We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“worth as per price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“worth as per price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

our stay at this hotel was satisfactory. helpful staff.
this hotel is near by to all scenic places and good restaurants. if you are not looking for luxurious motel and don't want to spend more money this is good motel to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    22
    7
    42
See reviews for
17
33
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The place was so visibly horrid and nauseating to smell when we arrived we immediately booked a room somewhere else and did not get a refund
Do not under any circumstances ever stay here unless your a crackhead

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pejorative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for a night an extra day before our wedding. Three parties in three rooms and it was a nightmare. Run by a couple and both not friendly. The guy was rude to a point. First thing he said after booking in was don't plug too much in because it'll blow the fuses! One heater and one phone later all the lights in two adjoining rooms went out.

Went to ask for it to be fixed and the guy actually complained like hell! He made a point of telling us if it happened again and it was after 10pm then don't bother going to reception because they wouldn't answer.

Next morning he was caught looking into my parents room window, literally peering in and when asked he said it was because he was looking to see if whether they'd left yet. Weirdo. And it was still an hour to checkout.

The rooms themselves were basic, dirty and cold and draughty.

Only thing missing was Norman Bates.

Stay at your peril.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have stayed here several times in the past, but not for the last two years, therefore was puzzled by the recent bad reviews, and because of a good coupon deal, decided to come back. Darned if I can see what all the fuss is about. First of all, folks, this is a budget motel, B-u-d-g-e-t, not a 4 or 5 star luxury resort with all amenities. Not fair to expect such and to make comparisons. Yes, the building is old and a bit run down, and perhaps the rooms may seem to be a bit tired, but that is the way budget motels are, accept it. Upon check in and all during the stay, the couple running the place were very friendly, helpful, and chatty. The room was clean, everything worked, the bed was okay, housekeeping was fine, and there was coffee in the office in the morning.

Two very small irritations, both about the bathroom, and they are really pretty minor. There was no drain stopper in the sink, but sticking a washcloth in the drain in order to be able to fill the sink easily solved that. Was not able to completely close the bathroom window because there were a pair of stops in the screen that prevented this. It did make for a rather chilly bathroom in the early AM cold, but these two things were not a big deal. If you want fancy, go right ahead and spend a hundred bucks a night someplace else, but for myself and many others, this and the other budget motels work just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToteBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels through out the United States and this is by far the worst ever! I guess first sign was parking lot was empty on labor day weekend in South Lake Tahoe. Upon opening the door had to push it open cause it gets stuck all the time, then lamps by bed did not have light switches would need pair of pliers to turn on. When door close there was crack in door that light would come in, not by door jam but right in the middle of door. towels were nasty looking and had holes in them. There was blood on the mattress, bed spread was stained just disgusting..no coffee pot,fridge not even clock, dont be in shower when toliet gets flushed you will get BURNED. Oh yea little safety factor NO SMOKE DETECTOR

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here unless you're really desperate!!! I am over 65, have traveled around the world, and after stay of one night, can safely say its the worst value ever received, most poorly maintained motel ever. Noisy. Missing numerous plumbing parts. Leaks. Light bulbs burned out. No coffee. No amenities of any sort. Dirty, empty pool. Just pathetic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We can say people were nice and did what we asked but rooms were gloomy but clean our problem was pain in our bodies as soon as we walked up the stairs I had so much pain I couldn't move.husband woke up with severe bad headache we would leave and we were back to normal and wetlands back and we felt in pain again I took an accidental pic and by bathroom there was a dark figure standing there and we took a pic together and there was a cat in our pic a ghost cat I still have the the pics in my phone ill post them for proof it was inflicting pain on us the whole time. We left at 4:30 am and it felt like it was pushing us off our motorcycle pain free

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank brunobrandy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#71 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#47 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
#52 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing