We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”
Review of Tahoe Hacienda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
santa cruz, ca
1 review
“Great Place!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We found the Hacienda to be comfortable and quaint. The room was paneled in all natural wood and was extremely cozy and romantic. The bathroom was large and the jacuzzi tub GIGANTIC!
The staff was very helpful and friendly. I WILL BE RETURNING!!
Note: Some of the negative reviews may be from people who stayed in the "regular" rooms. We didn't see those, as we asked specifically for a room with a jacuzzi tub. We looked at two jacuzzi rooms and they were both nice.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davec95062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    10
    7
    16
See reviews for
8
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband & I have been staying at the Hacienda Inn since 1998 for skiing. It's never been fancy, but the owners (a friendly family) kept it clean & welcoming for many years. We ski mid-week, so the owners used to give us a nice jacuzzi room for a moderate price...and they remembered us even though we only came up once a year (usually March-April).

So just this last week, when we decided to go skiing again, we called to make a reservation at Hacienda Inn again.... not knowing the ownership had changed! My husband called to make a reservation & found out that the price had gone up. He had found their website where they had advertised 10% discount, so we took advantage of that. When we arrived, we were greeted by unfamiliar faces... which gave me a bad feeling. A bitter looking man came out to the front desk to take care of us. When my husband mentioned that he had called to make a reservation the day before, the man said "i remember you, you 'grinded' me on the phone about 10% discount". Basically calling us cheap for using the 10% discount THEY advertise on THEIR website. Why would they advertise 10% discount if they are going to insult people for using it?? AND THEN, he glanced at me and said "I knew there was an Asian connection," implying that the Asians are cheap & I must have made my husband call to ask for the discount. He clearly does not know what customer service means.

We had reserved & paid for 2 nights here in their "best room with a fireplace & a jacuzzi" according to the insulting man at the front desk. Let me tell you, the room sucked. The jacuzzi didn't work well and the heaters made really loud noise. But above all, the owner's ignorant and insulting comments left a really bad taste in our mouth for the duration of our trip.

When we were checking out, my husband told the man that we used to come back every year for the past 10 years, but we are never going to come back because he insulted us.

So here it is. It's an old run down motel with old furniture & bad decor. Why would you want to stay here now with such horrible people managing the place? We wouldn't.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

sacramento
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Great if you are in South lake for a few nights and want a place to crash and soak in a jacuzzi tub. The Inn was very easy to find and fairly modern looking and well kept from the outside. It was right at the bottom of the Heavely Gondela and close to shops, restaraunts( IHOP, Cheveys, Cold Stone,etc),the lake is accross the street, Pichetti Winery with AMAZING wine and $5 tastings on the lake,major grocery chains, starbucks, and ALL state-line casinos. You can pretty much walk everywhere.
Our first impression of the room was, clean and wood cabin-esque meets 80's porn set on the interior. We had a nice big king sized bed with a wall size mirror behind it and RED carpet. In the bathroom was a separate vanity area, separate toilette room (with window), and wash area with shower stall and separate (BLUE) 4 person jacuzzi tub with blue tile, large windows and LARGE WALL SIZE mirrors surrounding it, as well as mirrors on the celling to top off the effect. The room came with cable, heat and air, also mircowave,coffee maker (no coffee or tea provided), fridge (no hair dryer or iron board visable), nice hot running water in the sinks and tub, nice big windows with screens and parking spaces right outside the room door(which was NICE). Our bed was a little too firm, but the front desk provided us extra blankets, towels and soaps anytime we requested it. There isnt a daily maid service, so you WILL need to ask for it, but the managers are more than happy to provide them to you. I had heard before from friends who stayed here that there was a strange aroma in the linens...and there was. Everything smelt like curry. Just to be prepared, we brought vanilla candles and disinfectant wipes which emiminated most of it, but it was still in the bedding. I would suggest bringing your own pillows and comforter/ sleeping bag if you stay here until they can figure out where the smell is coming from. It was all very clean, but I think the laundry room in too close to the Indian restaraunt behind us. The pool and spa were drained and under construction for the winter. But who cares, we had a spa in our room (with mirrors...haha).
For the money, the place was great (a little cheesey) but we made the most of it and was able to save money for other things like gaming at Montbleu, dinning and clubing. The jacuzzi tub was a bonus, even though it was a little older...it still ROCKED. We would stay here again, without a doubt!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank june504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We love the Hacienda! We did a last minute trip to Tahoe and just drove up to it, we had stayed there before and liked it. After the second visit, I can definately say I wouldn't stay anywhere else! If you are used to top notch hotels then you may be dissapointed, but if you want a clean room with your own spa then this is the place especially when it only cost us $60 for a Saturday night! The walls were wooden panels and we had a four poster bed. The also let us stay until about 3.30 the next day - we paid extra but it was worth it. My friends chose a cheaper room the last time which was very basic - so make sure you get the spa room. The heating works great - fantastic place! If you want a good locals bar, check out Steamers.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

From the outside this motel looks like any of the others that are in south tahoe and is in a good location. Inside the decor is hideous (silver foil wallpaper with bamboo details, bright orange tile shower, need I say more). The room we stayed in was dirty - cobwebs behind the doors, blinds looked they had never been dusted and serious mould in the shower! I would not recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — It was dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — Wait till this palce is refurbished and gets new cleaning staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gillybean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We just love this place! The hospitality can't be beat and the newly renovated rooms are very cozy. Our family has been staying there -exclusively- for many years during all of our S. Lake Tahoe vacations for good reason....it feels like a home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketoblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2006

lVery enjoyable and relaxing. We have been staying here for at least ten years. We have seen all the renovations that have taken place, including handicap rooms which we needed this year.My children are now bringing their children to stay here. Very accomadating for very large families to singles. Pool area and picnic and bar-b-que area are very well kept with tables and chairs for eating..Very friendly management. Pet Friendly!! Walking distance to casinos, restaurants and gift shops.Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Great Managment
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Go in the middle of the week. Location near casinos
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank benafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#49 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#71 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#48 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#56 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Hacienda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Hacienda Inn

Property: Tahoe Hacienda Inn
Address: 3820 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Hacienda Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tahoe Hacienda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Hacienda Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Hacienda Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing