We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been coming to the Stardust for the past 20 years. Amazing location, amazing staff. Stardust is walking distance to the Lake, and the casinos, and the shops. Tram to the top is just across the street. Staff is very helpfull. Bikes are available to use at no charge. BQs are available to use. Information about hiking and much more available from the very knowledgeable staff. The Stardust is a dog friendly place. We totally enjoyed it including watching the fireworks on July 4th from the Stardust. I would recommend the Stardust to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmenghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just stayed at Stardust for a family gathering in August with 4 units and a dozen folks and it worked out perfectly. DO NOT shy away from this great spot just because it doesn't look like one of the big luxurious timeshares. Those places do exist but they are so far out of the way at Tahoe it doesn't even seem like they're at Tahoe since you have to drive to get to anything. Exchange that perceived luxury for the greatest timeshare location at Tahoe as it allows you to enjoy Tahoe as it's meant to be enjoyed. Within a very short walking distance are the beach, shopping, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, ice cream stores, pubs, mini-golf, and more. Did I mention that the gondola to Heavenly Valley Ski Area is directly across the street?... or that the casinos are one block away? With the free bike rentals you can just park your car for your whole visit if you want. The front office and management staff (Kenny particularly) do not disappoint. They go way out of their way to make your stay a great one. This is a surprise spot and well worth the effort to put it on your future vacation list.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the front to be closer to the Activity Center and BBQ pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTom1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For the past 23 years we have owned at the Stardust Lodge in South Lake Tahoe and have only missed 2 vacation years. It's been our home away from home and the staff at the Stardust is like family. The recently remodeled rooms make vacationing in South Lake Tahoe fun for our whole family. At times there have been 25 in our group (family and friends) staying at the Stardust for fun and adventure with the activities planned at the Stardust. I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting or considering purchasing a timeshare. It is walking distance to the new Gondola at Heavenly Village and walking distance to the casinos. During Hot August Nights vintage cars are parked across the street at Heavenly Village with daily entertainment.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Stardust is like being at home - full kitchen facilities and 2 beautiful bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I have been coming here for over the past 20 years! Every year that we come here we have an absolutely amazing experience! I would recommend the Stardust to anyone! The Stardust itself is in the heart of the Lake Tahoe attractions. It is only a couple blocks from casinos, right across the street from the Heavenly Village (gondola), and there are tons of shops, restaurants, grocery stores right there. The lake is only a short 6 blocks away. The Stardust has so many activities for the whole family and the rooms are wonderful (especially since they have been remodeled recently)! Also, the staff is wonderful! They are all so helpful and can give great advice on where things are, and provide wonderful service. Kenny, the manager, is especially helpful and makes sure all the guests are well taken care of. He goes out of his way to make sure everyone is happy, even beyond their expectations! I grew up coming to the Stardust and now I am married and I have brought my husband to the Stardust and he loves it as much as I do! We will definitely continue visiting the Stardust as it is both of our favorite place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location is super since you can walk to stateline, shopping, dinner, and the beach. There are activities everyday and the staff is very helpful. Those who comment on the lack of AC have a point, but this is Tahoe and most days AC is not needed. If you are there when it is warm (that's high 70s in Tahoe, the rooms are warm. There are overhead fans in all rooms and they have tower fans in the rooms. The units are small, but have been remodeled. The place is clean and well maintained. They have a modest breakfast daily that is complimentary. We enjoy Stardust.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank egregclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I have been owners for 20 years and the last ten years we've been adding on more and more family members to our vacation week in August! We had five units and 18 people this trip and had a wonderful time! The walk to the beach is close and the restaurants , movie theaters, grocery store, and casinos are a block away! Kenny, Lorena and all the staff are friendly and very helpful! We look forward to coming every year and any time we can make it up here, we do. The rooms are newly remodeled, big screenTVs, comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms are all a plus! Come visit the Stardust you'll love the place and the location too! The Mayer family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just spent my 29th summer week at the Stardust Lodge in South Lake Tahoe. As always the grounds are well kept the rooms are clean. The manager, Kenny, is outstanding and makes sure all the guests needs are met. The location couldn't be better. It's right across the street from the Heavenly Gondola and walking distance to the casinos. July/August is a great time to come and enjoy Hot August Nights and the car show. The Stardust offers the guests a pass to the private beach which is a wonderful place to watch the sunset.

The Stardust is our home away from home for one week of the year and is the week we most look forward to. We love spending time in beautiful South Lake Tahoe and the Stardust Lodge.

Room Tip: I prefer downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $131 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing