We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We just finished a 13 day stay. The location is very good, it is a 10 minute walk to and from the gondola with ski boots on, five minutes with regular shoes, Restuarants are two to ten minutes away, casinos are about 10 -15 minutes walk.

The rooms are very nice, very clean, modern and in good repair. Nice grounds.

The free breakfast is very good, Good selection of breads and sweet rolls and donuts. Every day they have eggs, either scrambled or cheese omlets, bacon or sausage patties every day, always biscuits and sausage gravey, yougurt, and fresh fruit..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 462 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights and found it very nice. The reception staff were pleasant and willing to help with anything we needed. The room was clean, modern looking and a nice size.

The only thing I did not care for was the breakfast. Nothing really appealed to my wife and I but its rare to find a good breakfast. I would not let that stop anyone from staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was quite, the room was a decent size and very clean, along with the bathroom which had plenty of room and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The room also included a refrigerator and microwave which were nice amenities. The TV could be updated, but the channels were good. The room also included breakfast in the morning to include: cereal, toast, yogurt, sausage, some sort of egg dish, and gravy. Fruit was limited. We didn't stay for the breakfast, but the location is good for choosing other dining options if you choose, not to mention Starbucks across the street. Overall, I recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay for a good price.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjohnson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My family & I stayed here for 3 nights. Perfect location, close to heavenly gondola, shopping, restraunts, and casinos. The breakfast bar had several choices including cereals, toast, donuts, bagels, yogart, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, juices, hot chocolate and coffee. The room was nice size, clean and quiet. They also have a large enclosed spa and coin laundry. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cali51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed here Dec. 2009. Hotel is walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Heavenly Lift, Casinos, grocery store etc... We were there during a snowstorm and room was comfortable and I had a feeling of being in a ski lodge. Very nice fireplace in lobby/breakfast area. While in Tahoe--we also walked though Embassy Suites which had no fireplace and seemed like a typical "cookie cutter" Embassy Suites. This Holiday Inn Express had personality. Staff were friendly and room was very clean. Refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. Bathroom in room was huge, clean, and well appointed. Hotel has nice indoor jacuzzi and sauna. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel because it was near the action- yet very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Great location, in the middle of the action yet quiet. The room is new and clean, spacious, bathroom is roomy and shiny. Just everything you need to spend the night comfortably. Breakfast buffet is just about everything you need before hit the road, simple and fast.

We changed our plan during the trip, the manager gladly refunded us the unused portion. What more can I ask for.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Went to Lake Tahoe for Thanksgiving weekend and really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The staff was helpful in suggestions activities around the area. I also noticed how clean they kept the breakfast area. They really strived to make sure everything was filled and all surfaces were constantly cleaned.

The location was great for us. A few blocks to the casinos and the Heavenly Gondola along with several shops in between. It is always nice to stay on the CA side of Lake Tahoe if you are not a smoker. Overall this was a great choice for us with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $145 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing