We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Budget Hotel with very helpful manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Long Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Budget Hotel with very helpful manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a basic budget hotel with clean rooms that stands out for one thing - the managers are very friendly and extremely helpful - willing to help you with anything you need. Internet service was very convenient. Discounts to local eateries. Great partial view of the beach from one side of the hotel. Parking was a little tight, but we never had a problem. Location is convenient - short walk to everything, including a nice beach overlook spot with a bench to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    107
    56
    51
See reviews for
146
116
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Old property in desperate need of renovation. Walls, windows & doors offer no sound barriers at all. We were on 2nd floor, end room, facing front, parking and pool. We were with our 11 yr old twins, their first trip to Tahoe for our friend's wedding. A joyous occasion for all.
1st night we had teenagers next door partying, yelling to their buddies off the balcony shared by all on our row of rooms, doing beer bongs and smoking cigs & pot that could be smelled in our room. Going at it till 2 am when we finally had enough & called mgr. I couldn't believe she wasn't already aware of the racket. She tried to get them to stop, had to call cops. They settled down only until cops left. We all got about 3hrs of sleep.
To the mgrs credit she asked them leave the next day after she validated that the kids lied to her when they said they talked to us and promised they wouldn't repeat that night. It was ridiculous. Plus, the manager apparently refunded their money as she asked them leave. (What about offering to do something for those of us that suffered?).
2nd night she replaced the rowdy teenagers with what might have been a very nice family. Unfortunately, soon after getting back to their room from watching fireworks, their baby cried non-stop until well after midnight. We didn't complain, obviously not the baby's fault. And the parents apparently had no idea how thin the walls/doors were....They would walk outside on the balcony, we assumed to help out the people in the room with them, but it made it even worse for us as they were right in front of our door and the sound funneled straight in our room. When they would go inside, we could clearly hear through the walls, and the adjoining doors were even worse, as the sound traveled through them more clearly.
The manager, Chuan, (possibly the owner?) was very nice, however, we will NEVER go back there. It was a good price for the location to the event, the lake, casinos and shopping. However, not worth the aggravation and sleep deprivation, plus the exposure to cigarette and pot smoke. Had she at least offered to do something to make up for their terribly run down property, it would have left less of a bad taste and we may have considered it in the future, more likely if they renovate/update. At this point. I have no desire to set foot in any HoJo property. I'll stick to Holiday Inn, La Quinta, Marriott, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff very accommodating, glad to make your stay welcoming. Location is the name of the game here, CVS and Pizza Hut close enough to share parking lots. Couldn't be nicer and more central in south tahoe. We spent 3 days there.

Showers were a bit low but the greatest pressure I've ever had in a motel, bar none. Needs an update but when your in Tahoe who spends time in their room?

If you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth try the Ritz Carlton, if you want GREAT value in a great venue try HoJo in South Lake Tahoe they are the best.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room before you buy, we did and they were happy to do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darbnosnhoj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Check in was at 2:00 pm and we got here at 3:30. The house keepers were literally just getting started on our room as we were unloading our bags from the car. The room looks nothing like the pictures. The shower faucet is so low my 5'4 girl friend has to bend over to rinse off. If your near 6ft this shower is not made for you. It's almost laughable how impractical the shower is.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgreen714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#52 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Property: Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing