We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stardust Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Becket(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradice Motel(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Avalon Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveler rating
963
180
50
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
180
50
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy beddonutsheavenly gondolakenny suttonthe resort managerdaily activitiesactivity centerfree popcornhard boiled eggsdirectly across the streetpools and hot tubsactivity roombike rentalsyear roundfun activitieswithin walking distanceour home away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I booked this hotel last minute because I found a great deal at $75/night and it was close to the casinos. Upon entering, there were families playing ping pong, people doing aerobics in the pool and eating and chatting at tables in the shade. The office staff was super friendly and helpful. They offer so many activities, so it would be great for children. In fact, I was a little bummed myself that I missed the tie-dye activity earlier that morning! The room was fine...nothing to boast about, but it's Tahoe, so there wasn't much time spent in there anyway. What was nice was the double shower...perfect for getting the smell of smoke off after a night in the casino. Also, you can borrow bikes for free from the hotel if you'd like to see Tahoe by bike. Would have loved to, but time didn't permit. Overall, very welcoming place in a great location to walk to the casinos/shopping/lake and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insearchofamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Actually just checked in today but we were so happy, decided I had to get on and write a review. I'd read the other reviews for this motel and was hesitant to book here. But the location was good and the price was right and it was available when we needed to be here. From the outside the motel looks so much better than it does in the pictures. The office is pretty small but was very welcoming. They have popcorn and donuts and various drinks available when you check in. The desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. We got a room on the end (room 111) that had more windows than the inside rooms. The room appears to have been recently remodeled. It is very nice! The kitchen has a granite counter, small but adequate. There is a stove with oven and dishwasher. The bathroom is attractive, tub has jets, walls are stone. There is a large flat screen TV and the office has a large selection of DVD's. The bed is very comfortable. We are very happy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was our (hubby and I) 6th trip to South Lake Tahoe. We like to stay at the "local" places because to us, that is part of the Tahoe charm. The Stardust Lodge is a timeshare facility and they have rooms that they rent out as hotel rooms. The service was great - I was able to haggle a little on the price and they honored my reservation for a remodeled room at the rear of the property.

The continental breakfast, while humble, was sufficient (and FREE, so who can really complain?): Coffee, Milk, Juice, donuts, bananas, oranges and boiled eggs. Everything was fresh (and what is it about donuts in California - they are just the best!). The front desk staff was great! There is coffee, hot chocolate, fresh popcorn, leftover donuts from breakfast, and a decent selection of DVD's available in the lobby.

Our room was beautiful! Laminate wood floors, granite counters in the bath and kitchenette and stainless steel fridge, dishwasher and microwave (if you want a hot-plate for cooking, they are available at the front desk). It had a flat screen TV and a DVD player. There was a table and two chairs for eating, a couch, and a Murphy bed (when the bed folds down, the couch collapses). Our room was a bit on the small side, but with the amenities, that was a non-issue for us. I wish there would have been a larger closet, but the many drawers allowed ample storage for clothing. Also, it would have been nice to get instructions for the Murphy bed. The first night there, I had no support under the corner at the foot of the bed and I slept lopsided. The next day, I realized that the handle used to pull the bed from the wall was also supposed to support the foot of the bed. Once I realized that, the bed was perfectly comfortable for the rest of our stay.

We plan to stay at the Startdust again on future visits. The location cannot be beat. It is right on the South Lake Tahoe strip and is across the streat from the Gondola, shops, dining and movie theaters. All of the rooms are set back from the street quite a bit. Ours was at the rear of the property and we didn't hear any traffic noice. It's about 1.5 blocks from the casinos and three blocks from the lake.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank wiscariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We found the Stardust through a deal on Travelzoo last fall. We were already thinking of a ski vacation in February and decided to do some quick research on the place. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and found more PROs than CONs. So for the price ($500 for a 1-bedroom unit for a week in high ski season), we figured we'd go for it. Kept our expectations modest, based on the reviews, and were happily rewarded by a satisfying stay.

First of all, let me say that we are avid skiers who like to explore different mountains when on vacation. We are more sports-minded and practical vs. luxury seekers. (Well, we hope to be that someday, but not just yet...) Our thrills come from skiing all day and spending the evening relaxing and reviewing the day's favorite runs. So if you have the same mindset, this place may be good for you. This review is for our winter stay at the Stardust.

Best things about the place:

1. Location, location, location! No need for a rental car, we walked everywhere. 2 minute walk to Heavenly Village and the Gondola (cross the street and you're there). 10 minute walk to the casinos.10 minute walk to restaurants and supermarket. 10 minute walk to the Transit Center to catch the bus to Kirkwood, and other ski areas. Can't stress enough that this is what made us so happy. When your legs are screaming after a great ski day, it's nice to NOT have to worry about any sort of "commute" from the ski slopes to your hotel.
2. Staff was very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Just good folks.
3. You can purchase discounted lift tix at the Stardust for Heavenly, Kirkwood, and Sierra at Tahoe - a few bucks off, and you don't have to stand in line when you get to the ski areas.
3. Though the room was 70's in decor, it was CLEAN. Fresh towels and sheets, a big fridge, and a mini-kitchen equipped with microwave, coffee maker, and toaster.
Our unit had 2 brand new, flat-screen TVs (not HD) but with good cable selection and reception. Good size and space overall (we had the 1 bedroom unit), and we were glad to call it home at the end of the day.
4. Free laundry room, internet, breakfast (good donuts!). There was also a hot tub and heated pool - you just have to ask and they will open it up.

I would recommend this place to skiers looking for a clean, friendly place to stay. Not luxe, but comfy. What we saved on lodging, we used to pay for lift tix, and eat meals at some of the good restaurants in the area. Wanted to stretch the value of our vacation dollars - and very happy that the Stardust helped us do just that. If we come back to Lake Tahoe for skiing, we would stay here again.

Skiers will find it super-convenient to walk to the Heavenly Gondola. Or, you can go by bus and explore other ski areas. You can take Ryan's Express bus service to Kirkwood ($65 roundtrip with lift tix); or reserve seats on other buses to Squaw (free) or to Sierra at Tahoe (also free). Variety is the spice of skiing life at Lake Tahoe!

Also recommend these restaurants in the area: The Driftwood Cafe, Womack's BBQ, The Stateline Brewery, and The Riva Grill. The Casinos all offer huge buffets, too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AEZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

What a great little place to stay. I used an RCI swap to get a room at the Stardust and it couldn't have been better. Ms. McCarthy was a real sweetheart at breakfast, and Jose in the main office was very accommodating and knowledgable.

This place is ideally located in South Lake Tahoe. It was clean, within walking distance of everything we needed, and had a great hot tub! Everything a skier could ask for.

In the words of Arnold, "I'll be back"!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Skihuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews