We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum bread” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Pine Bakery

Sugar Pine Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The cinnamon rolls are famous but the whole wheat bread was better. I wanted to try a pie but did not dare risk the calories!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seasick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Go for the cinnamon rolls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I should say... go EARLY for the cinnamon rolls. I love checking out local bakeries while on vacation and decided to go here after reading reviews on tripadvisor. We went during the week around 9:30-10, and I snagged literally the very last cinnamon roll of the day. Apparently they only bake so many and when they are gone, that's it. I was shocked, because it was empty when we were there, so I guess everyone knows to go early.
Each person in my family got to pick out one treat, and while they enjoyed what they got, no one really raved about it. Everything was good, but nothing to set them apart from other bakeries we've been to.

If I were to go back, I'd stick to just the cinnamon rolls. That's what I had and it was really good and unique. It's more in the shape of a muffin than a traditional cinnamon roll, with a flaky bottom and just the right amount of sweet frosting on top. Mmmmm. Pass on the rest, and beat the crowd for the cinnamon rolls.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by to check out this place and left with a pie and other goodies. All delicious. They bake a limited amount each day, so the earlier you come the better. I definitely recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Ladyz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We were renting a cottage for a week at Lake Tahoe and had friends from Reno come to visit for a barbecue on the deck. We wanted a perfect finish to a summer cookout, and found excellent pies at Sugar Pine Bakery. A bit pricy, but magnificent flaky crusts and loaded with fruit. We had Dutch Apple and Cherry and everything we could ask for in a pie. All the other menu items looked equally delicious. The bakery is slightly hard to find as it is tucked away in the far rear corner, behind a row of buildings. But the food is worth the search.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank casagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped here several times, everything we got was excellent! Loved the strawberry basil lemonade (made fresh to order), the apple tart, the scones, the chocolate chip cookie. Everything tasted amazingly fresh and good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cortney_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Bakery also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Sugar Pine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing