We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owners acquired this property less than a year ago and put a lot of money and energy into bringing it up to date. The location is excellent: Centrally located to all of the popular S. Lake Tahoe attractions. And you don't have to worry about breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelfansv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Heavenly Valley for my wife’s birthday. This place is AWESOME! Linda and Johan are great, friendly, and caring people. They go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The location was amazing! Though it was for one night, it was worth every penny. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was amazing, pancakes, sausage, pastries, fresh fruit, all was excellent. This is a must to book. We will definitely be back! Thanks Linda & Johan!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed there for two nights. This is the best place I have ever stayed.
We felt like staying at home with an extended big family.
We left a electric gadget in the room and Linda offered to mail back to me. Thank you for Linda and Johan. We enjoyed the breakfast, the bikes you provided, the stacks in the room.
Everything is perfect, way beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay95124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This newly updated motel turned B&B is lovely. The breakfasts were yummy. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful in advising on local attractions. The evening cocktail hour around the fireplace was fun and welcoming. Heavenly Valley Lodge had the feel of having once been a motel. The rooms are extremely small, but the new owners have furnished them to look cozy and unique. The mattress in room 114 was one of those where 2 sleepers roll toward the middle V. Would love to see that upgraded. The bikes provided by the hosts were unsafe, with slipping gears and, in the case of my husband's bike, virtually no brakes, and the most uncomfortable bike seat I have ever sat on. Wish the owners would just give a voucher to a real bike shop. Overall I can recommend Heavenly Valley Lodge for a good stay in an incredibly beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan and Linda d, Owner at Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are so sorry to hear about your bad experiences with the bed and bikes! All our beds are less than a year old, and we have had so many compliments on them....we just wish you would have said something while you were here so that we could have resolved the problem right away. After we read your review, we checked the bed, and found that the previous guests had actually broken a couple of slats in the box frame, thus destroying the mattress as well, and left without saying a word. We have since replaced both!

As far as the bikes are concerned, they are only a couple of months old, and although we check the brakes before anyone leaves the property, the new cables are still prone to stretching, and the brakes have to be continually adjusted. We look forward to spoiling you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our first trip to South Lake Tahoe and Johan & Linda, owners of the B & B, made our experience terrific. They made us feel like family, had great recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. The room was very nice, bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was great, with many selections, whether you want a lot or are watching you diet. Linda is a good cook. In the evening there is a gathering around a fire pit, a time for good conversation with other visitors as well as the Johan & Linda. We had a great time of R & R, and will definitely be back any time we are in South Lake Tahoe. The location is close to all activities, but far enough away to be quiet & relaxing. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiam1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night, but it was enough to feel like we were hosted, not like we were just anonymous guests. (At the same time, you get all the privacy you want, which can sometimes be an issue at other B&Bs.) Johan and Linda were very good company at the happy hour they served us by the fire pit, and we had good conversation with other guests at the marvelous breakfast the next morning. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, with one small exception: the king bed is two twins hooked together, and you can tell--there's a small ridge down the middle of the bed. So if you want to cuddle up with your sig other, I would recommend booking a queen room instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this lodge. The location is perfect, near the main Lake Tahoe attractions but quiet at the same time. Rooms are extremely clean and have flat screen TV, mini kitchen and complimentary wifi that works very well. The breakfast is fresh made and different everyday. Sharing the fireplace with the owners and the rest of guests was a very nice experience. Everything was good but, by far, the greatest value of this lodge are its owners. Linda and Johan are GREAT people. They respected guests intimacy but are incredibly nice and friendly at the same time. Rooms are small, it is true, but you will not spend much time indoor in Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokoluiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1261 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $139 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2011. Managed by the Owners! All of our rooms were completely remodeled with brand new beds, linens and furnishings! Our goal is to make this a unique, wonderful and relaxing experience for our guests. We invite you to experience a Lake Tahoe stay like no other. Let us spoil you...We're good at it!!! Lake Tahoe has so much to offer and is also a great home base for skiing, boating, fishing, hiking, biking or just to relax in a beautiful serene location. It is also close to neighboring hot spots such as Yosemite, San Francisco, Napa Valley Wine tasting, and other Northern California & Nevada locations. The Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast is a quiet, Tahoe-Style property located at 1261 Ski Run Blvd just below the world-famous Heavenly Ski slopes, and only a 1/2 mile down to the shores of Lake Tahoe. The property is on a wooded acre and is very spacious and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing