We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Okay Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
South of England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for Lake Tahoe as it was part of the Choice Hotels chain. For an Inns and Suites, I had expected a bit more. Our room needed updating. It just felt dated. The pool area - around the pool, the surface is not great, and the water was freezing. Location wise - it is good. A 10 min walk to the main area for the gondola and on the main road so everything is accessible.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    33
    18
    46
See reviews for
33
70
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just an overnighter, with jetsaves wonders of the golden west tour, Very basic motel style, good place to make base camp, only suitible for a few nights as very basic, no luxuries here, Done the Dinner cruise from here coach trip away, got back late and our driver went round the car park ten times, I pitty the other guests in the hotel, what a laugh.
You can get a breakfast for a few dollars, buffet style but dont get there too early as nothing will be ready.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better dont like people looking in the windows and cars parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djstarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of a larger tour of the Western US.

For an overnight this was fine - good location and friendly staff.

For a short stay in Tahoe this was fine and you are a short walk away from town facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that one day you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Dirty floors; poor service, rude staff, no microwave or refrigerator. Expensive on weekend. Don't waste your money here. Had dirty tub and sheets too. Per hotels on street looked better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northameric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First I would like to say that the staff at this property is friendly, engaging, and accommodating. We knew this was an older property when we booked and did so because of the great location. On the other hand older or not this place is falling apart and no one is working on it. When we got to our room the door jam was hanging off. We fixed it ourselves with a screwdriver from our car. The carpet was so dirty and sticky we would not walk on it in bare feet. There was a brown and yellow sticky substance covering the hair dryer. The tiny dingy shower flooded the bathroom floor because the door latch was broken and the seal on the door was worthless. The continental breakfast was adequate. The jacuzzi at the pool was empty and surrounded by crime scene tape. Quality is not a name to describe this property. I will not be staying here again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkTink58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As a Choice Rewards Member, I stay at a lot of Quality Inn's and Comfort Suites. Although this one doesn't compare to most in cleanliness and freshness, it served it's purpose as we were passing thru. The place is a little outdated and very seasonal, but was a fair stay. The staff was friendly and the breakfast in the morning was basic and average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room was open when we got there. Though it appeared clean, it hadn't been updated in decades. The doors, floors, and walls showed wear and need repair. The chair had stains on it. The shower was a single person stall with grey, dingy flooring. The vanity had water damage around all the edges. The sink was slow to drain and I found ants on the bathroom floor. The manager was called and we were offered an upgrade. We decided to try it. It looked better, but when we moved in, we saw that the upper door lock was completely broken off and there were stains on the bedsheets! We promptly left and found much better lodgings. We did get an apology and a full refund, but I really think this place is not in any way, shape or form a Quality Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aunt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#56 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#52 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
#57 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area

Property: Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Address: 3838 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Casino Area
Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Quality Inn Area
Quality Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing