We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No housekeeping here, be prepared to do your own!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No housekeeping here, be prepared to do your own!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and recently spent 5 days, 4 nights here over the Thanksgiving holidays. We stayed in a studio unit with partial kitchen (microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, sink, refrigerator) which was big enough for the two of us. The 25-inch flat screen TV isn't big enough to see from the bed or sofa and had poor volume. The fitness room for the facility had old/dated/broken equipment bordering on dangerous for the user. One nice feature was the private beach but we didn't spend much time there with the temperature being about 40F. The facility is about one-mile from the stateliness casinos so it was too far to walk in the evening with the temperature being about 25F. There in a Pizza Hut and Chevron gas station close by. We found each day that room housekeeping didn't happen. Finally on day 3, I called the front desk for fresh towels but we weren't going to go through the trouble of laundering our own sheets. Upon checkout when I mentioned that housekeeping never came into our room, the reply I received was "oh, you don't get any housekeeping unless you stay 7 days". I guess what you don't know (and what they don't tell you at check-in) isn't important enough to inform you about!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else closer to the stateline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorbobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services and Group Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your input about your stay here at Tahoe Beach & Ski Club. We are currently in the process of remodeling throughout our property. Please accept our apology on the miscommunication regarding housekeeping services.
Thank you,
Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    101
    24
    21
    8
See reviews for
148
147
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've stayed here every year for the last 10 years and would not trade this time for the world. Yes, were owners of a studio but are fortunate to almost always pay a little extra at check in for an upgrade--well worth it, but the studios are not bad and they are quite cozy, especially with the renovations that have been made. It's on the beach, close to the casinos, great area to walk, hike, run, ride, eat. We favor the cooler part of the year especially as the new snow is arriving. You can do a lot or nothing at all, but enjoy the area, nature, and fresh air. Staff are great, friendly and prompt. The cleaning staff make an extra effort to ensure the place is very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ric0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services/Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate the kind words about your home away from home. We are continuing on with our well received renovations beginning in January.

It is true that you can do as little as you want while you are. Being we are so close to everything, yet nicely tucked away from it all!

We pride ourselves with our friendly and helpful staff and appreciate your acknowledgement. See you next year!


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's been 14 years since my last stay here. After some major interior renovations, the buildings still look great. With one last building to go in the project, I must say the facility is still top notch and we highly recommend it for the family vacation.

We chose an October vacation this year since the wifey wanted to see fall colors. We were NOT disappointed. Trees are changing colors all-over the Tahoe basin. Summer and winter crowds are not a problem since we are here in the "off-season."

One two items worh mention. Our unit had a pair of defective burners on the electric range. The other item is the oven needs calibration. Should not take two hours to bake a baked potato! Then it's still raw inside.

Enjoy your stay in Tahoe here with the family or a significant other!

Room Tip: We prefer the Baldwin building. Third floor facing west. (Lake view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services and Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Welcome back! Thank you for pointing out how nicely our resort has improved. We appreciate you taking the time to write about it.

Fall in Tahoe is something to see, with the pops of the red and orange leaves from the Aspens against the dark green Jeffrey Pines. Let’s hope it’s not another 14 years before you visit us again!

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope that each time you visit us we will live up to or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Tahoe Beach and Ski Club sits on a beautiful private beach adjacent to the Ski Run marina (from where the Tahoe Queen paddle wheeler departs). The rooms are comfortable but the one bedroom townhouse units are quite small and dark with only a partial kitchen (no range or dishwasher). And although many of the buildings have been or are being updated, that was not the case with the Baldwin Building, the one closest to the lake (although we were told it was scheduled for Spring, 2014). The carpets and some of the appliances were old and tired and, wow, do the floors creak! We could hear every movement and footstep of the guests above us.

Our very late check-in was quick and the front deck was very pleasant when we came in the next morning to finish the paperwork. However, check-out was another story. My wife is disabled so it does take us longer to get things together. We were just loading up the luggage cart when we received a call from the front desk at 11:30am ordering us out of the room (check-out time was 11:30am). My wife explained that we were loading the cart and would be out in a few minutes, only to be told that we would be charged for another day if we didn't vacate immediately. My wife hobbled up to the front desk while I loaded the car, only to be hassled about our (10 minute) late check-out again, even thought there were NO housekeeping staff yet servicing the building and certainly no one waiting impatiently to service our room.

I understand that hotel properties must enforce check-out guidelines and have no problem with a call from the front desk to ensure we were on our way out. But, there's absolutely no excuse for threats or lack of courtesy. In all our years of travel (17 countries, close to 300 cities) this has NEVER happened before.

Oh, one more thing. . .the two story town house units have entry doors on the first and second floors. We discovered the day AFTER our mid-week service that the upstairs door had not been relocked, leaving our room unsecured for about 20 hours. Fortunately, I noticed the unlocked door the next morning and relocked it, but not before sleeping in an unlocked bedroom over night. (This is not the door one normally uses to exit and enter the town house and so we simply didn't think to check it again after our initial arrival.)

Room Tip: Reserve a deluxe unit if you want or need a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tahoe Beach & Ski Club for your visit to Lake Tahoe. Some of our Baldwin Townhouse suites are indeed scheduled for remodel beginning January 2014.

We pride ourselves on providing a safe, exceptional vacation for all our visitors. We are disappointed to hear that was not your experience. Please know we take our guest’s comments seriously and will follow up with each department accordingly.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your recent stay and possible future stays. Please contact the resort at 530-542-8116.

Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the third time that my wife and I have stayed at this condo complex and the first time that I've reviewed it. A few years ago we were given a weeks time share here and enjoyed it so much that we now come up every fall. The condos are a little dated, but very clean and well looked after. The staff is friendly, accommodating and willing to help at a moments notice. You have Lake Tahoe right outside your door and you are within walking distance of Heavenly Ski Resort and State Line, NV (1/4 mile) and all the casinos. This is a great little getaway, with a quiet and cozy atmosphere and incredible views of the lake, for both summer and winter relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services and Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Welcome back and thank you for your feedback! We really do appreciate hearing our guest’s comments regarding their experience at Tahoe Beach & Ski Club.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope that each time you visit us we will live up to or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This California condo was a pleasant surprise from what we had come to expect from ski condos. It was totally renovated, clean, roomy and cozy. The location was within walking distance to many restaurants and if you enjoy a longer 15 minute walk you can find yourself at the Nevada State line and casinos that have great restaurants, gaming, and entertainment. The staff was efficient and friendly. We were checked in quickly to our one bedroom two full bath unit. The layout of this particular unit was well equipped with just about everything you would need for a weeks get-a-way. However, if you really enjoy cooking while on vacation, our unit had no oven or cooktop. There was a full sized refrigerator, tons of cupboards, large microwave, toaster oven, full size sink, coffeemaker, which was all we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services and Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your visit to Tahoe Beach & Ski Club. We appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences at the resort. Our newly remodeled suites were designed with ease of use in mind including that home away from home feel!

You can be as adventurous as you like or relax in your comfortable suite with our locale being close to everything, yet nicely tucked away.

We strive to always provide professional, courteous service and are pleased to hear that was your experience. Thank you again for your input. We look forward to serving you during your next visit here at Tahoe Beach & Ski Club.


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 bedroom 3 full bath, ground floor room for a week. Parking is ample, and you can walk to the Marina, Tahoe Queen, shops, and restaurants right next door. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The property is well cared for. All the sliding doors were newer and we heard very little noise when closed. There were 4 chairs and two tables on patio. The bedrooms were large and well furnished, and the large walk in showers were obviously newly done, very nice travertine with two hooks for the shower nozzle, and a fold down seat. The living area was tight for 4 people, we brought in patio furniture to watch a movie (available for $3 at front desk), as the couch was not adequate for 4.
The kitchenette was adequate, but only comes with sink, microwave, toaster and full fridge. Therefore, if you wish to cook, there are BBQs on the property, or bring a hot plate. Perhaps the management might consider having some of those Nu-Wave hotplates available? Staying for a week, we didn't want to eat out every meal. The kitchen was supplied with dishware, glasses, one glass bowl, a colander, and a blender.
We did not use the pool or tennis courts, but the beach is lovely, they have nice lounge chairs, and each morning while walking I saw the staff cleaning and making sure the property was ready for the day. Nice job!

Room Tip: Our room was in the center courtyard. There are a few out on the beach and would probably have a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ETicketRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBandSC, Owner Services and Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your visit to Tahoe Beach & Ski Club. We appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences at the resort. You really made use of a lot of our many amenities and we thank you for pointing them out!

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope that each time you visit us we will live up to or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Beach and Ski Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Property: Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Address: 3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tahoe Beach and Ski Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Beach and Ski Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Beach And Ski Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Beach And Ski Hotel
Lake Tahoe Beach Ski Club
Tahoe Beach And Ski Resort
Tahoe Beach Ski Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing