We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 7, 2013

don't expect big comfort and frills in this hotel. This is a very simple, nice place on a good location near the beach. the room had good beds & airco, the walls were rather thin. owner is very considerate and makes you feel welcome. if you're looking for a fair budget hotel, this is the place!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank lies w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Best Choice inn very much it was very clean. It was also very close to resturants, shopping, moovies, and more. The rooms were recently remodeled. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Overall it was a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ram m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprise with this diamond in the rough. The outside needs a bit of updating, but the rooms were exceptionally large, well appointed and spotlessly clean. We even had the sounds of nature greeting us from the room's radio. The mattress were comfy and the linens were soft. The staff, inclining Gary and the owner (a WWII Vet ... salute, in his 80's) were "family". There's no computer in the front desk ... just a big old smile! When we checked out, we got a LARGE basket of goodies .... cookies, chips, soda. Overabundant love to take on the road with us! Never have I received the love AFTER I checked out. That is tremendous.
If you want a simple, genuine and caring place to stay, this would be it! They try so much to help you have a nice staff. KUDOS to this nice inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7StrInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

they catered to all our needs also added extras for our stay it was our anniversary and they added flowers and made sure we had everything we needed at no extra charge. rooms are like brand new they have been recently remolded. the cleanest hotel room i have ever been in

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bayray0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad that you and your lovely wife had such a wonderful vacation. We hope you'll come again, so we can continue to cater to all your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the Best Choice Inn over Memorial Day Weekend and we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed at this hotel last year and we really liked the location, so we decided to stay again. The rooms have been refurbished and look great! The room was very clean. And like I said, the location was the best... Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, movies, AND the casinos. Friendly staff.....fridge....microwave...and free Wifi. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll come again, so that we can continue to surpass your expectations and give you ever greater value for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

There are entire families living here full time with dogs. It is functioning as a very low level apartment building. You do not want to stay here even though the area is nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your time at Best Choice Inn. We have listened to your comments, and taken them to heart. In the past year, have undergone renovations and policy changes. Best Choice Inn is now a very different place, and we hope that you will return and reconsider your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The guy at the desk talks a good deal for a good stay. it not it the best of shape there but its right in the best spot to do anything shop right the slopes walking distances from everything. my stay was a wonder!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzann12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#46 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
41 reviews
0 mi away
Paradice Motel
Paradice Motel
#26 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 954 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6935
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $78 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have an exceptional location. 3 blocks from the Heavenly Gondolas, less than a minute's drive from Harrah's Casino, and less that five minutes drive from Montbleu.But that's not all!Reserve your Standard Room ahead at Best Choice Inn, and have the ability to customize your room to your liking!Here at Best Choice Inn, we believe in value and customer service. Therefore, when you book any of our Standard Rooms, we'll give you the opportunity to select what kinds of amenities you want!Extra pillows? Coffee and danish for breakfast? A surge protector to charge up those extra electronic devices? An extra something because it's your birthday?Even just creating your dream romantic room and dedicating it to your sweetheart!Book at Best Choice Inn, and you'll have the ability to design your hotel room to your satisfaction. Just request a Standard Room to get started!*Note: customization only applies to Standard Rooms. All Budget and Economy rooms are not customizable. Every room is fitted with free wi-fi, a microwave and small refrigerator, and cable tv. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing