We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stardust Lodge is a great home base for the Lake Tahoe Area”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Stardust Lodge in August 2012. From the outside, it looks like an older motel that was converted into studio condos - but the inside of the rooms are very nice. When we walked in, we were surprised to see that our unit didn't have a bedroom- and it took us a minute to realize that the wall unit contained a Murphy bed. But it was comfortable and worked out fine with just the two of us staying in the room.

The resort as a whole works very hard to cater to it's guests. Free cookies upon check-in, free coffee anytime in the lobby, free popcorn, planned activities for both kids and adults, free bike rentals, a DVD library that you can borrow from (again...for free!) to watch movies in your room, free breakfast in the a.m. (donuts, coffee, juice, hardboiled eggs) and free access to Lake Tahoe. The resort is not located right on the lake - but on the main road in South Lake Tahoe. The lake is about a 10 minute walk - or 2 minute drive - away. The resort has 2 pools (kept at a very nice 86 degrees) and 2 hot tubs - with certain hours reserved for adult use only. Overall, they do a really nice job in upkeep of the property.

The unit we stayed in has a partial kitchen with a sink, stovetop, microwave, full size refrig and a dishwasher. No oven - but that was OK for us. Dishes, papertowels, dishwasher soap and salt and pepper were all stocked in the unit.

The location is nice - it is about a 3 minute walk to the casinos in Stateline, NV and right across the street from the Heavenly gondola. Lots to see and do within walking distance. We used South Lake Tahoe as a home base and took day trips to other towns and parks around the area.

Overall, our experience was very positive and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hello- thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for a quick trip middle of the week. Wasn't too sure about the hotel but went off of previous reviews. Definitely satisfied with my choice, rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was the deal sealer. I think something was up with the A/C so if thats important to you I would call first and make sure its working. It was cool at night and the ceiling fan worked fine to keep cool. The front desk staff was superb, shout out to Fernando and Jesse for their exceptional service. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

I’m glad that you did end up staying with us and please don’t hesitate to call us when you come up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for a week in July 2012. The staff welcomed us like we were long lost relatives. The one bedroom unit was comfortable with space to spare. Space was not taken up with extras that might not be needed. But if we needed something, we only had to ask for it. Three to four organized activities are available each day for those wanting to take part. Three meals a week are available for $7.00, a real bargain. The food was great. A light breakfast of fruit, donuts, hard boiled eggs and juice/coffee/tea/hot chocolate was available every morning, even though rooms have mini kitchens. The Wednesday evening music with Frabrizio was so great we went to the sister resort to listen to him on Thursday night. Bicycles are available for Free to guests. Beach passes are also free. Finally, the location can't be beat. Startdust is located one block from the Nevada border and casinos, is directly across the street from the gondola to the top of Heavenly, and is within walking distance of "downtown" South Lake Tahoe and many restaurants. A car is not needed unless one plans to travel outside the local bus service area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JeanOhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I’m so glad you enjoyed the outdoor entertainment, without having to go to the casinos. Please, call us when you are heading back up to Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great service and extremely helpful staff. They go out of their way to provide local information and a comfortable stay. Their activities such as BBQs and entertainment events are well done. Both pools and spas are clean and well kept. Our room was a studio and was quite small but I have never seen anything so well done in arranging the available space and room appointments. The wall bed was surprisingly comfortable and all the new fixtures and appointments were first class. It is quiet and we never heard noise from those above or next to us. It is close to the beach, shopping, the gondola and grocery store. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and commenting about how much fun you had. I’m glad you enjoyed the BBQ, and had such a great night sleep; we pride ourselves on the comfort of our beds. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed July 28-29, 2012 too! We only intended to stay one night, but were enjoying ourselves so much that we decided to stay another night. The room was not available for the 2nd night, so we decided to go ahead and switch rooms. The staff was extremely accomodating our requests. Both rooms were studios and had been recently renovated. The room has a murphy bed -- sofa by day and bed by night which was remarkably comfortable. A kitchenette with a dishwasher, frig and sink. Nice flat screen HD TV. Immaculate. The bathroom in the first room had a beautiful walk-in shower (the 2nd bathroom was smaller). We were amazed at the high quality materials used throughout the room. All of the staff are very friendly and work tirelessly to maintain the property. An easy walk to the casinos. We also visited the free beach and enjoyed lunch at a little cafe there. We borrowed the bikes and took a nice bike ride on the extensive trail systems around South Lake Tahoe. I did a couple of loads of laudry (free -- just purchase soap in the office for 75 cents) I laughed when I read the other review ... my words exactly ... from the street it looked very retro ... but I was pleasantly surprised! An excellent value! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you so much for leaving feedback about your stay with us at the Stardust. We would have loved for you to stay longer too! Call us when your ready to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed July 28-29, 2012. We really enjoyed our room #206. Has a big frig, one big bed and a hide-a-way bed. 2 TV's one in bedroom area and one in main room. Very clean. You can bring your own meats and use the BBQ's on outside patio. They serve free donuts and coffee in mornings, they have a computer in coffee room where you can check emails. Only a five minute walk to casinos (Harvey's). We used the free beach pass, which was a very nice beach area where you can rent paddle boards/boats and has a small restaurant too. You can also rent umbrellas and chairs down at the beach (we brought our own) You can also use the hotels bikes (looks like a nice variety of bikes) and they have free washing machine and dryer (I think it's free?) Across the hotel was a huge shopping area and Heavenly's Gondola is in this shopping area. This hotel is a little retro on first impression, but our room was very modern.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKAAtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

I am so pleased you enjoyed all our free amenities including the breakfast and the computer. Sounds like you truly had a wonderful trip. Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived on July 15, 2012 and were met by a very friendly staff. We stayed in room 204, and it was a beautiful one bedroom unit with nice furnishings. I really liked the pictures that decorated the rooms. The bathroom had a really nice double cobblestone shower. There was a flat screen tv in the bedroom and the living room. This resort is walking distance to almost everything. We took the Dinner Cruise (took the shuttle), and went to see Alex Ramon in Illusion Fusion (a must see performance). We enjoyed waking up and having the free breakfast that the resort provided. We walked down to Chevy's Mexican restaurant, which was great. We enjoyed the free barbecue that the resort provided one day, and the activities that they provided. They also had free dvds to check out. There is a street market next to the Horizon Casino that was fun shopping at. We enjoyed walking down to the private beach access that the resort provided for Lake Tahoe. We rented a Sea-Doo to get to experience the beautiful clear blue lake. What a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcdonn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to seeing you soon again and don’t hesitate to call us when you are ready to book your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $132 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing