We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The cleanest and most friendly place with service above all others” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The cleanest and most friendly place with service above all others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Greetings: I have been a member of the Stardust Vacation Resort/Lodge since 1989. I purchased the timeshare when it was still under remodeling construction and they were selling deeds to the Stardust Lodge. We, as a family, have being vacationing at the Stardust for over 25 years. I would like to state the management of the lodge continues to improve the facilities. They provide barbecues, music, a continental breakfast every morning that far exceeds any other place we have stayed. The staff starting with Kenny Sutton, the General Manager, Sydney, Jose, Fernando, Maria, Yazmin, Christina, Arnulfo Jr., Emely, Dolores, Victor, Karla, Martha, Josephina, Rusano, Coti, Maribel, Norma, Lola, Laura, Victoria, Arnulfo Sr., Gabriel, Luis, Emidio, Fernando Sr., Erin, Troy, Maria, and Yolanda, are some of the nicest people to have around you while vacationing. The front counter staff, to the breakfast staff, to the hard working housekeepers, and the service repair staff continually are there to make your vacation or visit a great one that is carefree. We can make reservations without issue, and when you arrive and it does not matter what time, you are always welcomed. The very last visit we had we were late and it was after closing. We used the service telephone and our instructions were easy to follow and the room information was in the electronic combination box safe that sits by the main entrance to the lodge. Many locations when you chose to stay for a week do not come in and clean your room, or provide you with new clean towels. The Stardust staff will come to your room daily, clean the room, and give you nice new fluffy towels. Nothing in the Stardust is old or broken down. Even the bicycles you can use are in great shape. The gym is well cared for and when you enter there isn't that musky gym smell. On the roof of the clubhouse are barbecue gas grills. All you do is go to the clubhouse kitchen and someone there will hand you the barbecue cooking equipment to use. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators large enough to store ice cream, vegetables, meats, drinks, and the like. Stoves, ovens, and auto dishwashers are part of the kitchen aids. Coffee, tea, and a coffee pot are also part of the service of items you can find in the kitchen. Even great cooking equipment such as pots, pans, Pyrex, and other containers are clean and waiting for you. Knives, forks, spoons, and other utensils are ready in drawers to use. Even the soap for dish washing and the auto dishwasher are provided. Fireplaces, dual headed showers, tile baths and shower stalls are standard. The floors are often tile, carpet, and are kept extremely clean. The beds are always comfortable. Plenty of pillows, bedding, and clean sheets are in your room and clean bedding is accomplished by housekeeping daily. There are two swimming pools, two hot tubs, and free laundry (washers an dryers) that can be used without cost. Cable Flat Screen Televisions are in all rooms even if you have a two bedroom. You can watch TV in bed if you wish. The Stardust is a very short distance to the beach and many activities are discounted when you arrive at the front counter. The Tahoe Queen and the M.S. Dixie, which are cruises over Lake Tahoe have buses that will pick you up directly in front of the Stardust which can be arranged at the front desk at a discount. There is plenty of parking at the Stardust so you do not need to worry about your car being damaged or having to walk a distance to get to the hotel and/or your room. Finally, we have traveled all over during our years we have been timeshare members at the Stardust and our family members always conclude the Stardust is the best resort we have used for vacations. We spend two weeks minimum a year at the Stardust. Also, there is bonus time for members and the fees are minimal compared to other resorts and hotels. Finally, I cannot commend the staff for making our visits so much fun and pleasurable. I strongly recommend the Stardust to anyone that wants to visit the Tahoe basin, gamble, and walk through the many stores which are close by. You will love the Stardust and all of the employees there. Make your reservations ahead of time as it quickly becomes booked up. However, the reservation staff will work with you to get you there when you plan. Joseph P. Puccio Member Since 1989 and still loving it.

Room Tip: Ask for the James Bond Room. It is absolutely wonderful. The penthouse is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephpuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    144
    43
    12
    14
See reviews for
316
295
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been coming up to Lake Tahoe for the past several years and always enjoy staying at the Stardust Lodge. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Kenny the Manager and Jose at the front desk are both great very professional and Customer Focused. I recommend the Stardust to anyone staying in South Lake Tahoe as it very convenient to everything.

Lionel G

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff at Stardust were excellent. However, the room was very tiny, crowded with non essential furniture if just staying for one night. There is no air conditioning and the room was very hot all night. A fan was provided which helped but at the price of $169 one couldn't get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We do a lot of traveling and I have never met such nice, warm and welcoming people as I did at the Stardust Lodge. Kenny is the best! It is clear he cares about all the people staying at Stardust. We are so glad he is back. There is always something to do. One night we danced on site and did Kareoke, another night we played Bingo, we love to swim and take a jacuzzi, it is just the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in the car 9 hours to get here so arrived tired and ready for our room. Kenny checked us in faster than I could believe. All the staff are very friendly and lots to do in the area. Free bike rentals, a great continental breakfast in the morning, 2 pools and hot tubs. We were in one of the renovated studios which we found very comfortable. Had a murphy bed which was comfortable. Full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, toaster, all dishes and silverware you'd need. And a dishwasher. We stayed during a heat wave and the units do not have AC so it was very uncomfortable during the night even with the fans going. .Also, no management on the property at night leading to several loud parties in the parking lot running until early morning. Couldn't sleep even with ear plugs in. Even so, I would probably stay again

Room Tip: Maybe in the back units?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night at this "lodge." I write "lodge" 'cause this is really just an older two-story motel that has been spruced up and apparently converted to condos. The management company has done the best they can with the property and activities (free DVD loans, bikes for checkout, exercise area, popcorn, etc.). However, it is still just an old hotel - one without air conditioning, I might add (that may have been noted on the Lodge's website, but if so I missed it.) Our unit had a king-size Murphy bed, small kitchenette, and bath with shower. The shower tile could have used a thorough cleaning. There were lots of fans but no way to talk get any cross-ventilation (windows and door were all on one side). Very hot and stuffy all night. Of course not a big deal if you stay during the ski season (which I'm sure is the bulk of their business.) Might consider staying there again if the temps were lower. Great location if you want to be near the Heavenly ski lift. I can't emphasize enough how helpful and friendly the staff were (I'd probably rate it lower if not for them), they just don't have a lot to work with.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCT0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just came back from a 4th of July stay in Tahoe. After driving into town last minute and trying to find a place, I came across the Stardust, Erinn at the front desk was awesome and very accommodating! The location is perfect, close to casinos, walking distance to Lakeside Marina and Beach! She even gave us a beach pass so we didn't have to pay. Beach towels, the works! The room was a Studio and it is Beautiful! Has all the amenities you could need, modern design, great stone designed double shower heads, fridge, everything! It was very comfortable, just a little warm inside, only a ceiling fan and floor ac unit but we made due. It was a hot weekend! All in all, I think this hotel is great with great service! Free popcorn in lobby, free breakfast, fun little pool and BBQ facilities on site! I'm definitely staying here again! Thanks Erinn for all your help!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARMENSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing