We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Do not waste your money staying at this hotel. The rooms are disgusting and the hotel will scam you out of extra money any way they can. They charged us an extra $150 after we had checked out and claimed they witnessed us with more than two people stay in our room. When I called the manager to ask about the extra fee, I was cursed at and hung up on. I will not be stepping foot anywhere near this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spookytootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back regarding your stay over the New Year's holiday.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you are aware and informed at check-in, due to the New Year's holiday, we had all guest sign and understand our hotel policies. You were fully disclosed all of the hotel policies and the fines that would be charged for any violations. As you are aware, you choose to violate our extra person policy for which you agreed to be charged the $150.00 fine. Had you not violated any of our hotel policies during the holiday period, we would not have charged the fee. In the future, please do not knowing violate a hotel policy that you agreed to.

Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely
Raj
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    37
    19
    46
See reviews for
35
71
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Staff is not friendly and not accommodating at all. Not worth of $200 per room holiday rate. Won't ever come back to this place again! The bathroom is dirty and the scrambled eggs for breakfast is not edible.

Helpful?
3 Thank Armily
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rajandra, General Manager at Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations for your stay at our hotel over the holiday weekend. We strive to provide good service and accommodations. Your feedback will truly help us improve our service. Please be assured that we have discussed your comments with our staff to better our services in housekeeping and breakfast.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

So I have been here many times in the past and have been happy with my stay. But now under new management this place is horrible! You try to open windows come apart tvs not working trash still left in room boogers on the walls this place is a joke. To the owner if you continue like this you won't only have no business as is the case now you motel is gonna crash to the ground. The worst here so bad checking out and going to a different motel

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Thephatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

having stayed in quality inns in the usa before, we expected the same quality, we were mistaken! the floors were not hovered, the shower was disgraceful, mould and other peoples hair in plug holes. we were very disappointed. beds very un comfy and there was stains on the sheets. we were asked if we wanted to purchase a full English for $8, we did and wish we had not, the only thing we ate was toast! the "british sausages" were microwave which staff microwaved in front of you and the scrambled eggs were grey! milk was warm uht and cereal stale.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Honestly this motel doesn't even deserve 1 star. Idk why it's called Quality Inn because there is nothing quality about it. We stayed here for New Years thinking that it would be an affordable and nice place to stay while in South Lake Tahoe. Well we were definitely wrong. To start, there were so many problems with the room. The TV only had one working channel - public access television, and the HBO movie channel that they claim is available wasn't because our remote was broken and we couldn't use the TV buttons to change to the special channel needed for that. The bed was uncomfortable and there were stains on the sheets. At night the heater would turn on randomly and would get so hot I couldn't sleep with any blankets on. The coffee maker didn't work, and yes, we checked to make sure it was plugged in. The bathroom was disgusting including a shower with a falling apart drain, and a toilet that was constantly running. Every time we flushed we also had to open the lid and adjust the plug in the toilet to get it to stop. The water from the sink was orange, and when we poured it into a cup for some water to drink we definitely couldn't drink it and didn't even want to use it for brushing teeth. Also there was no fan in the bathroom, so after showers it was hard to air out - only way was to open the small window even though it was cold outside.

That all sounds pretty bad but here is the scariest part and the biggest reason why NOBODY should ever stay here... The owners and workers are scammers. After we checked out and got home we had a $150 charge on our card. We had no idea why because we left that room better than we found it, so we called in to ask. The owner gave HORRIBLE customer service, said that we had 5 people in our room when we should have only had 2 (which we didn't and when we asked for his proof he simply said his employee telling him so was enough proof). He told us he wouldn't send the document we signed about unpaid for guests so we could read it over again, and then proceeded to give terrible customer service by arguing over the phone and hanging up on us! And no, he never reversed the charge.

This place is a sad excuse for a business and I can see why they have to scam to make their money. If they actually gave some "quality" service they wouldn't have to steal to make their money. I'm warning you now, DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 122taylorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

just stayed here with my girl friend....ask for a king and for 10 dollars more you get a room 4 times the size . the rooms are old but very clean....I was a little worried about some of the other reviews,but come on people you are not in a 5 star hotel paying hundreds of dollars...it has no resort fee,,,free internet...free parking....I stay in san Francisco and pay more for parking in a hotel than I did for this room ...breakfast is hot and cold buffet ...staff friendly

Room Tip: get the king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your visit to South Lake Tahoe. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next visit to Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

When we first checked in we were given a super duper small room, but I asked for something larger and I got it. This hotel is basic and on the older side but has a sweet staff, great water pressure and killer heaters. It is next door to our favorite Indian restaurant in Tahoe, so BIG bonus. This is perfect for an inexpensive, no frills, one night stay. Only a few blocks walk to stateline.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and stay so that we can improve our service. Please come back and stay with us on your next visit to Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#44 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#38 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area

Property: Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Address: 3838 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Quality Inn And Suites Casino Area
Quality Inn Area
Quality Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing