We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Salad Bar, VERY Dated, Good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tep's Villa Roma

Tep's Villa Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the Salad Bar, VERY Dated, Good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The interior is OLD, Dated, and nasty. The food is GOOD, homey and beefy. We enjoyed the open fireplace and the green salad bar. The waitresses can be FRAZZLED and Grumpy. GO for the Lasagna and traditonal dishes. Its kind of fun, in a scary kind of way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    134
    61
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
“Old, tired and nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Owner's need to replace old and worn carpet, tables, chairs, etc. Lastly, I don't understand why an "authentic" Italian respaurant would serve dried, canned parmesian cheese ! AND, we had to ASK for it! YUCK !

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited Teps on an off season trip to Lake Tahoe, and were happy that we did. Service was great. The salad bar is included with entrees (or you can order it alone, but the price of an entree with the salad bar was not that much more.) Many fresh choices on the salad bar, along with a couple soups (the minestrone was delicious.) We ordered lasagna, which was a huge portion and tasty. Will visit again on next trip to Lake Tahoe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBergmanRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best salmon dish ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

To begin, the salad bar is fresh & has lots of choices. Our favorite appetizer is the calamari - tender strips, not tough circles & tentacles as served in other restaurants. The marinara sauce served w/ the calamari is light & quite tasty. My entree was the stuffed salmon ---OMG!!! Delicious!! Huge portion, enough that I took home half and enjoyed it again the next day. Served with a side of choice of pasta (I prefer tortellini to spaghetti and got it at no additional charge!) Oh, the bread is worth every calorie.
Only drawback is that Tep's is not open for lunch. Absolutely a must restaurant to dine at while in South Lake Tahoe. We'll be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingGal216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old and not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Traveling we split entrees and don't mind the charge but $9 for a salad bar where I took lettuce only? Lasagna had an under-taste of Mexican food which is fine for Mexican but not Italian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tep's Villa Roma also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tep's Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing