We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary hospitality and Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Extraordinary hospitality and Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were two couples who visited in the first week of May. We drove from las vegas to lake tahoe which was a 9 hour scenic drive and we reached around 11 pm. By the time we reached there were cookies on the bed !! We received a call from them while we were driving up there to find out what time we were reaching and they gave us a free upgrade of the rooms because if was off season....good part is we had'nt even asked for it!!!!!

Everyday there would be freshly made breakfast which was excellent to say the least. The breakfast is set in a homely room and felt so cozy. I could spend half a day loitering in that room itself and eating on the side of course. Linda was amazing and she made different varieties of breakfast. Johan would print out stuff for us to do while we ate. We did not have a specific plan on things to do and had an open schedule. It was during breakfast we discussed where to go and what would be nice to do. It was like visiting your grandparents place - very homely and friendly. Johan would print out stuff for us even without us asking.

We had cookies everynight when we came back. The rooms were spotless and cleaned very promptly. Linda and Johan took over the place last year and renovated it. Johan worked in the cruise ships and was a sailor and said he was in the hospitality business. Well these people can write a book about hospitality. I am asian, so I have seen a lot of hospitality in the east, something that is more expensive in the west...but this place is a different story. I would go there every trip to lake tahoe.

BOTTOMLINE- AWESOME BREAKFAST, EXCELLENT COZY THEMED ROOMS, EXTRAORDINARY HOSPITALITY, VERY CLOSE TO THE LAKE THOUGH NOT LAKESIDE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    30
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
230
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Heavenly Valley Lodge over Memorial Day weekend and it more than exceeded our expectations.

Breakfasts were fantastic with fresh fruit and delicious scones, pastries, bagels, toast, oj, coffee and/or tea. In addition, each morning Linda made one fabulous main breakfast item. My favorite was the cinnamon french toast, and my husband's was the chorizo/egg dish.

Along with breakfast were great suggestions on places to visit, things to see and do in the Tahoe area, and places to eat.

The room we stayed in was more than comfortable. The fireplace was a nice feature adding to the coziness, and the kitchenette was handy.

Last but not least, and what really made the difference for my husband and I, was the hospitality. Linda and Johan are delightful people. They consistently wanted to make sure our stay was going well and that everything was to our liking, and we thoroughly enjoyed our chit chats with them.

We really wished we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the people we met and the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. What a wonderful stay we had, and we hope to return very soon!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knows4Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is one of the best bed & breakfast inns my husband and I have ever stayed at. The rooms were small but cozy and well-appointed. Our room had a large stone fireplace, a microwave, a coffee maker, a toaster and a basket of herbal teabags and coffees. Every day we got a dish of homebaked cookies. The queen bed was extremely comfortable. Sounds like any other hotel--but what made this experience so wonderful was the service provided by the owners Johann and Linda. In addition to being very welcoming and helpful, they served incredibly delicious breakfasts with lots of seasonal fresh fruit. The first morning, I was asked what I would like to drink. I said any type of tea except herbal. That afternoon, I noticed they replaced the herbal teabags in my room with the type I liked. Linda used to travel before they purchased this B&B and she said she wanted to put amenities in the rooms that she liked to have in hotels she stayed in. Thus, fluffy towels, great shampoos, even q-tips. Aside from all this, the location was perfect. We were 1/2 mile from the lake itself and lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. (I would recommend avoiding the Blue Angel restaurant, which had terrible service). We were also close enough to walk uphill to Heavenly Ski Slope (not that there was any snow, but we didn't go to Lake Tahoe to ski). After a morning of hiking and shopping, we sat out among the pine trees at the firepit built by Johann. If you are going to South Lake Tahoe, be sure to book a room at Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammie3795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was a great place to stay! The rooms were impressively clean, the location was amazing and the service was outstanding. Linda & Johan make you feel like a long lost family member and serve up a great breakfast! Even more importantly they were very welcoming to my furry, four legged family member! I will be a repeat customer

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katgpdk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights early May 2012. Linda and Johan made us feel so welcome from the very start right through to our departure. Very comfortable accommodation, with lovely cosy fire in the bedroom. Small kitchen area with refrigerator and coffee/tea facilities was a useful bonus. Linda makes a delicious breakfast to start the day. Great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. We would definitely recommend this as a base for exploring beautiful Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The best reason to go here is to have a feeling of warmth and welcome from Linda and Johan. They made our trip so special. Our two boys felt like they were visiting family and just loved staying at the B&B so they could hang out with the innkeepers. They are doing everything right at this place. We look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2012

my husband and I bought a 3 day 2 night stay at Heavenly Valley Lodge. I had no idea how relaxing and homey it would be. I was never one for a B&B since I usually like to be left alone and go unnoticed but the innkeepers and staff were so interesting and easy I looked forward to seeing and talking to them. I left something in the room and Linda mailed it back to me without my prompting it. I would have thought it lost forever. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I will be going there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: use the fire pit. it was great and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1261 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2011. Managed by the Owners! All of our rooms were completely remodeled with brand new beds, linens and furnishings! Our goal is to make this a unique, wonderful and relaxing experience for our guests. We invite you to experience a Lake Tahoe stay like no other. Let us spoil you...We're good at it!!! Lake Tahoe has so much to offer and is also a great home base for skiing, boating, fishing, hiking, biking or just to relax in a beautiful serene location. It is also close to neighboring hot spots such as Yosemite, San Francisco, Napa Valley Wine tasting, and other Northern California & Nevada locations. The Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast is a quiet, Tahoe-Style property located at 1261 Ski Run Blvd just below the world-famous Heavenly Ski slopes, and only a 1/2 mile down to the shores of Lake Tahoe. The property is on a wooded acre and is very spacious and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing