We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Quiet setting; exterior getting a little in need of a paint job; room very clean; bathroom areas excellent; room good, but furniture will need replacement soon. Restaurant on property excellent, both staff and food. It was great that our breakfast was free at the restaurant next door. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    381
    156
    34
    13
See reviews for
262
466
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are real small and stuffed with furniture. Make sure you book a suite or something bigger if there are more than one of you. We are on a month road trip from Canada and have stayed in lots of Best Western's on our travels. This property is in a good location in Tahoe, close to the beach. The breakfast is to die for, excellent service especially from Dan, good on you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
193 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Best Western Station House Inn isn't far from the state line. There are no slot machines and flashing lights. What you do get is great towels, a good king bed with nice sheets. Our room had a very large granite top vanity with a huge mirror. There was very good lighting above the vanity. There was another sink and smaller vanity in the shower and toilet area. The fixtures are upgraded, they look and work good The goose neck shower head is a good addition. The owners have also included soap dishes. There is a throwback bottle opener mounted lower on the vanity. There are glasses provided rather than the dinky plastic cups but we'd like ceramic coffee cups too.
There was a large flat screen TV but the channels are a mess. There was a frig but we failed to use it. The enormous wall mirror adjacent to the bed expands the room two fold. It feels like a much larger room! The wifi was screwy. I couldn't hook up with my tablet. There is a sign on the desk stating to get a ethernet cable from the office. So many devices today don't even have a port for ethernet.
We had the complimentary breakfast at their restaurant. I had went ahead of our party to check out the conditions and encountered David. He explained the situation, we talked about beers and I took fresh coffee back to the room. David made breakfast an event with his BS. Of course we gave as well as we got but it was fun. The food was good and hot. Do this for sure!
We had a first floor room and we parked at our door. The parking is crowded and could result in a collision. Be careful.
There are a couple other dings. The arm chairs are heavily soiled on the arms, the toilet is low and small, and there maybe too much furniture in the room.
Overall we slept well and were well fed. That's the main things!!!
I can't comment on the value because we used a free night here. :) I guess it was very very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Best Western has been around for awhile. However, it's still in pretty good condition. The rooms aren't huge by current top notch hotel standards, but our King room was fine. The only complaint was that we could hear people in the room next to us. We enjoyed the hot tub and really enjoyed the "real" waiter served breakfast. The rate was decent and the surrounding properties seem to be all getting a bit long in the tooth. I guess the gaming business in northern Nevada is really getting hit hard by the Indian Casinos in California.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was another lovely surprise of a hotel a little tired round the edges but well kept and very clean. As I don't do well on stairs and there was no lift in this hotel they made sure I had a ground floor room, this once again was big and spacious with all the needs taken care of. It is situated between the shops and the beach so not far to walk to either. We could even park the car right outside our room. Considering there were lots of bikers staying it wasn't noisy at all. This time breakfast was in the restaurant next to the hotel and for the first time we sat at table and were served our breakfast with as much tea and coffee that you could consume, it was a lovely way to have breakfast very civilised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiddieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Best Western is off the strip and has a "Tahoe" feel to it. The queen bed room however is very small so we decided to switch to a king bed in a larger room. The hotel has nice amenaties and "little touches" in the room that make the stay nice. The sit down made to order Breakfast at the cozy restaurant comes with the price of the room ! We really enjoyed breakfast there. There is a private beach only two blocks away and Harris and Harvey's are walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kevrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The first night we had two queensize bedrooms. The room were ok, but small. The other nights we had two kingsized rooms an they were much bigger. The rooms are very clean and the hotel is also quiet. The pool is very nice an with the pines around the pool you have also enough shadow. We ate almost every night in Restaurant, which is located near the hotel the breakfast and the dinner were amazing and the staff, especially Bonnie, were very friendly and helpfull. I can recommand this hotel for your stay in South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Kingsize room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahine151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing