We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Basic Transportation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Orange County Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine Basic Transportation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Perhaps the best budget buy in town. Printed a discount coupon online for $25 and upon check in on Tuesday 10-30-12 the very friendly lady even took another dollar a night off, $72 for three nights. After adding the outrageous local taxes, which the local inn keepers have no control over, the total was $88 and change. When a desk lamp in my room did not work the gentleman in the office came at once and quickly fixed it.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the heater worked just fine, plenty of hot water in the shower, and housekeeping each day left the room spotless. In addition, there is a coffee maker, a fridge, and a microwave. The TV was never turned on, so have no opinion about that, besides, who comes to Lake Tahoe to watch TV? Each morning there is coffee, juice, fruit, and rolls in the office. For those that enjoy a short walk, you are only a couple of hundred yards from the back entrance of Harveys, can leave the car at the motel if you wish.

This is not really the place for a romantic getaway, but for solo travelers, seniors, and couples on a budget, for thrifty visitors that do not require plush amenities and are comfortable staying in a budget level room, the BJL is hard to beat, and will be back my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToteBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    53
    21
    26
See reviews for
43
56
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night before we could check into our time share. It's not the newest, nicest or most extravagant place but it's OK. Rooms are small, although I believe they have different sizes. Pool is small but perfect if you have kids and don't want to get a chill in the lake waters. Price was decent although it was jacked up due to the big celebrity golf tournament going on. It's walking distance to the casinos which is a plus. However, on the down side.....we came in from the casinos at about 11:30 at night. Tried to turn on the TV....didn't come on. Went to microwave some popcorn.....didn't come on. Tried to call the office......phone didn't work. Come to find out, after some searching we found nothing was plugged in. After plugging in, everything worked except the phone. Then at around 2 am, the young men in the room next door came in and made enough noise to wake the dead. They kept locking themselves out and pounding and yelling to those inside to open up. Finally settled down until around 3:30 am when the last bunch came in and did the same thing. While I realize that this is not the fault of the motel management, I had to mention it.
Furnishings were out of date and worn but clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2bethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean room, plenty of towels and hot water. As healthy eaters we boycotted the sugar based breakfast that Americans consider normal. Great location, easy parking, private beach close by. Small dipping (rather than) swimming pool in the shade of a few trees, swept clean of leaves every morning. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Close to beaches. Nice staff. Free beach passes,WiFi & simple breakfast. Rooms good, liked that they had tubs, clean. Bad: Old toilet tearing seat (rest of bathroom nice) No air conditioning w/ only a filthy stationary floor fan. Windows had no screens & are at ground level- unsafe for our 3 yr old who could walk out of one. Would have stayed more nights had it not been for those things. Overall a good deal for a decent room if the weather is not too warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandFAra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I needed a place on sunday the 12th we stoped in at this place to see what the rate was, it was only $42 and the manger aloud us to park our boat and truck in front of the office where we could keep an eye on it through out the night. The room was small but clean with nice new windows and heating and air unit. I could tell that the owner is putting some money into the place and it was paying off because my boyfriend and I will be returning to this inn because of the service and clean rooms and not to mention the $. It is also centrally located so easy walking to downtown. Thanks for the enjoyable experience can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sac98622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Where do I start! Upon arrival, when first opening the door to our room, we were inundated with an old musky smell, sticky dirty old carpet, an old wall heater that sparked when it was plugged in (thought the other unit was only A/C, didn't find out till later that it was both heat and A/C), one old small wooden table with one chair cramped into the corner next to an oversized TV amour, bed lamps that only one worked,hard pillows, old comforter (looked like it was at least 30 years old), scalding hot water in the shower with a trickle of cold, no ventilation at all in the bathroom, a small coffee pot on top of the bathroom sink (ew!), very poor lighting, tile off of bathroom floor, wood pieces missing in vanity area on wall, toilet tissue balls on ceiling, broken bed (nearly 4" lower at the head),sheets that did not fit the bed at all. Walls as thin as paper (could hear every sound), lousy parking, no wi-fi, no frig, no microwave either. The comp breakfast was a joke. Store bought doughnuts, cereal in tupperware containers, water downed orange juice, and lousy choices. Everyone had to eat it in the main check in room. Tacky! This place was a complete nightmare. And here's the kicker...RODENTS! Yes, you read that right! There were RODENTS eating and scratching at the walls behind the TV and behind my head board. Every night around 2 or 3 a.m. THIS PLACE WAS A COMPLETE NIGHTMARE.

Room Tip: Don't book a room at Blue Jay Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHS2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed in the guest services. Had stayed at this motel for the last 10 years but never again. Was told if we didn't like it to leave at 11:30 pm because they could not control the party that was going on next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 917pyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#41 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#36 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#60 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 4133 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing