We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to Heavenly Gondola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Union City, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Heavenly Gondola”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel four times in the past 4 years, specifically for snow trips because you can walk from here to Heavenly Gondolas. It has a restaurant called LewMarNel's which is easily the best, except there's a long wait for the complimentary breakfast if you go from 8am onwards. Food is excellent though. The hotel staff are very nice, the cleaning service is great as well. Too bad this place has deteriorated quite a bit over the years. In our most recent stay, I couldn't sleep at night because the pillows and beds were not comfortable and smelled of cigarette in a Non-smoking room. The noisy heater kept me waking up all night. The coffee maker was broken that it flooded the sink area. We could consider coming back, but I'll look around for alternatives as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    426
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
518
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a very efficient location for skiing at Heavenly. It is a straight shot of 3 short blocks to the crosswalk at the Gondola so you can stay parked at the hotel (about 1/2 the distance from $25 parking at Vail to their gondola). But it's the full included sit-down (but still fast) breakfast that makes it a tremendous deal. King rooms much larger than queens; spend the extra $.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Room was absolutely stunning and the location is very good! The staff leaves a horrid taste but once you are in your room you will love it. The decor is really nice and I really like how the room looked with the mirror against the bed. The bathroom was very clean and there was a great deal of unexpected ammenities Please be cautious of your credit card. They charge a deposit which I was NOT told about and was very unhappy with.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great Best Western stay as always. They did not close the hot tub early!! Why does any place do that? Loved the ski rack in the room. Walk to the gondola to ski. Very nice. Friendly staff. The breakfast was only ok. They said it would be cooked to order food but I think it was all probably ready previously except the eggs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Trina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This Best Western is closed to Heavenly. The rooms are comfortable. The included breakfast in a seat down restaurant with good choices. We had omelette, eggs and pancakes. Don't forget to ask for the 10% AAA discount. Adrián

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had planned to stay one night in Tahoe. The hotel was so relaxing I canceled a meeting and we stayed 4 nights, and got to enjoy a winter wonderland when it snowed the second day. Temperatures outside fell to -4, one of the coldest nights on record but our room heaters kept up just fine. We had a bunch of gear with us and I didn't want to schlep it through a casino, so we chose the Station House. We made a good choice!

The girl at the check in in the evening was very helpful and picked us a special room based on my request for a very quiet spot. There was a fire in the lobby and two computer terminals for guest use. The Christmas lights were up and glistened in the snow that just set the mood perfectly.

I'm writing this on their wi-fi in the far building, so I guess they got it fixed/improved after one of the previous poster's comment. The internet did go out late one night at like 2 am (we were up late) but was back when we got up, so I assume it was system maintenance. We work in tech so have our own cables but since the hotel provides them I'd take advantage of the blazing speed if your wireless receiver isn't the best. My smart phone also connected to the wifi with 4 bars.

We stayed mid week right after Thanksgiving, one of the slowest periods so there were only a few guests. We had a one bedroom suite it was just lovely. And SO quiet! The living room is separated from the bedroom by the bath area. The bath has a jacuzzi tub and is nicely done in a travertine type tile. And has it's own heater. The living room had comfortable sofa and easy chairs. It has a homey feel that hotels often lack.

The king size bed was just right, with a nice comforter. So many hotels these days skimp on the blankets it was nice to have a little weight on the bed to let you know you were in the mountains. And it was a REAL king, not the queen size that some hotels try to pass off as a king.

Finally a mention of the hearty breakfast which was included. They have a nice adjoining mountain style restaurant and made cooked to order breakfasts. You get a menu of choices from pancakes to my favorite, 2 eggs, home fries, muffin and bacon, with OJ. Don't forget to leave the attentive and friendly waiter a tip.

The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the gondola and shopping area, another long block to the casinos, and it's two short blocks to the lake front. Even though it was freezing cold we enjoyed several walks, and thawed out in our toasty room.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay while in Tahoe away from the hustle and bustle of the casino traffic. So if you want to just got to Tahoe without having to stay at a Casino then Best Western Station House is a good choice! Staff is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank conik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you! for taking the time too leave a nice rewiew we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at our property. We hope to see you back soon as the snow is in our forecast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing