We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Pride!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Acadia National Park, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Pride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My Father built the Best Western Station House Inn at S.Lake Tahoe, CA. He bought 24 housekeeping cottages that were called "Starbuck Cottages. He re-named them "Saphire Beach Lodge." He later tore the cottages down and built "Camelot Tahoe." He sold it and it is now BW SHI. I have stayed there many times over the years and have always had a clean room, courteous service, best breakfast cooked to order and we never told the staff that my father built it and our family owned it! It is so conveniently located close to shopping, clubs, lake, etc. etc. Glad to see that others still think so highly of my Father's dream.

Room Tip: Any room will be nice. Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    425
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Best Western is located close to the lake and just 2 blocks from Lake Tahoe Blvd and Heavenly Village with the gondola if you come here in winter.
I come here often since the price-performance ratio is usually unbeatable. The hotel is “expensive” enough to avoid drunken casino guests and it is off the main tracks so you do not have to face loud pedestrians.
It is cozy and comes in a kind of cabin/log house style, very clean, and the rate includes a tasty American breakfast a la carte. I cannot understand the other reviews regarding the staff since they are always warm and welcoming.

+ quiet location
+ good room size
+ very clean and cozy
+ friendly staff
+ close to Heavenly Village and the lake
+ delicious breakfast
+ nice cultured guests
- in winter people wearing ski boots might hate the 2 block distance to the gondola

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs within the building where the reception is or next to the restaurant. The bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We paid $85 for a king room with breakfast in early November. The room is nice with fridge and sink outside and inside the bathroom. There had been some upgrades although the TV was still the big, old box. Although there was very few guests staying in the hotel we were all crowded into one area. We got a ground floor room and could hear the people upstairs walking around even with the TV on. The real downside for us is that the heat is controlled by the front desk and we could not open a window as we were on the ground floor. Second floor would have had the same problem as there is a walkway right outside the window. Blinds and windows must stay closed on both levels as there is no privacy. The positive is good hot breakfast served by a waiter that reminds you to tip.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are preferable but you cannot open the window or blinds as there is no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We apolgize for not meeting your exspectations. We have been doing some more remodeling we've added free WFI now in all our rooms and also have 42 in T.Vs in all our rooms. Thanks for your repy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I always have good things to say about this location. Rooms are fabulous. Since my last stay they have installed shower doors. No more fighting with a shower curtain. You get a free breakfast with your stay . It's a full breakfast in a restaurant setting, very good. Its about 2 blocks to Casino's ( walking). My only complaint is the towels were rough..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is on a quiet street close to the lake and the casinos. We stay here every summer when attending special events in South Shore (last six years we have stayed there at least once a year). The delicious breakfast included with the room are cooked to order and served in a nice restaurant setting. Rooms are very comfortable. We prefer the king bed rooms as they have more space. Grocery store and restaurants are within walking distance also. We always recommend this hotel to friends traveling to Tahoe.

Room Tip: Complex seems to be quiet no matter what wing. King bed rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on business because it was a BW and close to the job site. It's tucked away off the main drag and has a very cozy atmosphere. Close to the state line casinos. Nice big rooms (Especially compared to the Timber Cove) and a VERY comfy bed. Big new flat screen TV. We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi. We stayed in rm # 104 on the second floor. GREAT breakfast at the restaurant right on the property. You sit down at a table or booth with linens and get a menu to chose from. A very personable waiter served us. We had the special - blueberry pancakes with warmed syrup, GREAT coffee, crispy bacon and OJ with refills! So very yummy! The waiter was quick witted and we enjoyed him and our meal immensely. I wanted to stay another day just to try something else off the menu. So this place doesn't have a view like the Timber Cove down the street but everything else was a great experience and value!

Room Tip: Best complimentary breakfast for a BW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, I thought it was in a great location, close enough to the casinos you could walk but far enough from the main street.
Check-in was smooth and the staff was friendly. They also have a good breakfast. I would stay here again. We stayed in room 109 with a king size bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing