We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but worth it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap but worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Found a great deal for this hotel online. Was within walking distance of Harvey's. Room was great for two people. The room was average but had a blow dryer, shower, clean towels, room was clean, small frig and tv too. I visited during the winter so pool was closed but looked large enough to accommodate a full vacancy. Was worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    28
    8
    15
See reviews for
19
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Alpine Inn a couple of times this winter and will be returning again. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The bathrooms are also very clean with adequate towels & washcloths. Small packets/containers of soap, shampoo/conditioner & deodorants are provided. Some rooms have a combo jacuzzi/shower, & while quite nice after a long day on the slopes, do take up a good bit of the room. There is also an outside hot tub and a pool. The pool is available in the summer. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker & hairdryer. A large, older style, tv is in each room. The beds are very comfortable with large pillows. The Alpine Inn is 1 block from the big casinos and a short walk to the Heavenly gondola. Winter midweek rates are around $32 with the weekends about double that. The family that runs the motel is friendly and most attentive to the property. Can't beat the price, particularly with the location and the care that is taken with the property. Also, rather than book on-line, just give the owners a call and you will get the same rates without a good percentage of the money going to the on-line booking agencies. .

Room Tip: Rooms with combo shower/jacuzzis are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTB-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here with a couple of friends for New Years. The location of the hotel was great, walking distance to the big casinos, shopping and food. The rooms were pretty small but were clean and had updated bathrooms. It was a little noisy during the night but nothing unbearable. The hotel is surrounded with pine trees and is really cozy, I would definintely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decent value for a 1 night stay for 3 people during a weekend of skiing.
Great location: 5-10 minutes walk from the Heavenly gondola station and just 1-2 minutes walk from the casinos. Plenty of parking on site - friendly staff allowed us to park there while we skied before checking and after checking out the next day.
The bedroom and shower were clean, warm and had everything we could ever need: comfortable beds, wi-fi, tv, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, microwave, fridge, hair drier, heated floors, wall-mounted heaters etc.
Would certainly go back for a short stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday in October and the motels were virtually empty. We found a coupon online for $35 for two in a king size bed. They accommodated us for this price plus tax for $41 for two nights and cut a deal for $50 (tax incl) on Friday night. The grounds were clean with an aroma of sweet allysum mixed in with curry as the stairs to our room were just above the house kitchen.

For that price it was a great deal! Internet, tv with HBO, fridge and microwave.

By the way we ate inexpensively and well at Sprouts Natural Foods restaurant on Harrison (US 50) about 3 miles away. Check out the reviews.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of this place is great its around 1 minute walk to the Casino's if that is your thing or 5 minutes walk to the Gondola. 20 minutes walk down to the marina.

The rooms are fine, not big but adequate for what we needed which was just a place to sleep as we were out all the time. Bathrooms are small with a shower but again that was fine. The place is clean. The Spa was warm but not very deep which is a shame. Some people complained in the reviews about noise from next door, we didnt have any issues with this although if you do have noisy neighbours I could see that sound would travel.

The room did have air conditioning but I had no need to use it.

for under $80 night then I would stay here again if I was in Tahoe for a short time.

Room Tip: We asked for 2nd floor room to elivate any noise from footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swilt170571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling in the States for a month and stayed at a variety of places of all different costs and standards, and this place was really a good base for travelling round Lake Tahoe. We were staying 2 nights as we needed to set off at 4am on the 2nd day so didnt want to spend much on a room that we would be leaving so early. It was excellent value. It was clean and comfy and for the price we paid £49 for the 2 nights it couldnt be faulted. It is in a great location within walking distance to the Lake with free access to the beach. Right on the state line so on the other side of the road you are in Nevada. If you want a place on a budget this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#47 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#29 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#45 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Property: Alpine Inn & Spa
Address: 920 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6913
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing