We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

On our travels around California, we stayed here for 3 nights, Thursday, Friday and Saturday in mid September. On arrival we found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful. The room layout and decor was dated, and was on the small size. In fact one of the smallest rooms we had used during this tour. Thursday evening was quiet, though both Friday and Saturday much busier, though still remained peaceful.
The restaurant was on site and served breakfast (waiter service). Which was very good every day.
We chose to have dinner on the last evening in the restaurant. The food was tasty, but, We felt quite expensive, the service started well, though as the meal progressed, we felt rushed to finish and leave.
The bar on the other hand was superb. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the friendly helpful barman. Which put a good finish to the last evening in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This Best Western is located within easy walking distance of the casinos, the Heavenly Valley gondola and a Raley's supermarket, but it's a couple of blocks from 50, so it's relatively quiet. It's a short walk to an OK beach, and guests can get beach passes from the front desk. The hotel's restaurant-bar, where you have your included breakfast, is nice and sits right next to the pool and hot tub area. So, you can do a lot of stuff in a pretty compact area. We stayed in a king room on the second floor, which cuts down a little on noise from the pool and parking lot. The room itself could've used a little updating, but was adequate. There's a second sink outside the bathroom, which is always convenient, as well as a good-sized fridge. All-in-all, a good value. Note: we stayed during the summer, so your mileage may vary during ski season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urkelsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was clean and reasonably spacious. Room had two sinks but no microwave. The location is great being two blocks to the lake (with access to a large, private beach) and three blocks from Heavenly Village. It is three blocks off the very busy Hwy 50 and has easy access to the highway at two traffic lights (either Park or Stateline avenues). The restaurant breakfast and service were great. Need to be in the vicinity of the lobby to have wireless access. I borrowed a ethernet cable to try to have access in the room but I suspect the wall-mounted modem was faulty. Front desk staffing was minimal but friendly enough. The pool and hot tub were okay but would be uncomfortable with more than a few people. Their online ad lists mountain views as a room amenity; that's a stretch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place needs renovated, it is very 1980's in design, and doesn' look like its been painted anytime recently. For those of you wishing to revisit motels where you door opens in to the parking lot, and is not well fitting this is the place to come! The receptionist on my arrival was so disinterested it verged on rudeness, but a different one on departure was very nice. The free wifi only works in reception, except it didn't. The free breakfast at the restaurant next door was nice, but didn't start until 7am.
It is well positioned for a walk to the beach or to the town.
I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although the rooms are not "wow", they are clean and comfortable. If you are going to Lake Tahoe to spend the day in your room; book something else. The onsite restaurant is very good. They offer a wonderful breakfast for FREE and very nice dinners for a competitive price. The lake is two blocks away! I would definately stay there again. The pool and the hot tub could use a cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlorenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable prices. Everyone we encountered from the front desk to housekeeping was friendly and accommodating. The FULL complimentary breakfast was amazing!! Bonnie the hostess couldn't have been happier to serve her guests. Thanks Bonnie!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorrCorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Four stars on the Tahoe scale. Rooms are decorated in Tahoe chic, a la 1973, but they are clean and functional. Clean bathrooms, comfortable bed. Our room had a large flat screen TV, our friends' room had an older TV. Access to the private beach at the end of the road. Free breakfast. Choice of pancakes; or biscuits and gravy; or egg, hash browns, bacon and toast; stuff like that. Coffee and juice as well. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $99 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing