We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Worn-out Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Leesport, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old, Worn-out Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I will start with the positives: The high speed internet was very fast; better than at the several Best Westerns we stayed at on this trip. You receive passes to the semi-private beach only a three minute walk from the motel (cost is $5 per person without the pass). There is a free washer and dryer available first-come-first-served (but only one of each!). The staff is helpful and courteous. The location is good; two blocks from Harrah's.
Now the negatives: The place is worn-out. The exterior has had a coat of paint slapped on it to cover the fact that the wood is rotting. The carpets are thread-bare. I'm hoping that the stain on one of our chairs was spilled coffee. The bed was slightly better than a hammock--lumpy, sagging, misshaped. The TV was an old, tube-type (though it did get all basic cable channels). The breakfast consists of bread for toast, croissants (that were pretty good), toaster waffles, fruit and barely passable coffee. Weekdays they do not serve until 8 AM (7 AM weekends). The "heated" pool was maybe a degree or two above unheated. There are no rooms with microwave or minifridge (a microwave is available above the ice machine across from the lobby). Air conditioners have two settings, high and low--no temperature control!
The price is good (we averaged just under $100 per room for the three nights we stayed), but you definitely get no more than you pay for here. The weekend we stayed every place on US 50 had vacancies and we probably should have investigated changing locations after the first night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I regret we were not made aware of your observations while you were with us, perhaps we could have offered you a different room or upgraded you into something you may have enjoyed more. We hope to see you in the future and do a better job at satisfying you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    81
    59
    31
    33
See reviews for
103
100
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Americas best value inn for our 6 year anniversary, we stayed during the week of Aug 4-10, we brought our 3 dogs, when we first got there Raphiel greeted us with a smile, and let us pick which of 2 rooms that he had avail in the specifications we requested on line we would prefer, we chose the room with 2 beds and a balcony which was very clean, beautiful and looked as if it had recently been updated and repainted, it was well worth the price we were paying for each night, we felt like we were staying at a family member's house because of the friendly service we received, the manager James was very accommodating , as well as pretty much all of the staff including Jason the maintenance guy who helped us when he discovered we had a flat tire on the day we were leaving.

They gave us passes for the private beach for ourselves and our friends, the breakfast was very good and always waiting for us when we got up, and anything we needed or asked for was delivered if available.

I really have nothing negative to say about this place other than I wish we could have stayed longer, the staff was so nice and friendly =)

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get more for their tight vacation budget, personally I think they could charge more but I'm glad they don't, it makes it easier for us to stay there again on our next vacation to South Lake Tahoe.

Thanks for making our vacation so wonderful James, Jason, Angela and Raphiel.

Jackie and Ryan....=)

Room Tip: We thought we had the best room which was #346 with a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind and friendly review. By far, the majority of our hotel guests find our hotel a pleasant and comfortable value but don't take the time to post their comments. In contrast, the few guests that felt they had a negative experience nearly always post reviews. It's refreshing to read such a positive and comprehensive review. Thanks for helping balance our public reputation.

Our staff here are just nice people. We have all planned vacations and traveled ourselves and understand how our guests plan and anticipate a satisfying departure from their daily routines. We assist all that ask for suggestions, directions or assistance with a cheerful smile. It feels good to be helpful and watch our visitors enjoying themselves.

Thank you again for your upbeat shout out to my staff... I know they will smile to know they were acknowledged.

Please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't write many reviews but wanted to write this one to hopefully avoid a very dirty hotel. Let me start by saying that the carpet was very dirty and stained. The walls had cob webs and white paint on the walls that as well was dirty. Old TV with a humming noise. Also did not like that the windows did not lock and they had a bar that hinged over (did not work) to lock. The balcony seemed unstable as well the hall ways were very dark.

The outside looked very inviting too bad they don't pay the same attention to the interior. This could have been a nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planner23899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this last minute on our trip to tahoe because the hotel we had booked was horrible when we arrived. Pretty basic, carpet turned our feet black, kids slipped at the pool numerous times (they weren't running) the deck off our room was sketchy.. beds were okay sheets were clean and smelled good. Breakfast was just pre-packaged stuff. The staff was nice, let us check out an hour late, only thing is they were smoking right outside the lobby. I probably won't stay here again it was old and tired and just needs help. The paint job and the way they fix things just seems really cheap.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building, they have another property a little down the road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great location, great price, and great staff. Had a blast! Walking distance too Harvey's and Harrahs. Also a beach pass to walk from your room to the lake. Big grill outside for all to use which worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about our hotel. Of course, we appreciate all positive comments as they affirm our efforts to offer convenience and value to our guests. The negative remarks help us to see more from our guests perspective and provide us with insight and direction for our future efforts.

Thank you again and please contact us directly in the future to receive our guaranteed lowest room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, Ca.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

No frills, basic accommodations, quiant and clean. The staff, from the manager on down were friendly and attentive to any needs we had. It was great to be able to leave door to the balcony open and here the wind thru the pines. We were able to park the car and walk to the beach ( they included a free pass) to the casinos, shopping or take the tram up to Heavenly. While we were there we were able to sit out on the balcony and people watch everyone on their way to the Phish concert at Harvey's and also here the show. I am still waiting for one of their Zeppelin covers. Thanks again, we will be back.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms that faced the street, higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. Perhaps our most outstanding feature is the convenient proximity to local attractions, but we work diligently to build upon that foundation with friendliness, cleanliness and affordability.

Our poolside BBQ grills, free guest laundry/fitness/massage therapy room, free wifi, free private beach passes, our heated swimming pool, whirlpool spa and suana, free guest computer kiosk and bicycle rental kiosk all work to create a small resort feel to our hotel.

Thank you again and please contact us directly in the future to receive our guaranteed lowest price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very accommodating staff. Close enough to the casinos to walk and close enough to the lake to walk as well. Pool is very nice, sauna and hot tub too. Nice little breakfast bar too with fresh pastries, not the packaged crap. Coffee could be better but that is the story of my life.
It is tight parking though, be ready to be packed in on full nights.

For the money I will def stay here on my next rip to South shore.

Room Tip: For a discount and not online, ask for the handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyboy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts for our future guests. Our staff work day in and day out cleaning and maintaining our grounds and facilities. I understand your comments on parking. We have sufficient parking for our rooms but don't have extra parking for additional cars per room. Since the City of South Lake Tahoe chose to install a parking meter/fee system at our private beach, it seems to make parking in nearby local businesses more attractive to beach visitors. We have recently instituted an enforceable 'Parking Permit" system to help insure that are parking is more effectively allocated per room... but at best, skillful drivers seem to have a better time in our parking lot than others.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and please contact us directly in the future to receive our guaranteed best room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Address: 4107 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique and attractive Tahoe style inn is ideally located only two blocks to the shore of dazzling Lake Tahoe and private beach and marina facilities. Three blocks to famous Nevada Casinos like Harrah's, Harvey's, Mountbleu, Horizon and Lakeside Inn. Only four blocks to Heavenly Village and gondola, the most direct route to America's largest ski resort and a short 1/2 block to Edgewood Golf Course, rated #5 on the American PGA Tour and location of our annual Celebrity Golf Tournament. With everything Tahoe has to offer nearby including famous entertainment nightly and well known restaurants and buffets, you'll be tempted to have fun all day and then stay up late and enjoy the lively Nevada nightlife. Regardless of why you come to Lake Tahoe, AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN - CASINO CENTER LAKE TAHOE is your BEST CHOICE for convenience, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Tahoe West Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Tahoe West Motel
Best Tahoe West Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing