We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is not a high end place by any means but is just a very good value for your money. The place is older, probably the 70s when built and is a little run down outside but not too bad. Inside the rooms are a little better and are very clean. Everything worked for us just as it should, even enough hot water for two showers in a row, try that most hotels and the second one will be cold.

The bed was comfy, TV was new and the heat worked great which was important as it was in the teens at night. The best part was the price which was very low and the full breakfast made it perfect, a great stay for the price. This is the kind of hotel we go back to because of the value and the fact everything was clean and working plus the breakfast.

The only minus was the queen room, which is where you get the low price, but was very small for two people. The bed takes up most of the room and only one person at a time can walk around the bed. The bath is small too but we put up with those inconveniences for the sake of the money....a good trade off for us but you will have make that decision for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    431
    168
    34
    17
See reviews for
287
528
54
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is not fancy by any means but it is warm and comfortable. Flat screen tv's and a fridge in the room are a plus. A full breakfast was included in the price and the service was fast and friendly. The slopes were a 3 block walk. I was able to carry my skis and boots and rent a locker at the mountain base ski shop for $5.00 for the day and leave my skies and boots in a locker overnite for $10.00. They had a hot tub on the premises that will hold 6 people comfortably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 387goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We needed a one night stay in South Lake Tahoe before checking into our rental home. I booked a room at the Best Western Plus Station House. We were expecting a so so room and no perks. Our room was lovely, updated and spotless. Breakfast was included and we anticipated the usual cold cereal, yogurt etc. Unbelievably, we were told that breakfast was held at the restaurant on site. We were treated to a sit down breakfast with a large number of selections. The wait staff was outstanding and we were delighted to tip our waiter well for this quiet, relaxing and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very close to lifts, town center and restaurant, this hotel offers nice and well maintained rooms at very reasonable prices. Breakfast is much more than you would expect at a motel: sit down restaurant with full breakfast menu served by waiters - all included in he room rate. Nice! Adding some healthier breakfast options to the menu would make it perfect, but if you dig a traditional full breakfast, you will be smiling.
Wifi in the rooms has been a bit erratic during recent stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The pluses of my stay:
Location; the front desk says the walk to the Heavenly Gondola is seven minutes. They are correct. Great location for skiing Heavenly.
Breakfast: it not your typical free hotel breakfast. As a matter of fact it is awesome. Just order off the menu. My three breakfasts (stayed three nights) were: two eggs, bacon, home fries, sour dough toast. My friend raved about the pancakes. Both breakfasts were huge & really good. Just tip your waiter & your done!
Price: For a location this close to the lift in ski country, the price is great.

The minuses:
Hot tub was NOT working. One of the best things about skiing for me is to ski all day. Get some beers, get in the hot tub (especially if it is an outdoor hot tub). On check-in we are informed that the hot tub is broken. To the hotel's credit, they offered to cancel our reservation with out penalty; they did lower our rate by $20, which was greatly appreciated.
Our first room's heat was not working. Necessitating a room move.
The second room's heat worked fine. After unpacking, we noticed the security lock was broken. We just toughed it out & stayed in that room. Yeah, so brave!

Overall, I would stay here again as the breakfast & location makes it worthy. Plus, by now the hot tub is probably fixed. Enjoy Heavenly, especially the views & skiing the NV side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel has a great location, just a short walk from Heavenly ski lifts. With a tasty and filling (although somewhat limited) hot breakfast included, it definitely makes this a great deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SHAWN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Property: Best Western Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing