We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleanest and most friendly place with service above all others”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Greetings: I have been a member of the Stardust Vacation Resort/Lodge since 1989. I purchased the timeshare when it was still under remodeling construction and they were selling deeds to the Stardust Lodge. We, as a family, have being vacationing at the Stardust for over 25 years. I would like to state the management of the lodge continues to improve the facilities. They provide barbecues, music, a continental breakfast every morning that far exceeds any other place we have stayed. The staff starting with Kenny Sutton, the General Manager, Sydney, Jose, Fernando, Maria, Yazmin, Christina, Arnulfo Jr., Emely, Dolores, Victor, Karla, Martha, Josephina, Rusano, Coti, Maribel, Norma, Lola, Laura, Victoria, Arnulfo Sr., Gabriel, Luis, Emidio, Fernando Sr., Erin, Troy, Maria, and Yolanda, are some of the nicest people to have around you while vacationing. The front counter staff, to the breakfast staff, to the hard working housekeepers, and the service repair staff continually are there to make your vacation or visit a great one that is carefree. We can make reservations without issue, and when you arrive and it does not matter what time, you are always welcomed. The very last visit we had we were late and it was after closing. We used the service telephone and our instructions were easy to follow and the room information was in the electronic combination box safe that sits by the main entrance to the lodge. Many locations when you chose to stay for a week do not come in and clean your room, or provide you with new clean towels. The Stardust staff will come to your room daily, clean the room, and give you nice new fluffy towels. Nothing in the Stardust is old or broken down. Even the bicycles you can use are in great shape. The gym is well cared for and when you enter there isn't that musky gym smell. On the roof of the clubhouse are barbecue gas grills. All you do is go to the clubhouse kitchen and someone there will hand you the barbecue cooking equipment to use. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators large enough to store ice cream, vegetables, meats, drinks, and the like. Stoves, ovens, and auto dishwashers are part of the kitchen aids. Coffee, tea, and a coffee pot are also part of the service of items you can find in the kitchen. Even great cooking equipment such as pots, pans, Pyrex, and other containers are clean and waiting for you. Knives, forks, spoons, and other utensils are ready in drawers to use. Even the soap for dish washing and the auto dishwasher are provided. Fireplaces, dual headed showers, tile baths and shower stalls are standard. The floors are often tile, carpet, and are kept extremely clean. The beds are always comfortable. Plenty of pillows, bedding, and clean sheets are in your room and clean bedding is accomplished by housekeeping daily. There are two swimming pools, two hot tubs, and free laundry (washers an dryers) that can be used without cost. Cable Flat Screen Televisions are in all rooms even if you have a two bedroom. You can watch TV in bed if you wish. The Stardust is a very short distance to the beach and many activities are discounted when you arrive at the front counter. The Tahoe Queen and the M.S. Dixie, which are cruises over Lake Tahoe have buses that will pick you up directly in front of the Stardust which can be arranged at the front desk at a discount. There is plenty of parking at the Stardust so you do not need to worry about your car being damaged or having to walk a distance to get to the hotel and/or your room. Finally, we have traveled all over during our years we have been timeshare members at the Stardust and our family members always conclude the Stardust is the best resort we have used for vacations. We spend two weeks minimum a year at the Stardust. Also, there is bonus time for members and the fees are minimal compared to other resorts and hotels. Finally, I cannot commend the staff for making our visits so much fun and pleasurable. I strongly recommend the Stardust to anyone that wants to visit the Tahoe basin, gamble, and walk through the many stores which are close by. You will love the Stardust and all of the employees there. Make your reservations ahead of time as it quickly becomes booked up. However, the reservation staff will work with you to get you there when you plan. Joseph P. Puccio Member Since 1989 and still loving it.

Room Tip: Ask for the James Bond Room. It is absolutely wonderful. The penthouse is amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephpuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
There are newer reviews for Stardust Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been coming up to Lake Tahoe for the past several years and always enjoy staying at the Stardust Lodge. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Kenny the Manager and Jose at the front desk are both great very professional and Customer Focused. I recommend the Stardust to anyone staying in South Lake Tahoe as it very convenient to everything.

Lionel G

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff at Stardust were excellent. However, the room was very tiny, crowded with non essential furniture if just staying for one night. There is no air conditioning and the room was very hot all night. A fan was provided which helped but at the price of $169 one couldn't get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bonni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We do a lot of traveling and I have never met such nice, warm and welcoming people as I did at the Stardust Lodge. Kenny is the best! It is clear he cares about all the people staying at Stardust. We are so glad he is back. There is always something to do. One night we danced on site and did Kareoke, another night we played Bingo, we love to swim and take a jacuzzi, it is just the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in the car 9 hours to get here so arrived tired and ready for our room. Kenny checked us in faster than I could believe. All the staff are very friendly and lots to do in the area. Free bike rentals, a great continental breakfast in the morning, 2 pools and hot tubs. We were in one of the renovated studios which we found very comfortable. Had a murphy bed which was comfortable. Full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, toaster, all dishes and silverware you'd need. And a dishwasher. We stayed during a heat wave and the units do not have AC so it was very uncomfortable during the night even with the fans going. .Also, no management on the property at night leading to several loud parties in the parking lot running until early morning. Couldn't sleep even with ear plugs in. Even so, I would probably stay again

Room Tip: Maybe in the back units?
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night at this "lodge." I write "lodge" 'cause this is really just an older two-story motel that has been spruced up and apparently converted to condos. The management company has done the best they can with the property and activities (free DVD loans, bikes for checkout, exercise area, popcorn, etc.). However, it is still just an old hotel - one without air conditioning, I might add (that may have been noted on the Lodge's website, but if so I missed it.) Our unit had a king-size Murphy bed, small kitchenette, and bath with shower. The shower tile could have used a thorough cleaning. There were lots of fans but no way to talk get any cross-ventilation (windows and door were all on one side). Very hot and stuffy all night. Of course not a big deal if you stay during the ski season (which I'm sure is the bulk of their business.) Might consider staying there again if the temps were lower. Great location if you want to be near the Heavenly ski lift. I can't emphasize enough how helpful and friendly the staff were (I'd probably rate it lower if not for them), they just don't have a lot to work with.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NCT0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just came back from a 4th of July stay in Tahoe. After driving into town last minute and trying to find a place, I came across the Stardust, Erinn at the front desk was awesome and very accommodating! The location is perfect, close to casinos, walking distance to Lakeside Marina and Beach! She even gave us a beach pass so we didn't have to pay. Beach towels, the works! The room was a Studio and it is Beautiful! Has all the amenities you could need, modern design, great stone designed double shower heads, fridge, everything! It was very comfortable, just a little warm inside, only a ceiling fan and floor ac unit but we made due. It was a hot weekend! All in all, I think this hotel is great with great service! Free popcorn in lobby, free breakfast, fun little pool and BBQ facilities on site! I'm definitely staying here again! Thanks Erinn for all your help!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank CARMENSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $136 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing