We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Kayaking at your own pace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Tahoe

Kayak Tahoe
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Kayaking at your own pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my fourth year renting from Kayak Tahoe. I have always rented a kayak and paddled on my own, rather than going with a group tour. Now that they have multiple rental locations, it's easy to paddle the south end of the lake at your pace, without having to reserve a kayak drop-off or pickup. I rented from the main shop, heading west one day towards Camp Richardson and east another day (depending on wind). One day, I rented from Nevada Beach and paddled towards Round Hill. Best trip is to rent from Baldwin Beach early in the am (9 or 9:30) and allow the rest of the day (until 4 pm) to paddle to Emerald Bay and beyond. Friendly staff, very knowledgeable of lake conditions (be sure to check before you head out!). They take credit cards except at the Nevada Beach location (cash only). If you happen to be in South Lake Tahoe during a full moon in the summer, be sure to take the "full moon" guided tour. I did that a few years ago, and it was awesome to watch the sun set, then the moon rise. All locations have parking, but there are daily fees to enter the state park locations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank CatyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is really fun for the whole family. I visited the Timber Cove location first..every one at Kayak Tahoe is super nice and makes you feel confortable with the whole experience. It's super easy for a beginner like myself. I had a double kayak with my 2 year old sitting in my lap. We had so much fun we did it again at the Emerald Bay location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxsulosxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca, usa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“prepare to shell out some money for some great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

fun is not cheap in tahoe especially if you are renting.
The jet ski's are great! But be ready to shell out $75 for half an hour or $100 for an hour plus $10 gas surcharge. Good thing is its a 2 person seater so you can share the cost. Or one person goes first for 30 minutes and then the other person do the next 30 mins.

Boats are $200++ Great for big groups.

next time, i'll rent a kayak. i forgot how much that costs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jangjangjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kayak rental, Nevada Beach, Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I rented a tandem kayak for 2 hours. We paddled north (counterclockwise) past Zephyr Cove, and further to see the cove where the paddle boat is moored. We paddled into the wind, and had it at our backs on the return. We found the young man running the rental to be friendly and helpful. 2 hours was just right for us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DrKeithEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe while kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had the best time kayaking in Lake Tahoe with Kayak Tahoe! Quick and easy instructions and safety tips before we started. We went to the Baldwin Beach location so we could go into Emerald Bay, which was about 45 minutes of kayaking one way. It might have been quicker if we headed out earlier and didn't have to deal with so many motor boats! We were planning on going back the next day because we loved it so much, but the person I went with forgot to put suntan lotion on his shins and got a wicked sunburn! Ouch!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank sbmathieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Tahoe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kayak Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing