We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...best manager!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...best manager!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My fiance and I were getting married in Lake Tahoe, so thank goodness we found this place. We, along with my parents and my fiances parents were staying here for three nights. Upon arrival, we were happy with our decision. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to a private beach, the tahoe gondola, heavenly village, plenty of restaurants and the tahoe queen. The rooms are quite small but clean and well kept. There is a nice little pool and hot tub. The restaurant offers some lovely food and a wide range of wine and for me, the breakfast was amazing! What I have to really comment on here though is the service...generally from the staff but primarily the manager. After a fantastic wedding day, we had a problem with collecting our wedding certificate (very stressful as we were leaving the next day!). After hearing us disussing this in the reception area, the manager told me who to contact, let me use the reception phone and did everything he could to help us to resolve the situation and thank goodness...it worked....what a star. And to top things off, after collecting the wedding certificate and returning to the room, a bottle of champagne was delivered from the manager as a congratulations...how sweet. It genuinely made our time at lake tahoe special. Thank you. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigglegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    422
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
284
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was clean and close to a private beach you have access to. We used the hot tub also. My only negative comment is the waiting in line for the breakfast. This is not the typical best western breakfast buffet. It was in the adjacent restaurant and we had to wait over 30 minutes to get our name on the list and many people left the line not wanting to wait. So if you are in a hurry to get out, this is not the place to have a quick place to grab a bite, you need more than an hour for the breakfast. Also we were reminded repeatedly to tip the waiters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stopped to regroup after 2200 miles before descending to a round of visits in San Francisco. After crossing Utah and Nevada, Lake Tahoe was a veritable oasis. The hotel/motel is a few blocks off the main drag and nestled among some pines. 70's vintage, good landscaping with restaurant adjoining (LewMarNel's) where breakfasts are served (part of lodging price but do not forget the tip). Pool-cabana complex leading into restaurant/bar. The appearance is ski motel of the 70. While it was a hot day in the 80's the environs were cool due to the pines and th A/C worked well. The room was tight for the price and we could not imagine 2 people with ski's and baggage fitting into the comfortably.
We had dinner at the restaurant: food was great, wine list was extensive, service was exquisite
and the bill ran $60/person with the cheapest wine.

Next day we walked to the shopping mall and bought tickets to the Gondola ride 3000' to the top with prepaid lunch tickets. These saved us about 50% on the cost of food (About $17 vs $45 w/o prepay for ski chow and one split of wine). The observation point is a necessary stop because the end of the ride is nestled in a small valley w/o an overlook. Hiking trails/ski runs point to Nevada or Californa- you have your choice. After coming down an the last ride (5pm) we wandered thru the art/jewelry shops and came home to a private wine and chese from the local Safeway - better than the one at home!). Nevada gaming?: that's for the next trip!

Room Tip: I would ask for the 2nd floor walk up and back: no parking lot and less people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balticrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights while touring around Lake Tahoe. It is a two storey motel type hotel in Stateline which is only 2 blocks from the beach...a real plus. It is also situated in a quiet area well away from the other numerous hotels which are near the noisy main street. This hotel is busy in August and many people seemed to be frequent customers of the place. Our room was big and comfortable with a good bathroom and shower....it had a good shower door rather than a curtain. It was very quiet and peaceful at night time. We used the pool and hot tub. The hot tub though was VERY hot and maybe parents of young children need to be aware of that. Breakfast here is different as the hotel uses the service of the restaurant next door with full waiter service. It's very good but not cheap as the price of breakfast is definitely built in to the hotel price. Breakfast time was also VERY busy and you had to wait to be seated.The restaurant seats 93 people. In fact you really would need to allow 45 to 60 mins for this "experience" and wouldn't want to be in a hurry. Bonnie was entertaining of course and helped to shorten the waiting time. The food on offer was good and though "free" you are expected to tip the waiter. We hadn't a clue if that meant 15% like at dinner time or lower. So, you do need to add on the tip to your hotel bill which could add up if you were staying for more than a few days! Really we thought that the same menu could have been offered at a buffet style set up and the the hotel might be able to cope better with the crowds. Of course we could see that the waiter service is impressive and probably suits people who are staying for a relaxing week. We had only 3 nights and were anxious to get out and about to explore Lake Tahoe rather than take an hour over breakfast.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and it proved to be ideal for Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for less passing traffic and car noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake Oswego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I traveled with family (teenagers) and we had a great stay. The food was wonderful in the restaurant and Bonnie (Breakfast Hostess) had me in stiches. I told my family that is going to be me someday! She was so enthusiastic, polite, courteous and detailed. I have been in customer service many years and she truly is one best I have encountered. She is an asset to the hotel. Brad also was an outstanding waiter he too was very polite, thorough and very friendly. Housekeepers were friendly. I give Bonnie and Brad an excellent rating.
The room was standard and a good value it was clean comfortable; pool was great for the kids and the beach close by (2 blocks walking distance) was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregonladyplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Bonnie have been with us for over 20 years. She is one of the gems of our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western + Station House for three days, for our daughter's wedding at Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe. Within an hour of arrival, through a miss-understanding, I locked myself out of our room. I visited a very busy reception but was greeted with a genuine 'no problem' attitude. Once my I.D. had been checked, I was then escorted by the manager, with his spare key, back to my room . The wedding went beautifully and the following day my husband, and I, along with our son-in-laws parents, were using the hotel computer to view the pictures, whilst our daughter and her husband had gone to collect their marriage certificate. The manager and his receptionist were looking at them, saying how lovely they were and were really pleased that everythying had gone so well. Unfortunately, things changed when the newly weds returned, saying that there was a problem with the marriage certificate and therefore, they were unable to provide them with one. Our daughter and son-in-law were really upset and just did not know what they were going to do. Once again the manager came to our rescue, even though the actual wedding was not his concern. He advised our daughter who to phone and suggested that she should use the hotel land line rather than her mobile, for easier communication. With that one phone call, things were sorted and the newly weds were told to go back to collect their certificate and to top it all, whilst they were away, a bottle of champagne was sent to their room, courtesy of the hotel. How very kind was that?
And now back to the hotel. Really great location. My husband and I stayed in a two queen, quiet, large cosy room with all amenities. We had a beautiful meal, with plenty to eat, on our first evening at the hotel. We only had breakfast on the last morning of our stay and it was lovely. What a lovely experience we had. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aetch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great location, close to the casinos but still a little off the beaten path. Love the adjoining restaurant and a two minute walk to the beach. My only issue was the bed was pretty soft. It made for a restless night of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvsdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,041 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing