We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time: bicycles, hiking, relaxing, gambling”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a great time: bicycles, hiking, relaxing, gambling”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stardust employees were friendly, Sydney offered tips on restaurants, bicycle paths, hiking trails. Everyone at the resort was friendly. Newly renovated rooms made a huge difference. Nice to have resort sponsored dinners and activities. Casinos in walking distance. Will return to Stardust.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia10229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    168
    49
    14
    16
See reviews for
439
376
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a timeshare which they also rent if they have vacancy. We stayed in a studio which is a converted motel room. They did the best they could with the space. Everything new - bath and small corner kitchen. Granite counter tops, self-closing drawers. Bed is queen murphy bed with built in couch. Small table and 2 chairs. Flat screen TV.

They have several "free" acttivities and a breakfast every morning. coffee, juice, hard-boiled eggs, donuts and fruit. Same thing every day. They also have 2 dinners - hot dogs and hamburgers and lasagna.. They also had guided walks and bike rides and an evening entertainer one evening. These "free" services cost $49 per unit, per week. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The 1 bedroom units are the same as studio except they broke thru a wall and combined 2 rooms. There are 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Hot tubs are plastic and should be replaced - they're showing wear.

The location is great. Walking distance to casinos. They also give you a pass to get into Lakeside beach which is a few blocks from motel.

There were 2 of us and it was really small, but we didn't spend much time in room.
We might consider staying at Stardust again, if we couldn't get anything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingpeggy3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been a guest at the Stardust for several ski seasons and will continue to return each year.
The rooms are clean, the staff is superb, and the price is very reasonable.
But, the location can't be beat. Heavenly ski resort is right across the street so on powder days, you have the advantage of making first tracks.
It is also close to the many amenities the village has to offer: shops, restaurants, movie theaters, market and of course the casinos.
If you are looking for a comfortable place to base your vacation from, look no further!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

this was my first visit as a new owner it was a great vacation the staff at the stardust lodge was &is a outstanding group of really nice people great great I want too tell you about Kenny,jose,karla,hyme,fernando,nick& Jessie this group is a very positive wonderful helpful polite personel thank you

Room Tip: make sure you stay at the stardust lodge in lake Tahoe ca
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very Clean room and beautiful flowers and very good price.
excellent customer service (CARMEN)
Will stay there again on my next visit.
Room has two king size beds in two private room, two bath, kitchen, refrigerator and oven and complete set
of dishes. 3 tvs and much more

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the StarDust last week of April 2013. We were one of a group of 4 couples. We all enjoyed our stay.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. They gave us a string of rooms all together. They were also newly renovated rooms which we knew to ask for after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

It was off season and one of the pools (the one in the back) was closed but it was pretty chilly for swimming anyway. Both hot tubs were open and we took advantage of the one on the back near our rooms.

The “breakfast” leaves a bit to be desired: hard boiled eggs and Krispy Kreme donuts with coffee. That’s it. I’m not that big on breakfast generally but I thought they’d be better off just saying there isn’t any breakfast.

They did have many planned activities for kids and adults including a chili dinner, guided nature walk, and a manager’s cocktail hour. There is free WiFi and free bicycle rentals. Free video rentals from their library, and free popcorn. They also provide pool towels.

The location is perfect, right across from the Heavenly Valley Gondola. There are also restaurants and shops right across the street. You can also walk down to the lake just a block or two away.

We had a great time! Again the staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating, right down to adjusting the bicycle seat when we used their free bikes. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Recently spent three nights at the Stardust Lodge in Sough Lake Tahoe, CA. What a wonderful place. The staff treated us like family making our stay better than going home because they took care of the house keeping. Our unit was clean and fresh as well as comfortable. I just can not say enough about how great the Stardust is, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing