We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleckkk, awful hotel.”
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Well, if you look at the pictures for this hotel, it sure seems accommodative.....Well don't stay here. It took about 10 minutes for the man at the counter to help us :[ We arrived in our room, and it was nothing short of awful. It's a very small room with hardly any walking space. The bathtub is right there in the bedroom, and there's no closet space! We go to use the tub for a nice romantic bath, and there's no drain in the tub. Then they tell us the pump is busted, and the shower doesn't even work. The walls were very thin, the guests here are loud and obnoxious, and it smells horrid. The hot tub is "broken" and the pool isnt even filled. Overall I'd say this is one of the worst stays I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholasa-Alezander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

So my friend set this up for his wedding and was given a special rate. Well that was crap because when we got there the other room I resereved for my friends for this wedding the owners charged us more. Second they showed my friend some room and was told that they all had been remodled and looked like the one he showed him. That was also crap. The closet is a joke, the carpets are dirty,, the beds seem like the original beds from when the hotel was constructed. The bathroom is the worst. The hot water is non existant in the sink, the shower barely flowed. Then to top it all off there were people parting all night long and the owner did nothing. It got worse when an argument broke out with a guy and his girlfriend and again the owner did nothing. Then the fight that broke out between 2 guys and the owner was no where to be seen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was the worst hotel stay I've ever had. The hotel management was rude and refused to give us the quoted price over the phone. Get things in writing!! Our room was on the 2nd floor and whenever another tenant turned on their shower, ours dripped louder and faster. We had 2 light bulbs out. The dresser drawers had no handles so they were pointless. The TV had cracks. Regardless of price, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

-Location is pretty close to the lake and casinos.
-Walking distance to the lake and casinos.
-Go to the lake for FREE, the motel provides the passes.
-AFFORDABLE.
-Offers great deals :D

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxjovixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We booked the Alpine Inn with the old owners for a large wedding in August. About a week before the wedding I get a call from Ace the new owner confirming our stay. We got there only one week after they took over and major changes were already under way. All the rooms are being refurbished. And the family that now owns the Inn are helpful, friendly, accomodating and professional. It was a great stay, (we booked half the hotel rooms). They have big plans for their establishment and the attitude to be successful. If you have stayed there before and were not satisfied give them another try. The prices are still a great value and you get the service you deserve.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PnD5893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I don't know why anyone would say this hotel is 'good value for money'. You really do get what you pay for. We paid $32 to stay here one night- and thats the only positive thing I can say. The TV probably wasn't even worth $32! The room shook when people walked past, everything in the room was broken, the room was extremely dirty, the "pool" was green, and the wardrobe door in our room looked like an axe had been shoved into it. We travelled round the USA for 3 months, on a very tight budget, and stayed in about 100 motels during that time, and I can honestly say this is the worst we stayed in. The youth hostels we stayed in were cleaner than this. The location is completely irrelevant, as this is one option of many all around the same area. I would always advise someone to stay in the chain motels over this one- at least you know roughly what kind of standard it will be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovethesunshine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Rolled into Sth Lake Tahoe Fri night for some boarding with a couple friends.

We always drive down the main drag to the Casinos, then head a block off the main road to all the bargain hotels.

We found this one, and I was amazed when I was told the nightly rate was $40!! We just needed a place to sleep the night so what a bargain! The girl at the front desk even cranked up the hot tub for us (it takes 30 mins to get warm). Room wasn't the Ritz, but as a place to lay ur head for the night, and walking distance from the casinos for that price - can't beat it.

Will definitely stay there again.

Not a place to bring ur gf, but for the guys, perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NABSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#49 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#45 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Address: 920 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6913
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $52 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing