We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights in July while hiking in the environment. The rooms were very spacious - a little old but still everything was in place and working fine. Friendly staff. Big parking very close to the room. There is no elevator so we took a room on the first floor that was very convinient . The breakfast was OK and they even have a small swimming pool for the kids. The price was very reasonable for what we got. RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor when you make the reservation (under special request) since they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_4X4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 550 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to attend a family wedding at Lakeview Lodge in South Lake Tahoe. We couldn't have found a closer location! Some other family members stayed here as well. There was easy walking to a variety of eating locations and a CVS right next door. It was a 20 minute walk to the casinos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lovinlodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Howard Johnson Express in So. Lake Tahoe is a wonderful place to stay. We had everything we wanted. The rest of my family camped locally, but due to health concerns I spent the nights at Howard Johnson's Express. I had everything I needed and I was so comfortable! Beds are comfortable! Ice Machine available, washer dryer available, swimming pool available and coffee in the morning. room was very clean and made up nicely everyday. Want breakfast? Order room service or walk across the parking lot to Heidie's. Room Service was very reasonable. I could go on...but I'm sure you get the point. Manager and staff were warm, gracious and efficient and the
Room rates were very reasonable, too. Thanks Howard Johnson!
Warm regards, Kathy Carbone

Room Tip: Know your limits. If you cannot do stairs, request a ground floor room right from the start and call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Juli V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room was clean.The view from my room was fantastic! Got to look at the Lake whenever I was in there. Breakfast was good, but basic. I was there for three nights. This hotel is VERY outdated in its decor, the pool was non-functioning for the three days I was there (two of those days were >100 degrees F). AC worked great! Luckily the lake is within spitting distance. Walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops, and of course the Lake. I was in town for a wedding, and because of all the wedding activities, I was only in my room to sleep and change clothes etc, so overall, the price I paid and what I got in return was proportionate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AH-OTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had to pay $100 more than the room was promised to me. The free breakfast was toast with peanut butter that had hair in it...heated pool was not heated...towel rack was coming off of the wall...never again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#53 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $53 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing