We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay horrible...was better during previous visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recent stay horrible...was better during previous visits”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The positive.
1. The staff/manager is quite friendly and the check in smooth.
2. Location is great, can walk to the beach, close to food, grocery stores and the casinos.
3. Room was clean to a point. Will get to that on the negative side of my review.

The negative.
1. There's a $1.50 charge if you use the in room safe. Was advised during check in that I would not be charged unless I use it. When I checked my credit card statement, I was indeed charged the $1.50. Not a big deal and not a lot of money, but just odd. Guess it's just extra income for the owners.
2. Very thin walls. Heard people going to their room at 12am, baby crying, doors slamming. There also is some construction going on Hwy 50 and starts quite early as one other reviewer noted. You can hear everything!
3. Cleaniness. The room was clean upon going in. Bathrooms clean. That was until we noticed an odor by the beds. Upon searching, found an 3/4 empy beer can that began to rot. By the time I found it and threw it out, kids were ready for bed. Would have been a hassle to complain by that time.

Overall, I've stayed here more than a few times in the past and decided to stay again this time based on my previous stays. If you're staying for one night, are young, no kids, then not a bad place to stay. Those with families, might find it a bit difficult.

Room Tip: If you do stay, try and get the upstairs or corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    121
    125
    85
    110
See reviews for
205
152
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FELTON
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location for access to Lake Tahoe fun. The blacktop road work outside is almost finished...this will take care of the noise and slight odor problems we noticed.
The pool (closed) looked like a good one when in season. The staff opened up the hot tub cover for us in the late afternoon so we could enjoy a soak and the setting sun after our 1/2 day boat trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this particular motel. It is clean and comfortable as well as situated near many things--casinos to groceries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MarciaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Service by employees/owners excellent, very friendly and outgoing. Room very clean. TV should be upgraded.
Wash cloths should be of better quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First room given us was not ready for occupants, 2nd room was not great. Limited amount of electric outlets. WiFi not working. Water went out while we were trying to get ready for a wedding. Weren't told that they had a water repair going to take place. Rooms do not look at all like the picture. Very drab and dirty feeling. Not what I was expecting from a Howard Johnsons

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katvegas1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After traveling for 2 weeks, the Howard Johnson Express in S Lake Tahoe was our next to the last stop for our trip. Having never been to Tahoe before, didn't know what to expect. The manager, Chuan, was fabulous. She took the time to answer our many questions and also gave us great ideas for our time there. After first giving us one room, I asked if there were any with a "lake view" and she gladly switched rooms for us (of course, we were there during the off season - don't expect this kind of service in season). Even though the room decor is right out of the 80's, it was clean, large and the bed was comfy and we did get our view! There is a safe in the room, which is nice if you worry about keeping valuables in your room while you're out, but if you don't use it remember to ask to have the safe charge removed from your bill (all Wyndham properties do this). Also had a microfridge and coffee maker in room. I did have breakfast each morning we were there, and was pretty standard "continental" fare - coffee, milk, juice, toast, muffin, bagel, cereal. If you are looking for more, there is a pancake house right in front of the hotel. As for the roadwork (which the hotel had no control over), understand they have to do it during the time period between summer season and winter snow season. There was no problem getting into hotel, just had to go to stop light (makes sense to me) and turn into parking area in front of pancake house to access hotel (how hard was that?) Sounds as if Cindy W was a little cranky and needed to pick on something. As for staying at another Wyndham property, guess what? They were all right there (Super 8 and Days Inn) with the same road construction.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a room in the "newer" section. You could possibly end up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aromas, California
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The motel is convenient to dinning, enterainment and recreation - and they welcome dogs. The managers were great to recommend places to eat and provided a 20% discount coupon. The mattress was poor!- broken down at the edges. Replace that and you have a winner.

Room Tip: Check the bed first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#76 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Property: Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing