We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were up in Tahoe at the end of July this year and had booked well in advance for the Stardust Lodge, we knew it was close to the center of South Lake, but not that close. Was a short walk from concerts we were there to see, the gondola to get up to Heavenly, and a short walk to the beach and other water activities. The room was also nice, like a little apartment with full fridge, a stove, and bedroom separate from the living space. Not a huge space, but enough.

We arrived way before check-in time, but wanted to get out and make the most of the day so Jose helped us out got us checked in early and on our way! He definitely made it a great way to start our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    165
    49
    13
    15
See reviews for
417
366
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family of four just returned from a wonderful stay at The Stardust. We had a one bedroom on the second floor. We loved the location, right across from The Heavenly Gondola, a couple of blocks from the casinos and a hop skip and a jump from the beautiful lake. We loved sitting on the balcony watching all of the action in front of us. My two teens had a great time swimming, playing ping pong, hiking and enjoying the activities that the resort provides. We used the resort bikes each day for a morning bike ride. They even had golf clubs that my husband and son used for a golf game. We enjoyed walking to the lake each evening to watch the sun set. The beds were very comfortable, even the fold out couch (which had a air mattress built in). I had read other reviews that talk about not being able to sleep due to the heat. We did not have an issue with this, even though we were there in August. Tahoe gets down into the 40's at night. We simply had a window/door open with the fan in front to bring in cool air until it was time to go to sleep. No problems at all. In fact, my daughter had to ask for another blanket. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We will definitely return to The Stardust.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneB97222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have been having our family vacations at Stardust every year for 13 years and never had had any problems. The staff is so helpful and accommodating and they have great activities for the entire family. The location is perfect. Being across from Heavenly makes it great because you have all the shops and restaurants within walking distance and casinos are just a short block away! I recommend Stardust for a great time! New upgraded rooms are beautiful also! Thanks to Ken and staff for making our summer vacation a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable, safe, relaxing, clean place to stay, Stardust Lodge is your place. We have been coming to the Stardust Lodge for nearly 20 years and each year look forward to our stay at the Stardust. It only takes minutes for you to feel welcome. The first thing you will notice is how well the property is clean and cared for. Beautiful flowers welcome you as drive up. The staff is ready to help you settle in and provide for all your needs. This year we were so happy to see that Kenny had returned as resort manager. He welcomed us by name and made us feel right at home. Kenny is a pro, an real asset to the resort. The resort has so much to offer. Two pools, activity room exercise equipment, schedules classes in arts and craft, fun games, free use of their bikes and other equipment. A BBQ area for your use and an employee to answer any questions you may have.
Rooms are newly decorated with beautiful furniture and are always very clean.
Great breakfast is there for you at no charge each and every morning. Hard boiled eggs, bananas, oranges ,donuts (Yum!) and coffee, tea and juice.
Did I mention walking distance to the casino and private beach for your use while you stay? A wonderful place for adults and children.
What more could you ask for? We will see you next year!
Thank you again for another wonderful year. Looking forward to seeing the many friends we have met there who return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Happybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a six night stay at the Stardust in South Lake Tahoe and had an unbelievable time. Hit the area during a very unusual heat wave and during the golf weekend so most of the resorts were packed. Both the location of the Stardust and the VERY knowledgable staff make this the place to be when visiting. There doesn't seem to be any restaurant at any point on the lake (north or south shore) that these folks don't know. Walkable to the casinos, two swimming pools, a workout room and activities every night seem to keep all age groups happy. By the way, the morning donuts, coffee, bananas and oranges don't hurt either. They couldn't do anything about the weather but still is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texascouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been going to the Stardust for years and have enjoyed it so much that we always go back. Our last stay was July 2013.
The staff is the best and will try to accommodate you to the best of their ability. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that had been remodeled. There was no A/C but that was not a problem since fans are provided and it tends to cool down at night. The location is great. Right across the street from the ski lift, one block away from the casinos and a few blocks away from the lake. Great for walking. This year I did notice pets on the property which didn't bother me, but then I didn't hear barking either. The Stardust has an inventory of DVD's, bikes, books, games, and golf equipment that you can check out at no expense. The only thing I have not checked out is the golf equipment and that's cause I don't play golf. My family enjoyed our time there and we will go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Martie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love this resort!!!! The location for this Gem and the newly remodeled rooms are truly amazing. I recently stayed there for the 4th of July week and had a wonderful time with my family. The Staff at the resort were wonderful and are very attentive to your needs. The rooms are always clean and the service was always on time. The resort is close to many attractions (movies, shopping, sight seeing, gondolas, casinos, beach and water sports) and generally once I park my car at the resort, It doesn't move until we are leaving to go home. I can't wait to go back for the snow and leave the rat race behind.
Ramsin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMSIND007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing