We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Would Not Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
A TripAdvisor Member
“I Would Not Stay Here Again”
Reviewed October 21, 2005

First, this is a motel not a hotel, and other than the location (near Harvey's) it has little going for it. I originally booked here for four nights and left after the first night. Why? 1. Graffiti on the outside wall. 2. Broken furniture. 3. Stain on the bathroom door that looked like blood. 4. Spot on the floor that sagged when you stepped on it. 5. Hot and cold taps were installed in reverse in the bathroom. 6. Bathtub was painted and the paint was flaking off. 7. The place generally looked run down and overdue for repair. I ended up switching to a Days Inn for about the same price. It was much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    104
    56
    30
    34
See reviews for
52
102
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

I was very disappointed with my first experience on reserving a hotel on line. This place was terrible. The Rodeway Inn Casino Center in South Lake Tahoe, CA needs a total upgrade or it needs to be rebuild. The carpets are very old and loose. The place stunk as if someone had poured a gallon of pine sol in the elavator, hallways and rooms. It needs a complete make over.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

has to be the worst place i've ever stayed. and since i travel often, that's quite a statement to make. after being told i would not be charged until i checked out, they tried to run my credit card for the FULL amount not once, but TWICE when i checked in. After that, they ran my credit card and charged me every single day I was there. So much for the lies about being charged when I checked out. the website is very misleading. the place is a dump. my room was miniscule, there was no wireless internet as advertised, there wasn't even the ironing board or iron that was listed. when i pulled on the shower curtain (the door had been removed, altho the tracks were still there) the entire curtain came down in my hands, it wasn't even fastened to the wall. The air conditioning ran continually but the room was very hot. overall, a horrible experience, one i reported to the corporate office AND to AAA. UGH.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jnamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

I chose to stay at the Rodeway Inn because of the great price and the FREE WIRELESS INTERNET in the rooms (best to let the desk know you intend to use the wireless because some rooms have better wireless strength). It was clean, friendly, convenient, and I got a lot of work done due to the wireless. It is right on the stateline, across from the casinos and walking distance to the Heavenly gondola. You can also catch the Heavenly or Sierra at Tahoe shuttles right outside your room and get the Reno Airport shuttle from Harveys just a 1/4 mile away. The only complaint that I had was the ambiant noise...if I were to stay there again I would bring a fan or other white noice machine because starting at 6am you can hear everyone's doors slamming and voices in the hall. Of course, this isn't so bad if you are getting up too to ski, but I noticed that if you wanted to sleep it would be difficult. The continental breakfast includes coffee (with powdered creamer, yuck), cereal, oatmeal, juice, toast, and jam. There is a desktop computer in the lobby free to use, but often busy. I did not use the pool or hot tub, but they were clean and the hot tub felt warm. The TV is decent size with LOTS of channels, the bathroom had a tub, and there was a balcony that I could leave my skis and pole on. There is a coffee maker in the room, but again powdered creamer, so I grabbed some creamers from the buffet at Harrah's and kept them cool out on the balcony. Anyway, I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HeatheronHaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2005

after reading the reviews was apprehensive and expecting this to be bad. it is in fact much better than expected and we even prefer it the super 8 further along the road (stayed 3 years ago). gentle persuasion at check-in to stay across the street has proved worthwhile and on the third floor, have enough room for two comfy queens, tv and the shower- yes it's for short people (my boyf 6' and me 5'9) but hot, powerful and large tub make up for it. bring your towels and hire a car if possible as no sidewalks up to the main road. plus the rooms are cleaned every morning, you've got one pc for free internet access and the hot tub.

we'd stay here again if it were closer to the gondola but cant complain at all for the price. if you think it sucks, you're either on the reception side of street, just unlucky, or have high standards and used to staying at the mariott.

ps. awesome to be back on the snow boarding here at heavenly!! and buy the lift sampler through slidingonthecheap for $38 per mountain- bargain.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chloe124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2005

First of all, please do not expect to get what you see in the motel's photographs. They are deceiving. The motel is located on a street full of other small, low- to mid-quality hotels. It has two buildings, each across the street from each other. I think the better rooms are located in the building across the street from the office (it's the one pictured in the motel's ads and web site). We chose Rodeway because they allow pets, but I think because of that we got the worst room on the property. It was as small as a child's room. The view from the bathroom window was of a backyard full of junk and trash. But the water pressure and hot water in the bathroom were excellent.

The manager did, however, lower our room rate to a fair price after we complained twice, which we appreciated.

The big Casinos are walking distance away, about 15 minutes on foot. There is a beach nearby (no pets allowed there). Also, the place is on a quiet street, away from the busy highway. The shuttle service is excellent. I think it's a dollar or two to ride it.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 21, 2004

This place wasn't THAT bad. I read the reviews and was a little skeptical about staying here, but they offered such reasonable rates on their website($35/night). Our room was clean and recently updated(we stayed in the building across the street from the office). The staff is freindly and the free continental breakfast wasn't bad at all (a lot of stuff from Costco). The heater in the room is suprisingly efficient. It's pretty much what you get with a 2 star inn. But it is true what they say about the towels and the shower. The towels are small and thin. The water pipe to the shower head STARTS at 5 feet, so you would have to be significantly shorter than that to take a normal shower. And for some reason our shower head was stuck pointed towards the shower wall. Both my boyfriend and I are over 6 feet tall and pretty much had to come up with creative ways to take a shower. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#36 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Casino Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Address: 4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Casino Center 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Casino Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Rodeway Inn Center
Rodeway Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing