We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic experience- Thanks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience- Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here recently and I was so impressed that I had to leave a review, which I never do. James and Angela are the on-site managers, and they went above and beyond to accommodate our needs in every way. The hotel is lovely, and within walking distance to their PRIVATE beach, plus they'll give you complementary guest beach passes for up to 6. There are also two separate BBQ areas with dining tables for guest use. I've been coming to Tahoe for years and this place is the best bang for your buck! Thanks, James and Angela! See you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    80
    57
    31
    27
See reviews for
98
98
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ran into an instance at "another motel" with a rather large blue bird on the signage in the area, with doors that would not properly lock, windows that would not shut completely and carpets that were recently perfumed to try and mask the stench. Rat hole conditions.

After calling several locations at 10:30pm on a Friday night, and exhausted from the weeks work and three hours drive... we stumbled across "America's Best Value Inn" almost by accident.

James immediately welcomed us and promptly offered several rooms that were available. (I asked to see the room, having had just been evicted from another motel for complaining about the conditions/non functioning room basics)

We were looking for something reasonable, that would accommodate 3 of us while we were in the area for The Valhalla Renaissance Faire. My only 2 conditions were that the room was clean, and that doors and windows could be secured. James informed us that he would allow us to look at each room he had available if we wanted... I didn't have to, he obviously had nothing to hide; however we did look at one room that was close to the office (and almost 80 degree pool) and was sold on the location convenience and honesty of our host.

While there are far fancier and more expensive places to stay, this place will keep money in your wallet, and offer a pleasant/friendly atmosphere. I would certainly visit again as I hear they are always improving on room conditions and also have a cottage that will suit a family of 6. The next time I stay in the area, the rest of my children and wife will be accompanying me. I know I can count on a CLEAN room, affordable pricing and great customer service at this Inn.

Room Tip: Just ask for what is going to be best for your boarding situation/preference. The staff will find so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here yday and was surprised by the treatment. James was awesome in making his customers feel comfortable. I had booked 2 rooms and both were standard rooms. I was under the impression that these rooms will have fridge and micro wave, but was not the case. When i told James about the same, he readily agreed to provide them in the room for no extra charge. Also he was suggesting us as to how to go about the places in Tahoe. His staff is also extremely customer satisfaction oriented. Above all, the location was just awesome. Very nice, and not to forget mentioning, the rooms were very neat and tidy. I would definetly re consider staying here whenever I plan to visit Tahoe.

Room Tip: Rooms in the other building, opposite to the main office are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

For the price that we shared the room for, we had 4 people on 2 queen beds, it was warm despite the snow outside, reasonably clean and tide, easy to find and was close to a beach area. The breakfast was terrific - bagels, fresh fruit...for the price we paid was definitely worth it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank windywendywei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your remarks and comments for our future guests. Our company wide mission is to provide our guests with clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations at the most competitive rates in our area. Thank you for staying with us and contact us in the future directly for our guaranteed lowest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent service. Front desk lady went beyond her call of duty to serve and help us. We left our fruits at the front desk when we went there in the morning to check something and by the time we went back to collect them they were gone. The front desk lady (whom I forgot to get her name, but she is about 1.75m-1.8m tall) went to get more fruits from the pantry for us. She even gave us free granola bars!

The best part was she very patiently explained to us which spots to check out if we want to take good pictures.

Breakfast was decent. Fruits, cereal, bread, milk.

Areas to improve:
No hair dryer in the room. We went to concierge to request one but the place was closed at 10pm and nobody answered the phone that was placed outside for us to contact the night shift person.
No in room microwave/fridge

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holyarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We appreciate the time you offered in leaving your comments online regarding our hotel. Terrific customer service is a common remark from our guests. We appreciate that you notice our effort.

We strive to provide clean, comfortable guest accommodations at the best rates in the area. One of the ways we are able to provide the most competitive rates is by not offering some ammenities and services that are associated with higher priced hotels. We have hair dryers, irons and boards, etc. available to our guests, but we did not offer them into the hotel rooms as you may find in more expensive hotels. Although we do have some upgraded deluxe rooms with micro-kitchens, we do not offer microwaves and refrigerators in our base standard rooms.

We made a decision to choose low room rates to our guests rather than offer shower caps, room food service, etc. and raise our room rates to compensate for the additional operating cost. We hope that you will understand and appreciate our decision.

Please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest price available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this hotel initially because it was one of the least expensive. We were looking for a cheap vacation to the snow with the kids. Nothing fancy, just cheap. For the price, we would not have been surprised if it was a pretty bad hotel. We were completetly stoked when we got there and saw our room! It was clean, very spacious, had a little kitchen area with a fridge, flat screen tv, even a little balcony. It was very comfortable. They have a little breakfast included in the price too. Only downside was there was no elevator and were on the third floor. Turned out, this was not an issue for us at all, but could be for some people. Overall very satisfied with the service, our room, and overall stay. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have mixed feelings regarding this property after our last trip. We have stayed here many times in the past (when the property was under another name) and have always had a good experience. This time, however, we were somewhat disappointed. The property is budget friendly and therefore "frill free". The rooms are basic, but clean. The location is awesome. It's a couple of blocks off the main highway and fairly quiet. It is walking distance to stores, casinos, skiing and the beach. They advertise free WiFi, but we had a hard time getting it to work. The following are reasons I dropped my review rating from "average" to "poor".

1. The sliding glass door was secured incorrectly with a bar so that a 1/8" gap at the top portion of the door (about 1 foot) allowed cold air into the room. Unfortunately, we did not realize the door had a gap until the 2nd day of our stay. When we brought it to the staff's attention, they apologized.........gee, thanks.
2. The socket in the bedside lamp was broken and hanging over the side of the lamp...slightly dangerous in my opinion.
3. No clock or alarm in the room......I guess they expect their guests to rely on their cell phones.

Room Tip: The south building across the street from the office tends to be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amomnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#38 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#39 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Address: 4107 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique and attractive Tahoe style inn is ideally located only two blocks to the shore of dazzling Lake Tahoe and private beach and marina facilities. Three blocks to famous Nevada Casinos like Harrah's, Harvey's, Mountbleu, Horizon and Lakeside Inn. Only four blocks to Heavenly Village and gondola, the most direct route to America's largest ski resort and a short 1/2 block to Edgewood Golf Course, rated #5 on the American PGA Tour and location of our annual Celebrity Golf Tournament. With everything Tahoe has to offer nearby including famous entertainment nightly and well known restaurants and buffets, you'll be tempted to have fun all day and then stay up late and enjoy the lively Nevada nightlife. Regardless of why you come to Lake Tahoe, AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN - CASINO CENTER LAKE TAHOE is your BEST CHOICE for convenience, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Tahoe West Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Tahoe West Motel
Best Tahoe West Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing