We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

2pm to check in. Had reservation and paid for room online.
Gave us room keys that didn't work, ended up putting us in another room. Liked was the bed was comfortable. Didn't like the bathroom very small ,the AC unit went out on us. Not in room much.

Room Tip: most 2nd story rooms had balconies that looked toward the lake but you could not see it. Toilets are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    73
    74
    81
See reviews for
96
79
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Okay, I know it's a "budget" motel. Still...

The carpet was nasty. The walls were dirty. The rubber curtain for the shower (stall only) didn't cover the entrance. The toilet rocked. Bed was poor quality. Towels were mismatched and had holes.

It WAS cheap, so if that's all you care about, go for it.

Management needs to either CLEAN the room, or paint the walls and get the carpet cleaned or replaced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiepat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Let me start by saying that this review does not reflect the way all Super 8 facilities are. I have often stayed at them and been quite happy. However having said that, South Lake Tahoe location is pathetic. The ONLY good thing is the staff at the front desk, Maria. She was awesome! She tried to make things work but one person can only do so much. Rooms are filthy, I stayed 4 nights and housekeeping didn't clean any days I was there. I had to get clean towels and linens myself. I even had to vacuum myself. NOTE- they need new vacuums. Bed was old and bumpy, floors are gross and covered with hair, bathroom is in need of bleach bath. If you don't care about germs and fungus this is a good location. If you want to avoid taking microbs home, drive 2 blocks to another hotel there is plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizmyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This place should be dozed and rebuilt. It was cheap which is what we were looking for but I didn't know that it would be that bad. Here's a direct quote from my daughter, age 8, "Why do they call it Super 8? There's nothing super about it."

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This place sucks. Beyond gross. You can't even use the shower/bath at night unless you feel like bathing with a bunch of roaches and assorted bugs. Dirty floors, moldy bathroom which was falling apart at the seams, sinks/bathtub were clogged, heater was broken!.. you can't even use the damn electrical sockets because whatever you plug in falls right out! Not to mention articles of clothing were taken from the room! How messed up is that? Definitely would have stayed somewhere else. What a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zmama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Traveling with our dogs we have limited options already, but I wouldn't even ask my dogs to stay here again. The place is seedy at best. Cigarette burns on each piece of furniture. My dog sniffed every square inch of the carpet and wouldn't even take his biscuit off of the floor. I don't even want to know what was on that carpet.

The place we normally stay FOR THE SAME PRICE is clean, renovated, and has so much more to offer. There are other affordable places in this town that accept pets that aren't disgusting dens like this place.

DON'T DO IT.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavinia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The room was adequate for a one night stay. Close enough to the beach, casinos & restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank irene_from_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3600 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8942 (Formerly Super 8 Lake Tahoe / South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lake Tahoe / South Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Super Eight Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Super 8
Lake Tahoe Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing