We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Tep's Villa Roma

Tep's Villa Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here on a weeknight. The restaurant was fairly full, but service was efficient. We ordered the meat lasagne, which was a large portion and verY tasty--lots of ricotta and meat, with a tasty red sauce. Salad bar had a large variety of items and dressings. Minestrone on the salad bar was very good. Took home a piece of cheesecake with strawberries which was very good. The strawberry sauce was sliced berries in a sauce that was just the right consistency and seemed homemade, as did the bread. Only downside--they were out of cannolis.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sometime_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    139
    64
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's good.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food here was pretty good. There was no waiting over the Labor Day weekend, and the service was good too. They let you get your own salad and soup before your meal which was actually nice, because it was much faster this way and you can pick just what you want. I'd return here. The prices were pretty reasonable too compared to a lot of the area restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food for the Value”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go here every time we go to South Lake Tahoe. The food is great, the atmosphere is great especially in the winter with the fire. They have a good large salad bar and soup. The food is always good and hot and more than you can eat. You can't go wrong eating here. The entrees are very reasonably priced. We were there on a Friday evening and they were busy but the service was excellent as always.
Take the coupon out of the local coupon book for a free appetizer, I suggest the stuffed mushrooms they're delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Busy place, nice food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very popular place in the middle of the Lake Tahoe action. The welcome was good, menu extensive and food pretty good. Only gripe was the slightly unhappy nature of the bar lady and waiting staff, raising a smile seemed a challenge. Our waitress also promised bread, but didn't deliver it.
Shame - I like bread too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The place for Italian in South Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Teps Villa Roma is a South Lake Tahoe shrine to good food. Your dinner beings with a superlative salad bar, at which you can make your antepasto salad or just go with any one of another type of salad that you want.

That is followed by good bread and an excellent Italian meal.

Service is quick, friendly and accommodating and the prices are reasonable. We go back to Teps on each trip to South Lake--at least once a year--and have done so for 15 years. The place has never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LagunaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tep's Villa Roma also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tep's Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing