We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Got to say we are never disappointed with Stardust, been coming back for 25+ years.***this visit was spur of the moment and DOLORES R. Was over the top with her customer service!!! She is a keeper!! Hope to see her on our next visit to Stardust. Kenny was also great help and is back for the summer.... We had a updated studio with a murphy bed, we could fold it up and out of the way for lots of floor space for day use. Great size fridg and freezer, 2 burner glass cook top, coffee pot (bring your own coffee for in the room) microwave and toaster. The room also has everything you could need as far as plates, glasses, pots n pans as well as a great wooden salad bowl and tongs! I love to use the roof top BBQ's and picnic tables for a out side dinner. Bathrooms clean with double sinks, the shower even has double shower heads!
Lots of FREE things to do.... games, DVD's, books, bikes, fun pool toys for the young and old, even ping pong poolside! Free fresh popcorn and coffee all day. Breakfast is great with HB eggs, oranges, bananas, juice and donuts. The staff is always helpful and very friendly, always a number of staff working and keeping the property clean. And I did say LOCATION location location due to the fact you are a 5 minute walk to the casinos and 2 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola. Lots of great places to eat, shop and even a short 15 minute to the amazing private beach of Lake Tahoe. Stardust gives you a family feel every one is made to feel like family you can meet and make friends forever. Give Stardust a try, they are committed to making your stay a great experience!

Room Tip: ask for a updated room-upstairs have better view and more privacy-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilArrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    144
    43
    12
    13
See reviews for
315
294
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Another great stay at the stardust. Everything you could want or need either in walking distance or the excellent staff will help arrange or advise on the best transportation. Just a quick walk to the marina to catch a water taxi to fun. The staff is starting to feel like family and we have all the comforts of home. Love to see the familiar faces and the new ones too, thanks Delores for always a bringing a smile!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvdburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great place! The moment I showed up on the property I was made to feel like I was a welcome part of the family. Kenny as well as the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Within 10 minutes of arriving, I (way early I should note), I had a room and a complete run down of all the great amenities and activities the lodge had to offer. Talk about a convenient location, all the hot spots are within a 5 minute walking distance. In short, I visit South Lake every couple of months and typically stay at different hotels depending on price and availability. The Stardust Lodge was a hit on both accounts. This will likely be my preferred place to stay going forward.

Room Tip: Call ahead and tell them your specific needs and I'm confident they will try and accommodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The reception that I got on check in (Carmen) was excellent - she was cheerful, efficient and provided me with a pass to the private beach a 5 min walk away and free pool towels. Subsequently Sydney provided quick answers to any questions that I had.

The room (No. 415) was at the rear of the property. It was quiet and clean. I know that some people have described the units as small - but I found it to be perfectly adequate and well appointed. It was remodelled and finished to a high standard. The pool and spa at the back were fine - a great way to relax at the end of the day. Free popcorn and movie rental was a great addition as well as free laundry. Again I know that other users have commented on the 'resort fee' that covers these costs and the cost of the beach access (which alone is $5 per person), so in fact I found it to be very reasonable.

The breakfast donuts were amazing too and it is all just a short walk from the Heavenly Gondola and the town centre.

I would stay here again in a jiffy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

WOW! I just LOVE the Stardust, they make my family feel so much at home! Two pools with two hottubs, not to mention free movie rentals, (and they have the new ones), paired with a fabulous staff? Just perfect. Our room check-in was delayed 2 hours, but Kenny who works at the front desk, brought us out a bottle of wine and some friendly chit-chat that made those 2 hours pass by.

Room Tip: We suggest the front side only because its closer to the front desk. Also the upstairs rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week to enjoy Lake Tahoe, and it was the perfect location. It's right across the street from the Heavenly gondola, but still just a quick walk to the casinos. The room was clean and the bathroom was gorgeous. We were rarely in the room, but we enjoyed it there. There's lots of activities that they organize for their guests (we didn't participate but I know they existed!) and they have a continental breakfast available (donuts, orange juice, coffee) - this is a nice touch! The front desk had lots of suggestions of activities and companies we should contact, so that was very helpful. The reason for my four stars (rather than five):

- by "cozy" in the title, I mean "very small" - it's a Murphy bed, and once it's down, there is very little moving around space. Not a huge deal, but I definitely kicked the bed a few times while walking around!

- the parking situation was a little confusing. We often had to move the car because there was painting being done, etc. Not a huge deal, but just inconvenient.

Otherwise - great place, and would recommend!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stardust employees were friendly, Sydney offered tips on restaurants, bicycle paths, hiking trails. Everyone at the resort was friendly. Newly renovated rooms made a huge difference. Nice to have resort sponsored dinners and activities. Casinos in walking distance. Will return to Stardust.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia10229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing