 usd .
The place is close to the gambling and Gondola if that is your destination . ( 10 mins walk )
The Breakfast was soooooo simple , some milk , tea and basic bakery ( 1 piece ) :)

But again u r not here for luxury , its just meeting requirements and needs of the place .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0OkieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels and motels in South Lake Tahoe, so I have something to compare this motel with.
What's good about this one: outstanding location:1min from Harvey's casino,5 min from Heavenly Village,5 min from the lake. (Walking !). It's clean and very well organized:you'll have a refrigerator, coffeemaker and a toaster oven. It's very good to have all these, providing that within 7min of walking distance you'll find a good supermarket Raley's. Also they serve good breakfast: cereal,oatmeal,pastry,fruit,juice,coffee. The rooms are small,but being at Tahoe you don't spend much time in the room.
Finally, the price is great. We were staying for $60 total on Friday, high season.
Strongly recommend for all ages , to those who love fun and love south Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County Ca
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Perhaps the best budget buy in town. Printed a discount coupon online for $25 and upon check in on Tuesday 10-30-12 the very friendly lady even took another dollar a night off, $72 for three nights. After adding the outrageous local taxes, which the local inn keepers have no control over, the total was $88 and change. When a desk lamp in my room did not work the gentleman in the office came at once and quickly fixed it.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the heater worked just fine, plenty of hot water in the shower, and housekeeping each day left the room spotless. In addition, there is a coffee maker, a fridge, and a microwave. The TV was never turned on, so have no opinion about that, besides, who comes to Lake Tahoe to watch TV? Each morning there is coffee, juice, fruit, and rolls in the office. For those that enjoy a short walk, you are only a couple of hundred yards from the back entrance of Harveys, can leave the car at the motel if you wish.

This is not really the place for a romantic getaway, but for solo travelers, seniors, and couples on a budget, for thrifty visitors that do not require plush amenities and are comfortable staying in a budget level room, the BJL is hard to beat, and will be back my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToteBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night before we could check into our time share. It's not the newest, nicest or most extravagant place but it's OK. Rooms are small, although I believe they have different sizes. Pool is small but perfect if you have kids and don't want to get a chill in the lake waters. Price was decent although it was jacked up due to the big celebrity golf tournament going on. It's walking distance to the casinos which is a plus. However, on the down side.....we came in from the casinos at about 11:30 at night. Tried to turn on the TV....didn't come on. Went to microwave some popcorn.....didn't come on. Tried to call the office......phone didn't work. Come to find out, after some searching we found nothing was plugged in. After plugging in, everything worked except the phone. Then at around 2 am, the young men in the room next door came in and made enough noise to wake the dead. They kept locking themselves out and pounding and yelling to those inside to open up. Finally settled down until around 3:30 am when the last bunch came in and did the same thing. While I realize that this is not the fault of the motel management, I had to mention it.
Furnishings were out of date and worn but clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2bethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#32 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#22 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#60 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 4133 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing