We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceeded my expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here as part of a package though Heavenly... but I usually stay at the Rodeway Inn where ever I go. Clean hotel rooms and friendly staff. This Rodeway Inn looks nicer than the pictures online (not usual for hotels I know). The room was clean and came with a porch, fridge, tv, big room, free toothpaste, etc. All the usual amenities you would expect. Its walking distance to all the casinos, Heavenly, and the Starbucks. Full breakfast - oatmeal, fruit, juice, coffee, made to order waffles, scrambled eggs with meat, toast, bagels, etc. Elevators to the rooms (nice with ski gear), free parking, hot tub and pool, friendly front desk staff.

I love the Rodeway Inn for the free wifi at all locations, free breakfast, and free parking. Oh and make sure you sign up for their points program. Ill be back!

Dont expect a 4 star resort. This is a motel... but a darn good one.

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels during your winter trip since you will need to dry off or shower extra after sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    101
    53
    29
    33
See reviews for
50
98
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went on a short snowboarding trip with a buddy and stayed here and it was everything I could want and more for a $45/night hotel.
Pro's:
-inexpensive
-walking distance to casinos
-clean
-breakfast (better than I expected)
Con's:
-hot tub was not even close to hot enough

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
383 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cant believe anyone can say that this dive rates a 4 star on TA. The room is small with a king bed the bed blanket has rips and holes, the internet is a joke, the towel bar is falling off the wall,no card swipe to gain acess into the hallways so any riff raff can walk the hallways in the building across the street. The hot tub looks like a cess pool of germs, it hasnt been cleaned in months or years all the furniture has deep scratches, the walls have nicks and holes. We booked three nights and would leave after the first night but the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy so we are stuck. If your looking for a dive with a cheap rate you get what you pay for at this rodeway

Room Tip: simple tip book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I used my Choice hotel points to stay for 2 nights. The checkin lady was very friendly and efficient. It was a busy weekend and the place was full. The room was across on the 2nd floor with a kingbed. Very comfortable and clean. Its located on a quite residential street so no noise and very quiet at night. The breakfast room is bigger than many other Rodeways with additional tables outside. Lots of hot stuff - scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, etc and despite being full with a lot of people, the staff did a good job of replanishing. Walking distance to the beach. The casinos are just a two minute drive. Overall a very nice place to stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here in early September, and booked room last minute. There are pet friendly, and the free wi-fi was also pretty good. The front desk staff are friendly too! The free breakfast is decent with eggs, waffles, cereal and the usual. You can actually also eat outside or inside which is nice. (Not a rebuke on the hotel, but it is amazing to see people load up food, such as an entire plate of scrambled eggs which must weigh 1-2 lbs...Then throw over 3/4 of it away.)
Anyway, there is a free beach pass to a cute nearby beach (walkable). This saves you a few dollars as I believe admission was $5 each. The casinos are easily walkable, so you can park by your room and don't have to drive again. Our room was on the third floor across street from reception, but there are elevators. This is a good value, and in a great location! A room in a casino, with no amenities, was 5X the price!

Room Tip: Good location, walkable to free beach and the casinos are nearby within a few minutes walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We got a great rate midweek at this nice little place nestled in the pine trees. Our room was a king bed room across the street from the motel check in. Initially it seemed a bit small, but after unpacking, we had plenty of room. It also had a little balcony with 2 chairs and a small table overlooking a beautiful wedding garden. Our room and bathroom were very clean and the mattress on the bed was extremely comfortable. I also liked that the hallways were quite wide which made it easy to move luggage to and from our room. I thought the breakfast was pretty good - they even had scrambled eggs and hash browns! The motel is on a quiet side street but is still only a five minute walk from casinos or the private beach. I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: king room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtravels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Bird poop all over our balcony, cramped and mismatched room, small lumpy pillows, towel rack and toilet paper holder falling down, greasy breakfast (done serving at 9:30 am!)... I can't figure out why this hotel has been ranked so high in past reviews...
I would have reported problems during stay if anyone had answered at front desk, or been attending it when I walked across the street to the office, to find some help. When I reported problems at checkout, I was denied any discount for the multiple issues, including housekeeping walking in, unannoucnced, at 3 in the afternoon, while I was changing! When checking out, I was told management would call me when "they got back from church", to discuss the issues, but 4 days later, haven't heard from them. It was our 20th anniversary, & I was SO disappointed with this important aspect of our trip. It made me want to cry. The front desk staff blamed me for not walking to their offices, across the street to address the problems before checkout- but I did; as I said, no one was at the desk when I stopped in, and no one answered the phone when I called. Still I was charged full price for our small, mismatched, dirty room. The only good thing were the complimentary beach access, & that the sheets, sink & toilet were clean; I had to wipe down tables, door knobs, telephone and remote on my own, due to visable dust and dirt. What a sad joke.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaMarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#33 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#39 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Casino Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Address: 4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Casino Center 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn Casino Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Rodeway Inn Center
Rodeway Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing