We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yaaa for Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My expectations were low and I was thrilled to stay at this hotel. Recently renovated, the room had newish everything, two sinks, granite counter, comfortable bed, big flat screen TV, refrigerator and FREE full breakfast. We actually did not want to be on the main drag and this hotel was about two blocks off of it. They had a nice pool and spa. The only thing I didn't like was the thin, small bath towels typical of the BW. No biggie, the rest of the room was great.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank OregonForestgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

We reviewed quite a number of accomodations in the area. We have also stayed in Tahoe several times before. We were pleased with this place and will definitely return, when given the chance. We have nothing negative to report about our stay.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank campingangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I've stayed at several hotels in Lake Tahoe over the years, from luxury condos to budget motels but this is the best I've had here. We got a two room suite, that included a spa tub. Each room had a 42" plasma TV, the bedroom had a king-size bed, and the living room had a fold-out sofa, two chairs, and a fridge. The mission style furniture gave the room some character. My only complaint about the room is it is a bit dark and you need to turn on all the lights for decent lighting.

The free internet access is via ethernet cable. I like it because it's more reliable and faster than wireless. Some don't because you can only connect one computer. There is wifi in the lobby.

The hotel is very well maintained and is just a very short walk (one block) to the beach and just a slightly longer walk to the casinos and the Heavenly gondola.

The pool area is very nice with a good balance of sunny and shady areas.

The best part of this hotel is the breakfast and the staff. Breakfast is free and is served in the very nice restaurant on site. Just about anything is available, save for omelettes, such as bacon 'n eggs; pancakes; french toast; biscuits and gravy and more. Each day there is also a different special such as cheddar scrambled eggs or blueberry pancakes. The servers here are very good and welcoming. When she's feeling well, the hostess...Bonnie...is one of Tahoe's real gems. Not only is the food very good but the staff is very welcoming and accomodating.

I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank heckonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here for the America's Most Beautiful Bike Ride. It was touted as a "luxury" hotel. It was clean, staff great definitely not luxury. The room was very dark, they need an overhead light. The beds and furniture were older, but comfortable. No cell service in our room. The only Internet service they had was a line port so only one of us could get on the computer at once. The free breakfast was OUTSTANDING! Pancakes both days, full menu, great service. We ate dinner at the restaurant too, had steak-just OK..
For the price the hotel was good..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

If you are going to South Lake Tahoe on a budget, this is a good place to stay. It's a very basic hotel that is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Clean and no-frills. They have a nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I just want to say "thank-you" to Eric, James, David, Limey, Octavio, David's son (sorry didn't get your name), and the whole crew at Station House. This was are 4th year coming here, and by far the very best. Eric recommended we stay at one of their cabins. We called it the "Chateau". Beautiful, awesome, prefect!!

The location, the food, and the whole experience can't be beat.

We missed Bonnie immensely, and she will be in our hearts, and hopefully back next year.

Thanks Again, and if anyone out there is ever in Tahoe, even if for some silly reason you decide not to stay here, check out LewMarNels, it;s awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank TennesseeBound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed for only one night at the end of April whilst travelling down to Yosemite.
It is very comfortable and spacious with very friendly and helpful staff.
The attached restaurant is a bonus - the food and service was excellent and the breakfast served in the restaurant area was more than you would expect in a Best Western.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom42n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $97 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing