We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No Complaints for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Complaints for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday in October and the motels were virtually empty. We found a coupon online for $35 for two in a king size bed. They accommodated us for this price plus tax for $41 for two nights and cut a deal for $50 (tax incl) on Friday night. The grounds were clean with an aroma of sweet allysum mixed in with curry as the stairs to our room were just above the house kitchen.

For that price it was a great deal! Internet, tv with HBO, fridge and microwave.

By the way we ate inexpensively and well at Sprouts Natural Foods restaurant on Harrison (US 50) about 3 miles away. Check out the reviews.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    31
    8
    16
See reviews for
20
49
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of this place is great its around 1 minute walk to the Casino's if that is your thing or 5 minutes walk to the Gondola. 20 minutes walk down to the marina.

The rooms are fine, not big but adequate for what we needed which was just a place to sleep as we were out all the time. Bathrooms are small with a shower but again that was fine. The place is clean. The Spa was warm but not very deep which is a shame. Some people complained in the reviews about noise from next door, we didnt have any issues with this although if you do have noisy neighbours I could see that sound would travel.

The room did have air conditioning but I had no need to use it.

for under $80 night then I would stay here again if I was in Tahoe for a short time.

Room Tip: We asked for 2nd floor room to elivate any noise from footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swilt170571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling in the States for a month and stayed at a variety of places of all different costs and standards, and this place was really a good base for travelling round Lake Tahoe. We were staying 2 nights as we needed to set off at 4am on the 2nd day so didnt want to spend much on a room that we would be leaving so early. It was excellent value. It was clean and comfy and for the price we paid £49 for the 2 nights it couldnt be faulted. It is in a great location within walking distance to the Lake with free access to the beach. Right on the state line so on the other side of the road you are in Nevada. If you want a place on a budget this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

For just below US$80 for 3 persons in a reasonable double queen room. Location is good,walking distance or less than 2 mins drive to beach. Staff at counter is ok, she gets her job done at least. One cannot expect too much from the price one pays for..One more thing, walls between the rooms are thin so don't talk too loudly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryltay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I chose this motel because it was much more affordable than the casinos in the area. The motel is similar to the other non-casino motels in the area, a little older and lacking the bells and whistles of the casino hotels. However, I would highly recommend Alpine Inn & Spa because of its convenient location (within walking distance of everything), comfortable beds and free amenities (pool, hot tub, fridge & microwave & free WIFI). Great value for the money!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for a spa room, includes a large jacuzzi tub. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed on this hotel to catch last minute Spring snow on Heavenly from 3/31/12 - 4/2/12. Although tucked a few hundred feet away from South Lake Tahoe Blvd, it is a walking distance to everything: Heavenly Ski Resort Gondola base, Heavenly Village shopping complex, Harrah's Resort, Ski equipment rental shop, hotels, and access to Lake Tahoe. I wouldn't recommend wearing your ski boots to walk up to the Gondola base because although it's a short walk, it can be daunting (you can rent lockers at the base).

After skiing, we would just walk our way around from this hotel, such as the Buffett on Harrah's Resort & Casino or just look around for some cool gears from The Northface, Patagonia, and Salomon.

The hotel staff are friendly. I dropped my car keys on the snow and realized it's lost only after 18 inches of snow had already fallen. The next day, the reception called me while at the slopes to tell me they had found my car keys.

The rooms are far better than any Roadway Inn, Motel 6, or Howard Johnson that I have stayed in. The linens feel fresh and clean as is the pillows--there are four and generously sized just like what I have home, enough for those heavy heads. The rooms are clean. Don't expect a Hampton or Fairfield quality rooms for this price but it is certainly better than typical transient roadside hotels.

It can get noisy when nocturnal people go home at 2 am from partying so I'd recommend a second floor.

Hotel staff clean your room and replenish supplies including towels and linens everyday. Thank goodness, I didn't have to lay linens on my pillows like I used to at other hotels.

I'd stay here again on our next Tahoe ski trip.

Room Tip: You can't beat this inn's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've stayed here at least 4 times over the last two ski seasons and it's a clean inexpensive place to stay. They have an upgraded room with a jacuzzi style bath that I like to request when available, which is sure nice after a day on the mountain. They have cable tv and tube televisions. For the price, and location, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVallest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#32 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#27 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#48 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Property: Alpine Inn & Spa
Address: 920 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6913
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing