We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very happy,will definitely be staying here when we visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
“very happy,will definitely be staying here when we visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

this trip was spur of the moment, was gunna be a day trip but we couldn't fit everything we wanted to do into just one day. so we searched for an hour or so,hoping to find something in our very small price range. all i can say is that the young lady who helped us made us feel right at home, she found us a room within our budget and offered us lots of coupons and discounts to all the shops and restaurants in the area. she was so friendly and accommodating,and we were even happier when we saw how nice our room was. very cute and clean,we even had a view of the lake. its very comforting to know you can find such nice people and places without having internet access or any plans at all. we will be coming back for sure and i would recommend this place to anyone who wants a great location and atmosphere =)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashnmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    118
    116
    70
    88
See reviews for
184
137
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great value motel which was in a good location, with clean and comfortable rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful and Lake Tahoe is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sw_toluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed here after reserving rooms for a team. In one room, the heater did not work. In another room, the electric card lock did not work. They attempted to double charge me. The manager was difficult to understand and seemed to have trouble understanding me. He also attempted to charge me for rooms I did not confirm for reservation. Avoid this place at all costs. The Best Western nearby is slightly more expensive, but much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonoraSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Northern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

The room was super clean, the bed was comfy and the managers are super friendly. Nice little continental breakfast included. The price was certainly right for this stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaNPaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

I was here right after Christmas and it was quite surprising. The room was a bit small as the king bed took up most of the room. The little table and chairs came in handy and love the little closet. I was able to utilize the table and chairs for a few good nights of monopoly. The bathroom was very tiny, but if you have been to Japan, this is typical or luxurious by many standards.
The staff here was real sweet and took care of us whenever we had questions or needed assistance with anything. Loved the free parking, the ability to have dogs with a small nominal fee which is nothing compared to other establishments. The shuttle bus to the ski resorts was right outside. The breakfast was continental but pretty extensive. It was always fresh and plenty as long as you didn't wait till the last minute to come and get food!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulahipsster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights, 7 days staying at Howard Johnsons and we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, hotel staff was exceptional, Value for our money was excellent and price included Continental Breakfast each morning which was great to grab a coffee and breakfast before heading out for the day to see what Lake Tahoe had to offer. This hotel is centrally located near everything. A CVS and Hedi's Restaurant are steps away. So if you needed anything it was not far from our hotel room. Safeway Grocery Store is also right up the street and within walking distance. Blue and Go Free Shuttle was available on a daily basis at our hotel if we felt like taking the shuttle a mile and a half away to shop or enjoy heavenly ski area or the four casinos in the area.

Our hotel was a 5 minute walk to beautiful Lake Tahoe and a pier and beach area where we could sight see and a wonderful Blue Bistro Restaurant to eat at and enjoy the scenic views of Lake Tahoe. Our host of the hotel was exceptional and had told us all about this area when we first arrived. Everyday she answered all our many questions and gave us ideas of where to sightsee and eat out. She even gave us discount coupons to the areas favorite restaurants and further saved us money. All her reccomendations were correct and we enjoyed eating breakfast and chatting each morning with her. She went far and beyond to help us in any way she could. I would highly reccomend this hotel. Our room was always spotless and the cleaning personel left lots of soaps, shampoos, conditoners and toothpastes for our use. They definitely came in handy with our wks stay at Howard Johnsons.

We happened to be visitng during the 5 day 5 feet snowstorms and each and every morning our host was working very hard to clear the snow for all its guests. I admire the hardwork our host puts into each and every day for its guests. There was nothing I could find we did not like about our stay. We also utilized the washer and dryer a lot during our visit and always got a kind word from our host when we stopped in to get quarters or just to say hello. We felt right at home during our stay and I would recommend this hotel to any traveler looking for a nice hotel at an exceptional price with a very hard working host. This hotel was central to everything in the area. Great location and great price with an outstanding host. We will definitely return here again and again while visiting our son in South Lake Tahoe.

Thank you for an exceptional experience in Tahoe Howard Johnsons we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy40957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, Manager at Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for your great detailed review!
We take customer service very seriously and are glad to see that you were well taken care of. As a family business that has recently taken over the management of this property, we are always working hard to share our knowledge and love of Tahoe with guests while providing them with a convenient and clean place to stay.
We have a renovation of the property and rooms in store for us in the coming year and hope that you can join us again soon and enjoy the lovely changes that will be made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My partner and I loved this hotel!
As we were only stopping off for one night in South Lake Tahoe we chose Howard Johnson as we've had good experiences with them before.
This particular experience was no less wonderful! Check in was quick and easy, and the room was ideal for a one night stop.
Clean and roomy, it had a very comfortable bed and everything you needed thoughtfully provided in the bathroom.
It was a little chilly outside, so the heating was a welcome addition.
We were provided with a 20% off voucher to have breakfast at Heidi's diner just adjacent the hotel, the food there is excellent although a little overpriced.
The best thing about this hotel is the free WIFI internet, we'd been without for a few days, and it gave us the perfect opportunity to get all our web work done in a very comfortable setting!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, Management Representative at Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for your great review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Howard Johnson in South Lake Tahoe and all the amenities that we provide our guests.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Property: Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing