We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western, South Shore, Lake Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Rodeo, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western, South Shore, Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent place to stay at a modest price. Friendly staff. Clean room, brightly furnished & decorated. Convenient to beach, restaurants, shopping, ski lift, & casinos. Excellent breakfast. These people really try to make your stay a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    425
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff was terrific. Though the room was pretty expensive it was well worth it due to the quality of the restaurant, free breakfast (right off the menu) and the close proximity to the outdoor concert we attended, all we had to do was walk a short distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotels around Tahoe can be pricy, and without the help of TripAdvisor, bad deals. TA did not steer us wrong on our recent visit to South Lake Tahoe. We chose to stay in the Best Western Plus Station House Inn because we wanted a swimming pool, hot tub, and to be close to a lake beach. We got all that and more staying here. Eric was the manager on duty while we stayed there, and he mad us feel like his best friends, doing everything he possibly could to make our stay even better. Since we wanted to use the swimming pool and hot tub, he placed us in a room facing these. He also recommended good restaurants, beaches, drives around the area, and good shopping. Every one of his recommendations were right on. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel has air conditioning, as many in Tahoe do not. Since we were there during the Rim Fire, the haze from that fire filled the air, making AC a lifesaver. The room had all the conveniences as advertised, and if we had needed anything else, Eric would have provided it. The pool was sparkling clean, as was the steaming hot tub - no lukewarm water here! The complimentary breakfast was extraordinary in every way - great food, great service, and a great setting. The beach (Lakeside) was only two short blocks walking distance and the hotel provides free passes to use it. We could not have had a better experience, and will definitely return here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are most convenient, and were not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting South Tahoe. Location was fantastic in that one could walk to the beach as well as drive a short ways to enjoy the casinos and buffets in Nevada.

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, wifi worked well, and breakfast was served in the restaurant on premises which was really nice.

The hotel was a nice location if one wanted to visit the many tourist attractions in south Tahoe.

Room Tip: Ask for pass to beach, or one will have to pay fee. Beach is nice, but not the best. There are so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pennant Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great Location! Wonderful breakfast, so nice to have on premises with great service. Beautiful pool and recreation areas. Close to beach and casinos. Loved being able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Perfect choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank adenfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very small rooms where couples need to coordinate movement. Room was clean (a plus). There are no elevators and stair are exterior. The check-in staff was border-rude and they have a requirement fto record Driver's License numbers in-case a guest "trashes the room." As a frequest Best Western guest this brothered me. Breakfast was ok, limited selection, good wait staff. Parking is hit and miss next to building

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you, For you response we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent stay at our property! I see you stayed in one of our queen size rooms. Yes, this is one of our smaller rooms. And the least expensive one that we offer. We do have king size rooms they are twice the size of the queens for a difference of about $10.00 more a night. We do offer a free full cooked to-order American breakfast each morning of your stay. I'm confused to the limited selection, As we offer a wide varitiy of items like Bisquits and gravy, pancakes, waffles, french toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, potatoes and on the lighter side of the menu we also have oatmeal, grits, cottage cheese, yogert, muffins and on some occasions we have specials like eggs benidict. We do apologize if this didn't meet your need as it is a free breakfast that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It is an average hotel. Location is good, you can walk to lake, casino and restaurants. I would gave a 4 stars if the room is not that old and small. Furniture are old and bulky, they put a BIG armoire in the room. Lucky we only stayed 2 nights and only had 1 small luggage, I don't think a big luggage will fit in the room. Bed is comfortable and breakfast is delicious! Free wifi but in our room wifi only works in the morning, in the afternoon we cannot get any connection ..sigh :(

Room Tip: Base Camp Pizza is really-really good! Walk to Lake Tahoe Blvd and cross the street to Mariott Hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing