We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Getaway Cafe

Getaway Cafe
3140 HIghway 50, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96155
+1 530-577-5132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Getaway Cafe serves alpine comfort cuisine just a short distance from your favorite outdoor activities in South Lake Tahoe.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at Harvey's and kayaking early morning from Baldwin Beach. We're always looking for small, neighborhood places to eat in Tahoe and found this great place for an early breakfast.

Service was great and we even ordered sandwiches to go for our kayak trip. They were extremely accommodating and all of the food was good. It's just a short ride from the casinos and a great find. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for making a point to discover local restaurants in Tahoe, Lenora. I'm glad that your early breakfast was tasty, and I hope that your sandwiches traveled well for your kayak trip! Can't wait to welcome you back next time you're visiting!

Best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dined outdoors at this spot along Highway 50 in South Lake Tahoe. My husband and I split the half pound black and bleu burger...quite ample for us. The burger was juicy, spices just right, cooked to perfection. Fries were well above average. I enjoyed the baked bean soup, made on site. Delicious, full of large chunks of ham and potatoes, as well as beans. Could have made a meal of the soup. Dessert sounded tempting so we split a piece of marionberry pie ala mode. Warm and delicious with a flaky crust and well sweetened berries. Overall, a dining experience that met our needs perfectly, with a reasonable price tag. Service was prompt and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KayentaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
KayentaGail, I'm glad you and your husband were able to join us for a meal and save room for dessert, too! We're proud to offer fresh, homemade dishes at a great price, and it sounds like you made some great menu choices. The Black and Bleu Burger is one of my personal favorites. I hope that you two will keep us in mind next time you're in our neck of the woods. We'd love to serve you up another slice of pie!

Best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great restaurant in a location you would not expect a great restaurant. The place is located on Highway 50 on the right just after (if you are leaving Tahoe) the state inspection station. The restaurant is in what clearly was, at one time, a residence that has been skillfully remodeled into a working restaurant.

So what makes it great--worth 5 rating points? Two things critical to the success of any restaurant and a bunch of small things.

FOOD: We eat breakfast here every time we are in Tahoe. The omelettes are superb; the home fried potatoes are even better; and the other breakfast items are excellent and offer a huge amount of food at a bargain price. At lunch, they make specials that seem to vary daily; hamburgers are very good; and they have a good French dip sandwich. We have not had dinner here, although it is offered and looks very good.

SERVICE: Fast and friendly and flawless. Those are the big "3F's" in service, it seems to me. You never feel rushed, always feel pampered, and your wishes are anticipated. What else could you ask for?

DECOR: In an earlier review, I suggested that this restaurant was mid-50's diner. Yes, Diana, you have done a lovely job in remodelling--there is a real ambiance about the place now. Nice art on the walls; comfortable seats; and lots of attention paid to detail. [Diana responded to my earlier comment about mid-50's diner asking if I had been in to see their remodel. They were in the middle of it when I was in. The results are nice.]

OUTDOOR SEATING: Although we have not used it, there are a lot of outdoor tables that would be perfect on a warm summer day.

PARKING: Is adequate, though a bit free form. Watch out for the sign in the middle of the parking lot--I cannot imagine that someone has not backed into it in the last few days, whenever you read this review. It would be a lot better in almost any other location in the parking lot.

This really is one of the best restaurants in Lake Tahoe, and is a place that locals know about and non-locals stumble in to and wonder why they didn't find it sooner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LagunaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good to hear from you again! I'm glad that you could check out our remodel. We are really loving the new look of the place! I appreciate you stopping in for breakfast whenever you're in Tahoe, and I can't wait to see you again soon.

Best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“Best Service on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food was awesome and service was amazing. We actually went for lunch on Saturday, then breakfast on Sunday!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onerockr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Wow! "Best service on the planet" is such a huge compliment — thank you! I'm thrilled that we made such a big impression that you stopped in for a second visit. Keep us in mind next time you're in Tahoe!

All my best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OMG. Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on our way out for a hike and boy did it give us plenty of fuel for our day! Great coffee, amazing breakfast choices with reasonable prices. I had huevos rancheros which were to die for and my husband had a really great, fresh omelette. Good home fries. Very generous portions. Cute, homey, comfortable vibe and nice waitresses. Hope to come back someday!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for stopping in for a pre-hike breakfast. I'm glad that the huevos rancheros and home fries fueled you right up. I hope that you and your husband will have the chance to visit us again in the future!

Until then,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getaway Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Getaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing