We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First time stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Within walking distance to stateline (4 or 5 blocks) and close to #50 (lake tahoe blvd). The room was clean, but a bit cluttered with furniture, but still nice. The bed was okay, but could use replacing. The onsite restaurant was a plus, but limited sit-down free breakfast menu, but nice to have available. We didn't go onto the beach, but did walk down to it which is about two blocks. The weather didn't permit using the pool, but it was great springtime weather, about 70 degrees during the day. We did think, with tax, $100 on a Friday night was a little steep for off season. The place was quiet except for a rather loud male employee yelling for a maid to give him a cigarette outside our room. All & all we would stay here again, but would check the casino's for specials first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    411
    162
    34
    15
See reviews for
271
507
49
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A clean two-story hotel located just a wink off of the main drag so it was quiet yet just a 5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola and shopping plazas. Would be a great location for skiing; albeit I'd opt for a quick drive if carrying equipment. An even shorter walk to the lake if you wanted to go to the beach and/or playground

Great breakfast ... complimentary full sit-down breakfast with specials like made to order fresh blueberry pancakes. Not a continental buffet of pastries.

Not a luxurious place, but in looking at the area there were not many options that were. The staff was super pleasant and very nice. The facility quiet and safe. The bed had seen better days, the decor was antiquated and the bathroom needed updating however it was very clean and that is quite important as several folks were staying elsewhere and that was their complaint. I would recommend a less than chic decor for clean everything, new linens and pleasant service every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room - so headlights don't come through your window; It also feels safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights in November. Originally got the reservation on Priceline--very happy we did! The property is clean and just steps to the Lake Tahoe beach. Our room was very spacious, and included a mini fridge. The hotel serves up complimentary breakfast at the attached restaurant, which is convenient and good! We will definitely return to this property in future trips!

Room Tip: The King room is very spacious. If you select a room on the second floor, you have a nice view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del ray ,fla
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Upon entering into a very appealing lobby the front desk help were extremely helpful and personal. We were able to check in very early and leave our luggage while we skied. We stayed here only one night. It was comfortable and very quiet!!!! I love having access to the outside rather than an inside corridor.Fresh country air is good!!! The room is a bit dated and is overcrowded w/too much furniture . The comforters are nice and a pleasant change from the typical dark colors. The beds in the double rooms seem to be of better quality than the king beds. Also for convenience there are two sinks, one in the shower area and the other is outside.

The breakfast is a treat! Not only do you order off the menu but the waiters are unbelievably friendly and are extremely happy to help you in any way.

This was a good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed there one night while enroute to Utah and found the service very good. Nice room but the king sized bed was HORRIBLE! I mentioned this during my BW review. Otherwise a great spot right up a walkway to Heavenly Village. The free breakfast is cooked to order and served promptly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

for the price the location is excellent. a 5 min walk to the gondola casinos or lake. Incredible. Although breakfast is included remember to take your tip money with you (this is a foreign concept for an australian). Has a hot tub. walls are a bit thin but just hope your neighbours are quiet

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing