We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice small place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

As we like skiing/snowboarding in Tahoe, we usually stay in South Lake Tahoe as there are many stores and restaurants around Heavenly Gondola area. Stardust Lodge is 30 seconds to the Gondola gate. The price is reasonable for the great location. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but comfortable. We like their complementary DVD library and popcorn. We are staying here for three years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naohiro I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Naohiro. Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Happy to hear you enjoyed watching movies in your room and popcorn to go along with it! Hope to see you in your next visit to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    161
    48
    12
    15
See reviews for
407
357
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the studio room with a murphy bed for two nights and had a really nice time. The price was very reasonable, the bed and small room surprisingly comfortable, and the location could not be better. This lodge is literally across the street from the Gondola lifts to Heavenly, which I really appreciated after walking around all day in my rental ski boots. Parking at the lodge was easy, and we walked to a nearby grocery store for supplies and then just carried our skis across the street the next morning for a full day on the slopes! I do wish there were some more breakfast options other than just donuts and banana/orange slices. Even bagels or toast would have been appreciated, as would have milk or cream for the coffee instead of powdered creamer. Still, we will definitelly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks Andrea for staying with us! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and was comfortable in our rooms! Glad you had a blast skiing at the mountain also! Thank you for your suggestion also. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything I was looking for on a weekend trip. Place was clean. Staff was friendly. Good location. Enjoyed hot tub and game room. Extras like breakfast snacks, peanuts and popcorn were a pleasant surprise. Located close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Susan, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Old time timeshare in the best location in Tahoe--two blocks from Harveys and Harrahs--two pubs and a brewery within a block.bikes, great continental breakfasts and a wonderful staff. We were fortunate to get one of the remodeled rooms and I must say that they did a wonderful job in the remodel. I understand that it will be two more years until they are all done over.

Staff again was wonderful and helpful...hope to be back before another ten years passes..

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment about your stay. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a week at the Stardust Lodge in South Lake Tahoe.
Basically it is a motel that is being converted for timeshare use. Last time we stayed we had just a room with a pull out bed. This time we had a separate bedroom. The units are nothing special and do not have air conditioning or elevators for 2nd floor. However, it is the best location and the staff are great. There is always something to do. Because it is a smaller setting and because of the activities you meet a lot of nice people. We had terrific weather and did some travelling around. Went to Carson City (shopping), Virginia City (history and just fun), and Emerald Lake (beautiful), golfing. There is so much to do. Just walk around. The lake is close, bicycles are available. 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Again the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Probably make sure you get a separate bedroom. If you have trouble walking request a main floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupidEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable vacation through the exchange! We hope to see you soon! Give us a call if you are in town and looking for a place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coalinga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay at this lodge everytime we go to south lake tahoe which is once a year in the summer. We love it! Very Clean and Quiet. Walking distance to casinos. Friendly and helpful staff! Close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherree28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! As soon as you decide you are ready to come back please give us a call so we can book you next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

If I have to visit South Lake Tahoe again, I will definitely stay at Stardust Lodge. Sure, it looks like motel from outside, but the inside the room was a hotel feel. This place is for family, couples, young and old. They have activities planned throughout the week for all ages. The customer service was exceptional. They were very friendly. They guided us with any questions we had. The room was cleaned 3 times a week which was nice. The room had microwave, full size refriegerator, coffeemaker (no coffee, bring your own ground coffee), toaster, plates, cups, mugs, silverware for 4. We stayed at older room, which is waiting to be renovated, so they didn't have dishwasher. We took a look at the renovated room and it is nice, but no complaining with the room that was given to us.
They had breakfast everyday: boiled eggs, donuts, fruits, coffee, juice, hot chocolate. I would recommend downstairs room since it's closer to shops. It's right in front of Heavenly Gondolas (which were breathtaking), restaurants, walking distance to everything including stateline border. Our experience was great and we would stay here again depending on availability ofcourse, since we noticed every night they had 'no vacancy' sign up, so plan ahead! :)

Room Tip: Get a room on 1st floor across the gym so it's quicker to get to shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugFanatic03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time and leaving a comment about your stay with us. I’m glad that the staff helped with any questions you had during your stay. Call us soon when you are ready to come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing