We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food - a favorite of locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macduff's Pub

Macduff's Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food - a favorite of locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The place is small and has no wow factor for atmosphere, but the service was good and the food was great. The Mac and cheese appetizer was absolutely great. I had corn beef and cabbage which was the best I have ever eaten. The service was good and prices were reasonable. It is off the beaten path, but worth finding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank egregclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    159
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Savvy beer selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We love this place..The atmosphere is on the funky side, but the food, service and terrific beer selection will keep us coming back every time...MacDuff's is our tradition in the making.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank victoriabea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del ray ,fla
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A TRIP ADVISOR-FIX THE FLOOR!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Let's get to the issue that bothered me, THE FLOOR! The floor is higher around the tables leaving it raised so that the chairs are uneven with floor. A man across from us (being that the floor is uneven) , while getting up, had his chair fall backwards. He hit his head on the floor! This seemed like it has happened before and should be addressed!!! The the host politely mentions to "watch your step" while entering the dining area to each new party to be seated.tHowever,this doesn't help w/the uneven table issue.
I am surprised that the uneven entry isn't lighted up and/or the flooring be EVEN throughout the area.

On another note: the people that work there are VERY nice, eager to please and the food is quite good. I had a freshly ground burger that they put on salad instead of a bun. That was really fresh.The other dish was the fish and chips.

This place has wonderful help and food BUT PLEASE help the customers by fixing the floor!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Looking for the correct accolade....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Outstanding isn't good enough. Fabulous has been used before. I'm not finding the correct accolade that this business deserves. I had 15 family/friends over to celebrate my birthday and not only did they locate us in a private area away from noise (so that I could be roasted properly), but they provided extraordinary service. Every guest had the option to choose from the menu independently (as opposed to arranging 2-3 choices for everyone) and they meticulously had everything prepared and delivered at THE SAME TIME! The entire order for 15 people came out together and our servers remembered exactly were each plate belonged. (Very impressive). Needless to say the food was fantastic and meet every expectation my guests had. MacDuffs staff was very accommodating, allowing us to decorate the area and just overall …. well … we had 15 happy people and everyone talked about how well MacDuffs had handled the event. Thank you everyone at MacDuffs .
And for you readers, sure MacDuffs is an outstanding place for a few friends, but if you happen to have an event …. I would definitively consider placing them in the #1 spot if you’re having an event/party in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Scottish pub in Tahoe.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The pub is good . The food was good. The service was good. The prices , I thought a tad high. I was expecting a lot given the reviews.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macduff's Pub also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Macduff's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing