We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality, even for Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed October 10, 2010

During my earlier travels to the USA about 10 years ago I stayed often at Motel 6s and was convinced about their price performance ratio. Now either the standard is lowered or this particular one was a bad example. The bed sheets were not clean and the whole impression was that this motel needs refurbishing. Also there was noise all the night due to the nearby US-50. This may be true for all motels along this road, but maybe others do more for insulation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RZorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

Our room was very clean (which I am a stickler for) - including relatively new carpeting. The maid service here is to be highly commended (I haven't seen "hospital corners" in a long time!). I appreciated the large bathtub - good for a soak. Although the room itself was small, we weren't in Tahoe to spend alot of time in the room. The price was awesome - and I have stayed in far more expensive rooms in higher-end hotels that weren't as quiet & clean as this place was. We also appreciated the biking/walking path located right behind the hotel. The staff we encountered were all very friendly to both us and our dog - and were helpful in directing us to local attractions.

On the down side - the blanket, bedspread and pillows were all pretty thin - as were the towels. The bed itself was ok - but not all that comfortable. The linens/bedding were spotlessly clean - and in the grand scheme of things, the "thin" linens were not a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnappyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is one of the better Motel 6 properties I've stayed at. The motel was better maintained than most of the other Motel 6's. If all Motel 6's were as nice as this one I'd stay at them more often. The room was quiet, clean, comfortable, and had newer carpet, the location was great. The rooms were small, but I didn't mind. Everything was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soutwesttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I've stayed in a lot of hotels. This one seemed looked like an inexpensive but otherwise good choice. Once we checked in, we knew this wasn't the good value that it seems. Rooms are beyond small - two double beds are crammed in with almost no room to walk in. AC is noisy and only marginally effective. No breakfast. WiFi available only with an extra fee. Extremely noisy fan in the bathroom (so bad you'd rather do your business in the dark!). Located on a very busy street that's hard to cross on foot. The few restaurants in the area are not good. All in all, the worst hotel I've been in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Room was small, the TV shut off every 60 minutes (I'm assuming on a timer) and the AC didn't get the room very cold...(It was set on a temp control)....not very comfortable on the second floor in the middle of july.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwilkie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

While at this motel the power went off for several hours. During this time my wife and I were prevented from having any use of the room. When I went to the office to seek information the manager said that corporate office had approved full refunds upon check out. Upon checking out the manager was no where around aand there was just one employee issuing refunds. She said the manager told her to just give a $20.00 discount. So while I paid $82.19 for the room on a Sat night, and was unable to use the room for several hours until the power returned, all they issued was a $20.00 refund even though the manager said that corporate office had approved full refunds. I WILL NEVER GO TO THIS MOTEL AGAIN. This is wrong! I filed a complaint for a full refund as I was promised.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayarearepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Came up to Tahoe for a soccer tournament with our 2 young children. This was a great value, 60$ plus tax. The room was small but clean.Check in and check out was very easy and the staff was friendly. Noise level was fine, we had a room towards the back on the second floor. There is a bike path behind the motel. Also it is a pet friendly hotel.
Good choice for those on a tight budget. The pool also looked fun.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybean333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.1 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
274 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,159 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
48 reviews
3.2 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Address: 2375 Lake Tahoe Blvd, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7101
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 Lake Tahoe
Motel Six Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Motel 6
Lake Tahoe Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing