We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected from reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were did not know what to expect, considering the mix review but we decided to give it a try. The rates were same as other hotels and they were advertising a hot breakfast for free. We were surprised by the size of room and the hot breakfast. We had booked a king bed, which was nice and spacious and very clean. It had a bath tub and a view of the mountains. The breakfast was had a good selection of items including sausage, eggs, and waffles. We really enjoyed the breakfast and it was all that they said it was going to be. The breakfast alone was worth the stay. We will back at this hotel when we come again to ski and recommend it to all of our friends. We saw the smaller room with a queen bed and would not recommend it unless you are only coming to sleep here. The king room is much better and was only a little more in price. We plan to be back in March.

Room Tip: Choice one of the bigger rooms--with a King bed or two beds. The Queen bed room is very small with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, Front Office Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

thank you for thanking the time to write this review....we do try to be helpful to all of our customers,,and i do feel that we do one of the best free breakfast for our guest here in tahoe..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were on a company ski trip, this was the only hotel available for MLK weekend that can accommodate a large group. I was very disappointed our company didn't book Hyatt and almost refused to go. The Quality Inn is actually much better than I expected. The double queen bed room is good sized; when we arrived in the afternoon, there is lots of sunshine in the room, feel very good and warm. I did check very carefully of every inch of the room, but didn't find any bugs. The pillowcase, sheets, towels are very clean, smell cleanness. The bathroom is very clean too. We paid for breakfast ($7 per person), but lost our breakfast tickets, the Indian manager kindly let us in for breakfast.
Breakfast is not so good though, I'd prefer a hot breakfast before skiiing, but most of the items are cold. There is few selection, for $7 you could eat much better at McDonald.
The carpet of the room definitely needs to be thoroughly cleaned, we found paper, bottle under the bed. We had to wear shoes in the room.
Overall it's a good experience, much better than I had expected.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyZSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear skier.i am happy you had a good CLEAN stay here at the Quality inn.The rooms are cleaned daily and i happy you found it this way...hope to see you next ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I travel globally about 140 days a year, but have never heard of, witnessed or imagined being treated so poorly by a hotel!!! I am also a Choice member, but after this experience, I am not sure that I will ever want to stay at a "Quality" Inn again. First, I was here for work through New Year's this year, starting on the 29th. They threaten you that if you have anyone in your room after 10p or 11p that they will charge you an additional $50 per person!!!! Now imagine that you are already paying $265 a night for a horrible room on the first floor with cars coming and going outside your door all night. Second, this place is dangerous! They don't do anything about the ice in the driveway or sidewalks and there are huge icicles hanging from the roof upstairs. One of the icicles fell on my Jeep and cracked the windshield! Lucky it wasn't a person, or they could have been seriously hurt! Lastly, and most importantly, we were packing in the morning after working until 3am on New Year's Eve for the SnowGlobe Festival. We got a knock on our door with this extremely mean and BRUTALLY unfriendly person named John Ashton, the Front Desk Manager, who, upon opening the door, he yelled at us that if we weren't out in 5 minutes we would be charged for an entire extra day stay!! Now mind you, this was about 7 minutes after their 11am checkout time!!!! ...and we had been staying here for three nights at their most expensive rates of the year! I was blown away. Do Not Stay Here! These People are Horrible and Do Not Deserve Your Business!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSkiSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I spent a week there just a week ago me and my partner.we come every year for skiing and always stay here we dont spend much time in but its really warm and breakfast is great john at the front desk makes the stay fantastic and if you want a tip on where to eat or what to visit hes the guy youve got to see

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenstreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed in many of the hotels on Tahoe Blvd, John and Dee at the front desk is why I stay here these days. Their friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is good and the coffee is always ready. The rooms are clean and price is a deal...The location is in the middle of everything in south lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you ben for taking the time to write this review....Its always a pleasure when you stay with us...and hope to see you soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Like the other reviews, the hotel is older and needs a good update. Room was clean. Breakfast was very good and John made it himself. (There were only a few rooms rented that night). John was very helpful giving us recommendations for the area and he was enjoyable to chat with. The lobby and area was nice and the fireplaces were warm and cozy. I would stay again just to chat with John.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajandra, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

thank you for taking the time to write a review,,John has been with us for a few years now and has plenty of info to share with our guest at the hotel..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during Labor Day weekend, and actually got one of the last rooms. It's somewhat of a dated place, that could use some modernizing and refurbishing. The room was clean. The breakfast in the morning was really good, with a nice varierty. There was fresh made waffels and blueberry pancakes, boiled eggs, yogart, and hot and cold cereals. What made the place, was how nice and kind the staff was. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We paid premium price for the room over the holiday weekend (Labor Day), so overall we just feel fortunate to have a place to stay, but would probably rate the room higher if we had paid closer to the normal non-holiday rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#34 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3838 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905 (Formerly Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $39 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 120 spacious recently remodeled rooms. We have many amenities for all our mutual guests to enjoy. We are close to all major activities for the summer and winter. Our front desk associates are happy to help all our guests while staying with us and in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Casino Area
Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Quality Inn Area
Quality Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing